We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THIS IS THE PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Tofani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Tofani
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THIS IS THE PLACE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

To be perfectly honest, what makes this hotel incredible isn't the 400 year old building. It isn't the incredible food, and it isn't the unbelievable location.... Mason has all of these, and it also has Giovani! The manager is truely an all-star! The staff goes far above and beyond to ensure that every guest is comfortable and happy! I'm a united states marine corps fighter pilot and I would gladly place every punce of integrity on the line when I tell each and every individual who reads this, that this hotel is the place to stay, and the staff will seal the deal! They are truely wonderful! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! Thanks so much Giovani! -Bryan & Lauren

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmillsoneniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    119
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
196
537
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed staying at Maison Tofani in mid-April. The hotel is centrally located, in an area full of small shops. The staff was friendly and always attentive. Breakfast was plentiful, lots of fresh fruit, delicious breads, meats and cheeses, yogurt--you will not be hungry. The rooms were spacious, modern bathrooms, everything was spotless. When we return, we will stay again. Highly recommend it. They also have several restaurants--we tried the pizza one--sorry cannot remember the name, but it was fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLCXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at Maison Tofani for 4 nights at the end of March. It is a nice little inn in the middle of a shopping street. Very friendly, family oriented place. Breakfast room was nice and our family room was also large and welcoming. A few negatives though, the family room has a lift in the room itself but the owners controlled it such that it never opened up while we were in the room. However, you can hear the lift moving up and down when people used it so it can be a bit distracting and scary at times when you hear people talking while taking the lift up and down past our room. Another negative is that the pillows are very hard, ok for resting your head but not for hugging or snuggling up to as they are like hard lumps of heavy square foam. Other than these few negatives, the rest of the stay went very well. Thanks to the owners who try their best!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelk45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed 4 wonderful nights in family room with small window. Maison Tofani's exceptional service differentiates this hotel from others, which starts with a simple handshake at check-in (how many hotel receptionists do that?!).  Little gestures by the hotel manager Giovanni and his staff, such as making coffee in the wee hours of the morning before the breakfast room opened, were much appreciated.  Great central location on Via San Cesareo to start your shopping and dining immediately.  For those intending to stay, the hotel entrance is not apparent at first glance. When on Via San Cesareo, look for the large foreign Exchange sign on the street (which is next to hotel entrance). There is no hotel signboard marking the entrance, but if you look through the wooden doors next to the Exchange sign into a small courtyard, you'll notice an electronic signboard standing at the left side.   We ate well at related establishments, La Lanterna and L'Abate (preferred the latter).     

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Tofani and greatly enjoyed both the room (bathtub!) and the service. The hotel is perfectly located right in the centre of the old town, and is walking distance to the ferries (if you don't mind a few million stairs). Breakfast was one of the best we had in europe and the breakfast room itself is something to behold.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 km away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
1.1 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.4 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Tofani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tofani

Property: Maison Tofani
Address: Via San Cesareo 34, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price range (per night): $220 - $409
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Tofani 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While staying at the Maison Tofani, an elegant relais located in the historical centre of Sorrento, you will have the feeling of being surrounded by an atmosphere rich in history and charm.Maison Tofani is a magical and quiet place where renewed splendour of the eighteenth century is combined with modern elements.The picturesque entrance is that of a typical courtyard in a Neapolitan palace.The rooms are furnished with taste and elegance and equipped with all comforts, particularly suitable for the stay of even the most demanding and selective clientele. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Tofani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tofani Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing