We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean staff friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel del Mare
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean staff friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Glad we stayed in this area for 4 days, walking distance to main street and Marina Grande restaurants. Hotel is very clean, staff helpful and friendly, good assortment for breakfast. My only complaint is internet access 1 € for 10 minutes 3€ for 30 minutes but it takes 5/6 minutes just to get to a site also if you get 30 minutes you cannot go off and back on.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor (top) had a view from the window (no balcony) but the 4th floor has the who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review regarding your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you. With reference to your major complaint regarding internet, we must point out that WI-FI connection is completely free of charge throughout the hotel; on the other hand if you use the house computer situated in the reception area there is a charge, this is understandable because the fees are put towards maintenance costs; recently we had to buy new machinery.
We can only apologize for some misfunctions of our connections, we have complained many a time to our provider and things seem to have improved considerably since. Thank you again for your kindness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    250
    56
    23
    9
See reviews for
162
331
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Friendly , clean excellent all round place to stay
Travelled with my son we arrived early for check in no problem
Staff very helpful very informative of the area. We only stayed one night not long enough
We over slept in the morning and breakfast was finished again no problem they served us and allowed us to check out 30 mins late again no problem
Will be back for sure
Thanks for a great stay

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you very much. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel is in a very nice little area.If they did not nickel and dime you to death would be nice. Do not get a room with the balcony, it looks over a noisey road that has no view. They wanted to charge us 5.00E to uncork a bottle of wine we had, 3.00 E for ice. The area is a nice day trip, but go stay up the hill at one of the other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLVDATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickeymouse047, Direttore at Hotel del Mare, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at our hotel. We must apologize for the room with the balcony you checked-in to which was too noisy. Therefore the next day, we immediately upgraded you to one of our best rooms with a sea view. There are some services which are not included in the room price, but on the other hand, other services are free of charge such as the use of the fridge, the room safe, free WIFI throughout the hotel and last but not least, our rich buffet breakfast. Please, do accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused, furthermore, we have not been able to write to you and tell you how much we appreciated your generous gift of a bottle of scotch whisky you left with the reception staff on your day of departure, we shall drink it to your very good health. We hope, of course, that one day we might be able to welcome you again and express our gratitude to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great hotel with great service,great location and a great staff. The rooms are clean the breakfast is excellent and the price is a bargin. I highly recomennd this hotel. I can't wait to return to Sorrento and when i do I will stay here for sure.....

Joe DeMarco
United States

Room Tip: get the rooms with the Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillcrest69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This hotel is small but super charming. The shared rooftop has a fabulous view of the water and is within walking distance to everything. The breakfast groto was wonderful and the fresh baked crossaints every morning were so good. If we are ever in Sorrento again we will for sure be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buddhafulbtrfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 km away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 km away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Mare

Property: Hotel del Mare
Address: Via del Mare 30, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#34 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): $123 - $253
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old sea hamlet of Marina Grande of Sorrento, the Hotel del Mare is a cosy 3-star hotel which offers its hospitality to all those who wish to get involved in the magical atmosphere of a unique hidden jewel, situated in one of the most enchanting towns in the Gulf of Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mare Hotel
Del Mare Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing