We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,836)
Filter reviews
1,836 results
Traveller rating
1,421
303
66
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,421
303
66
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view bay of naples the cliff bathing platform beach bar private beach hotel grounds our honeymoon small balcony lovely hotel sun deck ten minute walk spectacular views every evening public areas half board town centre
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 1,836 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

We booked 12 nights at this hotel with Thomsons and couldn't fault anything at the hotel. Our double room overlooking the gardens and pool had a large bed, was really comfortable and the room was well cleaned every day. The restaurant staff were excellent - always smiling, polite and helpful - particularly Marianna, Franco, Claudio, Gennaro and the Maitre D Giovanni. The selection of food at breakfast was huge - from freshly made omelettes, lots of fresh fruits, cereals, breads, cakes, as well as a good cooked breakfast. We stayed half board so ate in the restaurant most evenings - this was also a real treat. As well as being able to watch the sun set over the Bay of Naples & Vesuvius, the choice of food & local wines was quite extensive. Lots of variety, all well prepared and presented. We were also able to switch from dinner to lunch when we wanted to. Hotel has a great location just a few minutes stroll from the busy shops, bars and restaurants of Sorrento, but the hotel itself was very quiet. The pool area has plenty of large sunbeds, and there was the added bonus of the beach pontoon, which also had lots of sunbeds. Overall we had a really good time and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a well located hotel in the centre of Sorrento with comfortable rooms, good food, and brilliant staff.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens & pool were quiet & comfortable. Good air con & blackout screens. Beds were king sized doubles.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Guests,

It made us truly happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations from different points of view. But on top of everything, many thanks for having appreciated the top-notch service delivered by our team as this is our main aim an also for being so impressed by all the hotel facilities and by our cuisine and breakfast selection.
We look forward to welcome you back for another great holiday with us.
Warm regards from Sorrento,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Stayed here for two weeks 27th May to 10 June. The staff are fantastic they can't do enough for you, friendly and helpful, the hotel garden and views are out of this world.
We booked half board for our stay which was very expensive and in our opinion not worth it, the breakfast was up to three star standard and the evening meal boring and cold, we both had an upset stomach on our first night and on the third night I had a bout
of vomiting, we ate out after that every evening.
The room we had was lovely and spotless and had a side sea view and a view of the main road, the road is very very
busy and noisy, cars are bumper to bumper with constant car and bike horns so we kept the windows closed.
We enjoyed our stay here but I think they need to improve their food and maybe employ a chef with more experience and spend more on quality foods. They can't expect guests to pay top prices for poor food.

Room tip: Front rooms are quiet with fantastic.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We are nearly at the end of our 10 day stay and have become accustomed to being looked after so well. The staff are friendly and discrete. The hotel is immaculate and super clean. We had a beautiful premier room with a good sized balcony and panoramic views of the Bay of Naples. We spent may hours watching the boats coming and going in the bay. We loved the 'turn down' service and chocolates left next to the bed. The complimentary fruit and champagne was very welcome on arrival. Great gluten free options for breakfast. Staff are very clued up on this. We have enjoyed working our way through the extensive cocktail menus and finding quiet spots to enjoy sun or shade throughout the lovely hotel gardens. We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2016
1  Thank Sharon06407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your marvelous review. We are so grateful you appreciated and are still appreciating so many aspects of our Hotel. In particular your warm compliments on our service are most welcome; we are very fortunate in having such a wonderful team working at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori.
We do hope your travel plans will take you back to Sorrento very soon for another great stay with us.
With kindest regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Best Location in Sorrento, 5 minute walk to the center
Private seaside deck on the water .
Nice and clean rooms, Amazing veiw!!!
Perfect breakfest,nice service
will defenitly come back
Parking service for 24 euro a day

Room tip: room with half sea veiw
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kikigr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Grand Hotel Ambasciatori and for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Sorrento. We were absolutely thrilled to hear you had such a great time with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week in June for our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the location is perfect to walk into Sorrento for a coffee or bite to eat. The only criticism was the room, we stayed in a junior suite and had no champagne or fruit basket left out on our arrival and we felt being our honeymoon they may have made slightly more effort. The room was rather spacious but the air con only worked on occasion. The staff on the other hand we could not have faulted! The reception staff were friendly and helpful along with the restaurant staff who were amazing! I was heavily pregnant during our stay and they were very keen to accommodate any special food requests.

This is by far one of the nicest hotels in Sorrento and we will be returning next year. One tip we would give is to go half board as the food was incredible and it worked out a lot cheaper.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambasciatori, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Ambasciatori, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2016

Dear Guests,

It is an absolute delight to go through your very nice words of appreciation and recommendation. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. We are particularly honored by your emphatic recommendation of our service and our staff and our food.
We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for not having provided any little gesture on such a special occasion. Rest assured this is not the standard of our service and we will be liaising with our management team to address the issue you encountered. We look forward to your return next year.
Warm regards,

Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews