We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
178
235
103
32
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
235
103
32
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour group minute walk busy road pastries rooftop terrace fitness center small balcony original hotel fifth floor single file stayed two nights very clean hotel mountain view shower curtain sister hotel the main square poolside bar
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015

Hotel with clean beautiful lobby,reception.pool and deck and very helpful and pleasant staff in a city where service people(especially in the harbor area and buses) tended to be curt or rude.Breakfast is extensive with mostly cakes and sweets and we had to search for more healthy fiber containing foods,A nice touch is that they provide cold water in jugs in the breakfast room. It is not as close to the train station as it is made out to be and the walk to the hotel is about 20-25 minutes and is uphill.
The "JOLLY"room was small with little space to store or move and the shower was actually a glass cubicle 24 inches by 24 inches. We paid the highest rates for this tiny room as compared to our stay in much better accommodations in other Italian cities.

Room tip: Choose rooms below fifth floor as there is no elevator service above
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This Hotel is slighty away from the centre of town but they run free shuttle buses (need to book) to and from the railway station which is near the centre and most useful.

Our stay was enjoyable and the staff are lovely locals who all speak a little English. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, as is the dining area. The pool and fitness centre are easliy accessible, however, when we arrived the fitness centre was under renovation. They had set up a small room which had some equipment available for use, but was a little busy when we wanted to use it.

The sister Hotel Cristina is nearby and dinner can be booked at that hotel as an option but you will need to book it. I was told by a guest that it was worth a visit.

The main road outside is very busy. However, when doors are closed the noise levels are bearable.

Room tip: Choose a room located at the back of the hotel, it will be quieter.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 14Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed two nights here in June. The rooms vary considerably, and normally we don't "pay" much extra for things such as a balcony or the view when we travel as we figure that we are generally not in our rooms that much. In quiet Sorrento, however, with the majestic views over the water, I would consider paying up for the view. The fourth and fifth floors have some balconies on the water side with the view.
The staff is very helpful, The is bar open in the lobby, and drinks are reasonable, especially at happy hour. :) Sometimes you have to wait a few minutes as the staff multi-tasks, and also serves the 5th floor patio on request. The patio area on the 5th floor is nice for viewing. The pool is slightly through a maze of sidewalks, shard with another facility, but seemed fairly popular, (If you could figure out the magnet on the key chain to open the door!).

It was clear that the hotel was well cared for. The breakfast was fair to good, and the staff very attentive, they will bring scrambled eggs and bacon quickly on request.

The hotel is located near down town and while it is a few blocks you can navigate down there if you're in reasonable fitness. There is a "sister hotel" higher on the bluff that seemed to have even better views.

Several people, including us did have some small ants in our room. They appeared when our luggage was left open, though we had no food in it. They appear to be habituating near the fifth floor terrace. The staff was attentive, and we moved our luggage to the luggage rack in the room and they went away. Some people noted that hot water was lacking at peak times on upper floors, but was readily available when we needed it.

The hotel shows it's age, but also the care of the owners. I would recommend it if you are locating in Sorrento for a few days, can tolerate some age showing. For example, the elevator doesn't go to the 5th floor, only to the fourth, and it has "no memory", meaning only one person can choose a destination at a time. The ferries to Capri are often, and are near the train stations, also a bit of, but not too much of a walk, or a short taxi ride.

Room tip: Fourth or fifth floor, water side with a balcony are worth extra.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed one night in this hotel and first impressions were great. Reception staff were excellent on check in and check out. The lady on reception brought us up to show us our room which we were very happy with. We had a double room on the fifth floor, i had requested a room with a balcony which we got and were very happy with. We had a lovely view of the sea. The pool are is very nice and it has a lovely deep pool.
When we were leaving we got a complimentary shuttle to the train station which was a nice surprise. Excellent service, free wifi and good location only about a 15minute stroll from the centre of Sorrento. I wish I could have stayed longer in this hotel and will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ais H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Great hotel. At the quieter end of the main drag - a plus, but be aware a bit of a walk to the action area of Sorrento. Not all rooms have balconies, but there is a very nice garden patio/terrace on the top floor overlooking most of Sorrento and the amazing sunsets. Staff were all very attentive and obliging, room restocked every day, clean sheets, etc (important in the hot months with humidity). Maitre d' lived in Paraparaumu(NZ) for 15 years in the restaurant business- great guy, watched him training staff waiters to the perfection he expected. Great breakfasts and had one restaurant dinner on our last evening - Superb. Should have ate there every evening - but one likes to explore

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews