We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located with a pool”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice to have a pool even if it was shared with an adjacent hotel. Never busy. Rooms were small but well decorated. The roof terrace was exceptional, with lots of tables and chairs. It was a great place to relax with a glass of wine. Its about a 10 minute walk to the center of town but an easy walk. Lots of cafes when you get there. Many rooms have a balcony or a sea view.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 164 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Pros
- beautiful ocean view
-clean and comfortable room with lots of hooks
-clean and spacious bathroom with tub/shower
-room has a safe
-bedding has clean crispy sheets with duvet covers (YAY!)
-ample selection for breakfast
-outdoor pool area
-friendly front staff

Cons
- Takes 15 minutes to walk to the main piazza - it's not the time that bothers me but having to sometimes walk on the road, single file wasn't fun
- No free wifi, 5 Euros per half hour. This was the ONLY hotel in our stay in Italy that didn't have free wifi.
-Dinner at the restaurant was probably one of the worst meals we had in italy.
-We paid close to $230 CND for our room, from researching expedia it looks like you could get a nicer hotel for that price

Room Tip: We stayed in room 416, has ocean view, large room, large bathroom. Nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pukeycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We vacation in Sorrento for the 16th time, every year, the new hotel. The hotel is conveniently located, not far from the main sites. More luxurious rooms with antique furniture. Large bathroom with all necessary. Excellent cleaning. Soundproof room. Breakfast is excellent for Italy, a wide range to suit different tastes. Service in the restaurant at a high level. Large professional fitness room , with good facilities and training equipment. Pool. Great hotel for a stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doberoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The name of the hotel is a bit misleading, because the hotel is actually quite a walk from the main plaza of the city. However, our room was comfortable, but not luxurious by any means. The curtains were a little off, and didn't close right. The bathroom was small, and had a step up for the bidet and toilet, for whatever reason. It seemed unnecessary, and could be a trip hazard for some people.

The room was relatively noisy, with sounds from our neighbors and the street wafting in. The included breakfast did not include hot items, but was adequate.

The views from the rooftop were nice. The adjacent swimming pool was medium size. It was large enough to swim short laps.

Internet access was available for an additional fee. In my opinion, that's inexcusable for such a pricey hotel. In the US, we call that nickel and diming the customer. The need to access the internet should not be treated like a luxury option. Most people I know are regular internet users when traveling, so I would advise the hotel management to enter the 21st century.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Having been transferred to this hotel at late notice by our travel company I was perhaps not in the best frame of mind on our arrival to gather immediate impressions. Now, at home, I have time to reflect and can hopefully provide an objective comment.

Let`s get the negatives out of the way first. The hotel is not `central` neither is it four star. The walk into the heart of Sorrento town will take a good fifteen minutes on roads which can be very awkward. The footway is undulating and at parts only two feet wide. Being a main road the traffic is very busy and passes within a fraction on the narrow sections. Be especially aware of the maniacs on motor scooters every one of whom has a death wish.

We were fortunate in being allocated one of the larger rooms to the front which was a good size with room to comfortably walk about. Rooms to the rear of the hotel are smaller. The penalty is the traffic noise which continues until late evening. If you are an early bedder take earplugs. In the morning I hope you are an early riser because the traffic will certainly wake you. All rooms have balconies but sitting above noisy traffic is not to pleasant.

The dining room is quite small for the number of guests for which it caters. We made the mistake on the first two nights of dining early and found the noise levels uncomfortable and the general crush disconcerting. At breakfast, unless you are going on a trip, arrive later as the pressure of people around the table where the continental breakfast is available is quite unacceptable with the natives of one certain country thinking it was the norm to elbow guests out of their way and shove their way to the front (not U.K!).

Onto the positives!. The hotel has obviously undergone recent refurbishment and was tastefully decorated in fresh pastel shades. This was also the case in the bedrooms. The seated area contained what looked like new sofas as were bedrooms doors and various fittings throughout the hotel. Our room contained quite delightful repro furniture.

The pool area is shared with the adjacent hotel but at no time was it busy. The area contains two sections with adequate seating. I found it quite pleasant. There was certainly no need for a 5 o`clock towel run! There is also a very nice roof terrace which I preferred as it had both sun exposure and plenty shade as required.

The dining room menu offers five choices and while not quite top cuisine there was always something available to happily satisfy the hunger.

The one definite positive about this hotel is the staff who were quite exceptional. Friendly, very helpful and pleasant when dealing with any request.

All in my wife and I had a good break. The hotel certainly did not spoil anything but having had a look at it while we were in Sorrento I would have much preferred my original choice which was a proper four star. However I am sure most guests will find the Central suitable for their needs.

Room Tip: Taxis in Sorrento are VERY expensive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Couperthwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 km away
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
2.3 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
819 reviews
2.5 km away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Corso Italia 254, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: $115 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing