We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
USD 692*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 309*
USD 283*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
USD 346*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
USD 496*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tasso Suites(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
USD 356*
USD 337*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
USD 411*
USD 392*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
USD 117*
USD 111*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 190*
USD 170*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 328*
USD 251*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza(Sorrento)
USD 410*
USD 398*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,558)
Filter reviews
2,558 results
Traveller rating
1,655
619
172
68
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,655
619
172
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealthe cliffamazing viewsplenty of sunbedspublic areasmount vesuviusfour star hoteltown centrefew minutes walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,764 - 1,769 of 2,558 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in this amazing hotel in the first week of its 2012 season. It felt soulful and friendly from the minute we arrived and we were wonderfully looked after by staff who clearly care very much about how the guests enjoy the hotel. The location is perfect, only about four minutes' walk into the centre of Sorrento so you can experience the town centre atmosphere but just far enough outside to be able to get away from everything and enjoy the beautiful views across the bay. The reception and restauarant balcony areas are very well kept and there is an entire outdoor area which is shaded by a Wisteria trellis which looks and smells amazing.

We stayed in the top floor of the front section of the hotel and have never spent so much time on a room balcony in our lives. The views have to be seen to be believed. The room was pristinely decorated and furnished to a very high standard with everything in an inlaid wood style fitting in with the famous local craft. Every day started with seeing the sun rise and set from the balcony, and a perfect buffet breakfast with waiting staff in white ties dress. The eggs chef is talented - bespoke omelettes cooked to order in front of you - and the restaurant is set into the cliff side with panoramic views across the bay. We stayed for a week and would happily have stayed on for another. We will be back.

PS there are comments from other reviewers about cost of drinks and evening meals. We thought the prices were about what you would expect from a hotel of this standard but with it only being a few minutes' walk from the town centre we preferred to experience the town centre restaurants, especially L'Abate where Tony and the rest of the staff took such good care of us and fed us with some of the best food we had in Italy.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank MrMrsMfromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a package with Thomson Holidays and had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is in a stunning position and is beautifully appointed and maintained. The hotel is built against the hillside around 5-10 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento. All areas of the hotel, reception, lounges and bedrooms are beautifully decorated and furnished and many areas appear newly redecorated. There are a number of terrace areas with great views of Sorrento, the bay and Vesuvius and all have plenty of tables, chairs, loungers and deck chairs. The swimming pool consists of around 5 separate pools at different levels creating a waterfall effect and all with great views and pool bar serving drinks and food. Staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good with an excellent choice including freshly made omelettes and fried eggs. Dinner is a very elegant affair with excellent waiting staff. There are a number of choices for each course. My only critisisms would be that some main couses were fairly similar over the week eg not much variety of fish types and dessert choices were not that imaginative eg lots of cakes. It would also have been nice to have had tea or coffee included at the end of the meal. I would also say that for British guests in particular (given the weak Pound) the drinks are pretty expensive - I would have thought that lower prices would probably result in more unit sales and greater overall profit. Hotel is around 15-20 minutes walk from Circumvesuviana train station for trips to Herculaneum, Pompeii and Naples. There are a number of supermarkets within easy walking distance. The Thomson Rep for this hotel, Cheryl, was really helpful and visited the hotel on lots of occassions during the week. I was really impressed with the Capodimonte and would highly recommend it to others - I look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Numberoneguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

What a brilliant hotel to have the pleasure of staying it. Despite a rocky start on landing (a delay caused by baggage handler strike at Naples airport), we were glad to be greeted with a well furnished and comfortable room (my partner did call it a cupboard room(!) , but it was nice enough for it not to worry us).

Food was lovely, as was the tiered pool and the view across to Mount Vesuvius. We travelled
with Thomas Cook and the reps were brilliant, and the tour around Sorrento with free pizza, wine and ice cream was lovely.

Did 2 excursions, one to Pompeii and Vesuvius and the other to Herculaneum, but I'd recommned sticking to one of these as they do get tiring (the trip back alongside the amalfi coast, despite being beautiful, is rather long and tiring)

One warning- beware the prices of drinks/food in the hotel, but this is to be expected given the current Euro price/troubles. Made it a mission of mine to pay off my tab on the room everyday- they only allow you to charge to room, which I reckon is a cunning ploy to get you to lose track of your spending.

Would recommend a trip to Capri as well- easy to get ferry from the harbour.

Overall, lovely hotel and lovely holiday. Much recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Razedabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I was traveling with my husband and mother in September 2011 and we booked a 3 day / 2 night package tour to Sorrento (via Pompeii) through Viator. I am always a little hesitant about booking package tours as you never know what kind of hotel you will sleep in. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that our accommodation was at Hotel Capodimonte.

My mother had a single room booked and I have to say that even by European standards, it was very small with a tiny single bed in it. It was however tastefully furnished and after you get accustomed to the small room, it was quite pleasant and offered everything you needed.

My husband and I had a double room which was a good size and had a partial view over the bay. The tiles on the floor and throughout the hotel were very beautiful and the room decor was very bright and colourful, but tasteful as you would hope staying on the Mediterranean coast. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was also a good size. If you are booking the hotel rooms yourself and are travellling in a group, be sure to ask for rooms in the same wing as there are a number of different levels and wings with different lifts, which can be very confusing. It can take a couple of days to familiarise yourself with the hotel's layout. Another thing to mention is that some rooms can not be accessed directly from the lift and require you to use a few stairs. This can be problematic for those travelling with heavy suitcases.

We had a half-board package included in our tour package and were pleasantly surprised that the dinner on offer in our package was absolutely fantastic! The menu was semi-set and changed daily. We had a choice of 3 or 4 items for the starters, main meal and dessert! We only had to pay for beverages The food was delicious and the restaurant overlooked the beautiful bay. One thing to mention is that there is a dress code, so gentlemen, be sure to pack your long pants and a collared shirt.

The pool area is very nice and they serve drinks and food here too. We had limited time in the hotel, but managed an afternoon tea near the pool overlooking the gorgeous bay.

The shops are an easy 5-10 minute walk depending on where you want to go and there is a self-service laundromat located close to the hotel and just before the main shopping area.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Capodimonte and only wish our stay could have been longer...

Room Tip: Some rooms can not be accessed directly from the lift which can be a problem if you have trouble with stairs or heavy bags. The hotel has a number of wings, so if you're travelling in a group, be sure to mention that so your rooms can be allocated in the same wing. Rooms on the higher floors usually have better views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I took a family holiday to Sorrento with teenage children in late August and the whole family had a wonderful time! We had a room on the top floor and would suggest you do the same,as you can enjoy the maximum quality view. We even had a view of mount vesuvious! Its very central and is only about a 2 minute walk from any shops.The swimming pool was just fantastic with 4 levels and an outdoor ping-pong table. You also have a great view from the swimming pool area. Also great quality food if you fancy a night in. I would advise anybody to go there as it has something for all the family!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor as you can get the maximum quality view!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AbbiG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews