We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”
Review of Grand Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Royal
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The gardens and patio have stunning views of the coastline. Beautiful & delicious breakfast included custom made omelets. Rooms were large with balcony...best choice is on the back facing the bay. Management was very helpful. Location ideal...steps to parks, shopping, restaurants, harbor, town center. We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DandLCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    284
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
340
903
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel during three days just after New Year eve. The hotel is centrally located only 5 minutes to the main shopping streets where you can find a lot of restaurants as well.
We had a sea view junior suit room. The room is rather big, there were plenty of space for the family traveling with the child. The view from the room is just amazing! I hope we will be back soon!)

Room Tip: We stayed in this hotel during three days just after New Year eve. The hotel is centrally located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank irmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

This hotel's backyard will take your breath away. It on the water with spectacular views of the Amalfi Coast.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor for gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spaintravelerAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and at this hotel in past month. Great service. Food very good. View wonderful. The look of the hotel is old-world, very handsome and chanrming. Great location. They made arrangements for a car for tour of Amalfi coast - great people.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanSmith847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,England
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Arrived early evening, the guy at reception greeted us by name! Lovely friendly, smiley and welcoming staff.

Our room was a Prestige/Premier room on the 6th floor with sea view. Big 6ft bed - a bit hard for our liking but not so hard that I woke up having gone numb! Desk and chair, two arm chairs and coffee table, flat screen TV, mini bar, plenty of storage in drawers and wardrobe. No tea and coffee facilities in the room. Bathroom tiled, clean, a bath and good shower and with toiletries.

The view from the room was amazing - straight across the bay to Mount Vesuvius. There is an electric shutter (can also be controlled from the bed) to block out sunlight and helps with any ferry noise from the Marina Grande below. Lovely little balcony where you can sit and watch the cruise ships and little boats coming and going. We were not disturbed by noise from the Marina at all.

We were on a half board basis. The elegant dining room overlooking the gardens and the bay was lovely. The breakfast was fantastic. Huge choice of fruit, ham and cheeses, breads, cereals, cakes, pastries as well as sausage, tomato etc. Also a chef there to cook omletes and eggs to order. You can also help yourself to a glass of Prosecco too! The waiters were great, friendly, funny and obliging.

The evening meal was huge! Four courses, waiter served too not buffet which was nice. Salad (help yourself) for antipasto, rice and pasta dishes for il primo, meat and fish for secondo and wonderful il dolce (puddings). It was 'Italian' food too which was good, you really didn't feel you were missing out on the local food by eating in the hotel.
We were there for two Gala Dinners where they step the food up a notch and have even more local cuisine. All so delicious and hard to decide what to choose!
There was also a cocktail evening, with plates of wonderful nibbles served in the lounge before dinner.

Staying at the end of October meant the hotel was not full and the lift to the swim/sun deck by the water was closed. The main pool was still in use though. The weather varied. We had warm sunshine and a couple of pouring rain days.
There are plenty of areas to sit, both inside and outside; in shade or sun.

The atmosphere was of calm elegance. The other guests mostly middle aged + and a few families with older children. The cliff top location cannot be faulted. You get the wonderful views, a beautiful garden, sea sundeck. It is only few minutes and you are in the center of Sorrento or at the railway and bus station, or a slightly further walk down the hill to the ferry port, (it feels a long way back up again though!!) So it is easy to do all the sights from here. No costly tours needed. We did and saw so much while using The Royal as a very comfortable and convenient base.

The ONLY downside really is no free wi-fi, but that seems to be the case with many hotels. There are bars in the nearby square who will do free wi-fi while you have a beer or coffee though.

WARNING!!! We booked with Thomsons who were fine. Airport lounge, taxi transfer etc. I made the mistake of looking at the facilities for the rooms on the hotel website. The hotel say that for a Premier or Prestige room you get a bottle of Prosecco, fruit basket, bathrobes, free wi-fi etc etc in the room. So I thought great and said to Thomsons we wanted one of these rooms. BUT because we did not book direct with the hotel we got none of these things!! It is not the hotels fault, or Thomsons really as they dont claim to offer these things in the brochure. SO if you want free wi-fi, bathrobes etc etc, book direct with the hotel.

A wonderful stay and would love to go back and stay here again as there is still so much more to see and do here.
TIP: use the trains and busses to get about. We also found very few places prepared to take credit cards - you will need plenty of cash!

Room Tip: Tiled floors = noise. Get a room on the 6th floor so no noise from above. Sea view room too. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissSunshine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,510 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.7 km away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,127 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Royal

Property: Grand Hotel Royal
Address: Via Correale 42, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#24 Family Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): $402 - $1,473
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and refined five-star hotel in the heart of the city of Sorrento is situated on a cliff top above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, and set within a large, historic park with an assortment of exotic plants, marvellous camellias and orange and lemon trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, ACCOR, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Royal Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing