We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

My mum and I stayed for three nights at the beginning of this month.

A lovely room, large enough for two and excellent service- Appreciated the turn down service at nights.

Breakfast was lovely and fresh and well replenished, the reception area lovely and bright and swimming pool area really pleasant.

A hidden gem is the rooftop area to just chill out in the warm shade enjoying the morning.

Staff were excellent at all times. Polite, friendly and extremely helpful. When we wanted to dine in the restaurant and it was closed they arranged a special shuttle to take us to their sister hotel, where we had a pleasant meal with spectacular views.

The hotel is a good fifteen min walk from the centre so definitely get a taxi from the station (we were
Told it was only 300m walk by a taxi driver- bad idea! Def take a taxi!)
Despite this, it was definitely worth the walk and the stay. Great value for money and sorrento is lovely!

I would definitely recommend it !

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2015

Hotel with clean beautiful lobby,reception.pool and deck and very helpful and pleasant staff in a city where service people(especially in the harbor area and buses) tended to be curt or rude.Breakfast is extensive with mostly cakes and sweets and we had to search for more healthy fiber containing foods,A nice touch is that they provide cold water in jugs in the breakfast room. It is not as close to the train station as it is made out to be and the walk to the hotel is about 20-25 minutes and is uphill.
The "JOLLY"room was small with little space to store or move and the shower was actually a glass cubicle 24 inches by 24 inches. We paid the highest rates for this tiny room as compared to our stay in much better accommodations in other Italian cities.

Room Tip: Choose rooms below fifth floor as there is no elevator service above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This Hotel is slighty away from the centre of town but they run free shuttle buses (need to book) to and from the railway station which is near the centre and most useful.

Our stay was enjoyable and the staff are lovely locals who all speak a little English. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, as is the dining area. The pool and fitness centre are easliy accessible, however, when we arrived the fitness centre was under renovation. They had set up a small room which had some equipment available for use, but was a little busy when we wanted to use it.

The sister Hotel Cristina is nearby and dinner can be booked at that hotel as an option but you will need to book it. I was told by a guest that it was worth a visit.

The main road outside is very busy. However, when doors are closed the noise levels are bearable.

Room Tip: Choose a room located at the back of the hotel, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 14Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed two nights here in June. The rooms vary considerably, and normally we don't "pay" much extra for things such as a balcony or the view when we travel as we figure that we are generally not in our rooms that much. In quiet Sorrento, however, with the majestic views over the water, I would consider paying up for the view. The fourth and fifth floors have some balconies on the water side with the view.
The staff is very helpful, The is bar open in the lobby, and drinks are reasonable, especially at happy hour. :) Sometimes you have to wait a few minutes as the staff multi-tasks, and also serves the 5th floor patio on request. The patio area on the 5th floor is nice for viewing. The pool is slightly through a maze of sidewalks, shard with another facility, but seemed fairly popular, (If you could figure out the magnet on the key chain to open the door!).

It was clear that the hotel was well cared for. The breakfast was fair to good, and the staff very attentive, they will bring scrambled eggs and bacon quickly on request.

The hotel is located near down town and while it is a few blocks you can navigate down there if you're in reasonable fitness. There is a "sister hotel" higher on the bluff that seemed to have even better views.

Several people, including us did have some small ants in our room. They appeared when our luggage was left open, though we had no food in it. They appear to be habituating near the fifth floor terrace. The staff was attentive, and we moved our luggage to the luggage rack in the room and they went away. Some people noted that hot water was lacking at peak times on upper floors, but was readily available when we needed it.

The hotel shows it's age, but also the care of the owners. I would recommend it if you are locating in Sorrento for a few days, can tolerate some age showing. For example, the elevator doesn't go to the 5th floor, only to the fourth, and it has "no memory", meaning only one person can choose a destination at a time. The ferries to Capri are often, and are near the train stations, also a bit of, but not too much of a walk, or a short taxi ride.

Room Tip: Fourth or fifth floor, water side with a balcony are worth extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Stayed one night in this hotel and first impressions were great. Reception staff were excellent on check in and check out. The lady on reception brought us up to show us our room which we were very happy with. We had a double room on the fifth floor, i had requested a room with a balcony which we got and were very happy with. We had a lovely view of the sea. The pool are is very nice and it has a lovely deep pool.
When we were leaving we got a complimentary shuttle to the train station which was a nice surprise. Excellent service, free wifi and good location only about a 15minute stroll from the centre of Sorrento. I wish I could have stayed longer in this hotel and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ais H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 km away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,308 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#67 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
2.5 km away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Corso Italia 254, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $181 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can choose Hotel Central for its service, for its location, or even simply because of its name: in any event, it will turn out to be the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing