We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, solid, four star+ hotel with lots of great points”
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2016

What a lovely place! The hotel is very well positioned just on the outskirts of the town making it one of the hotels that allows you to stroll into town without catching a shuttle bus. Plus, all the rooms have spectacular views over the marinas of Sorrento, the town itself and looking out towards Vesuvius. You get to enjoy this view at breakfast and dinner too, as the dining room is on the 7th floor and so makes the most of the cliff-top position. The evening meal was really good - being served (rather than buffet) from a daily menu. We were on half board and had some of the best food we have had in a four-star hotel restaurant. The public areas are elegantly appointed and the rooms are classically decorated. The other stand-out point of this hotel is the staff, who are an excellent mix of the consummate professional whilst still being personable and friendly. This applied to the front desk and the dining room, and indeed the maintenance and housekeeping staff we came into contact with. We didn't try the pool because it was still too cool in March, but we did have a look at the spa area. It looked nice, but be aware that the treatments all have to be pre-booked as the beauticians and masseurs are brought in for appointments from outside of the hotel, and the hot tub and all the facilities are on a paying basis. We found the bar area a little uncomfortable with dining-type chairs, rather than armchairs and sofas. Again, this probably comes into its own in high season when there is music and more atmosphere - and again, the views are spectacular. The free Wi-Fi and the free safe were a nice bonus. We will stay here again when we inevitably return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 479 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2016

Spent Easter 2016 in this hotel. From the moment we arrived until we checked out it was superb. A truly luxury hotel. Salvatore and the rest of the professional staff were amazing to us. Ten stars for everything. Most definitely will return to this hotel.

Donie & Gráinne, Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank glangan96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We travelled as a family and booked both a suite and a smaller room. The suite was just amazing...bright , spacious and a great terrace looking over the bay. We booked half board which includes dinner . The waiters all dress in formal jackets & there is great style and panache as presenting the meal. The views from the restaurant are just heavenly. You can have a more informal lunch either at the pool bar, or the 'lunch restaurant' ( this is better ) with outside & inside seating . Food is great, and really great value for such a smart hotel. It is clearly a well run FAMILY operation, and family is very much a core value. The children loved the hotel, and loved the staff. We will be going back .The location is great, and we always enjoyed our walk into Sorrento...5 minutes only .

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 30Catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Stayed here for 5 nights on B+B basis in double room with balcony and sea view and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is very traditional and wouldn't be out of place in Eastbourne or Bournemouth apart from the lovely views of the sea and the small fishing harbour and of course the weather. The hotel is a comfortable walk from bustling Sorrento centre but far enough away to be quiet at night. The rooms were very spacious with large terrace/balcony and clean and tastefully decorated and furnished. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant twice and found the food perfectly acceptable as was the buffet breakfast. The restaurant Manager was extremely helpful and quite a character. There is parking on sight, level with the top floors and quite an adventure getting in and out , so best leave the parking to the reception staff which they do free of charge. The Italian drivers have got to be the most reckless in the world so take care when crossing the road outside the hotel to get to the footpath and whilst walking into town. We liked the profusion of paintings everywhere in the hotel which also shows that somebody cares about the guests but we found the lack of female staff a bit bizarre, only the chamber maids were women with reception staff and restaurant staff exclusively male. Overall we liked it here and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: March 2016
4  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We wanted a quality place to stay in Sorrento (or nearby) and liked the look of the place from its website and TA. Easy to find by car with essential free parking the hotel dominates one of the hills overlooking Sorrento town being a short easy 10 mins stroll away. Great location established. Warm welcome and a high end quality feel on arrival our room was a junior suite with jaw dropping views over the town, the bay of Naples and a certain volcano! The early morning sun just poured onto our balcony, gorgeous experience. Elsewhere the hotel has all that's needed (too much to list here) but it's the laid back regal quality that threads through everything that's so evident and which made our 6 night stay such a relaxed and memorable occasion. This hotel would be perfect for any groups, families of all ages particularly those seeking (and able to afford!) a bit of quality. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PlymouthDavenDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
992 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.5 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,164 reviews
0.1 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#13 of 100 in Sorrento
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Via Capo 10, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sorrento
#3 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $188 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bristol nestles into the cliff side, in one of the most enchanting corners of the coast, offering its guests stunning panoramic views, stretching from the picturesque fishing village of Marina Grande below to the Punta Scutolo in the distance and directly across the bay to the majestic Vesuvius with Pompei and Naples at its feet. For generations the highly professional Acampora Family have been offering a warm welcome to its international clientele, many of whom return year after year and consider the Hotel their second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bristol Sorrento
Bristol Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing