We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place! Thanks Roberto!”
other travellers have booked this property
GARDEN
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
GARDEN
BEACH FURORE BEACH CONCA DEI MARINI
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
GARDEN
BEACH FURORE
BEACH CONCA DEI MARINI
POMPEI
POSITANO
GARDEN RAVELLO
GARDEN
THE VILLA
GARDEN
GARDEN
GARDEN
GARDEN
ARCH
VIEW
LIVING
KITCHEN
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
TWIN ROOM
TWIN ROOM
BETHROOM
RAVELLO
SORRENTO
CAPRI
DAWN
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast, Province of Salerno, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
lucio58
londra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place! Thanks Roberto!”
Reviewed 31 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Wonderful holiday, we were 4 friends and we have been at villa Matilde. Roberto the owner and his family were very kind to give us all the information on the place and very available. Great location and beautiful balcony with sea view!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oweis A
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
“Big difference between pictures and reality”
Reviewed 15 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Unfortunately the information of the host is not telling the truth: Amalfi is exactly 7.8km away by car (not 3km), the closest bus station is exactly 800m from the doorstep of the apartment (not 200m), which is okay but the bus just operates 6 times per day (you should check google maps). A ride to Amalfi takes 30min and the last bus back leaves Amalfi already at 7pm. The second closest bus station is 1.3km away which operates around 20x per day BUT the station is 250m below altitude Villa Matilda which meant more than 1.000 steps on the longest stairway I've seen in my life (no joke, it literally was more than 1.000steps) going up without any light or buildings nearby. I was told that there is another station which is close, but that one is more than 2km away. So if you want to stay in this Apartment I highly recommend you coming by car.
We were picked up from Amalfi for free by the host but had to pay 30 EUR to get driven by him to Amalfi. We were told a Taxi would cost 60-70 EUR and the buses would not operate.
Unfortunately the pictures don't tell the full truth about the view. The view to the right is very nice, but to the left (where you can see Amalfi) you will see a big electricity pylon and if you look to the front you will see an ugly building just in front of Villa Matilda (see picture). Unfortunately the picture of the host has been taken from an angle that you don't see this building.
The Terrasse is not on the rooftop or on an open field as it seems by the pictures but on the corner of the building with a view to the electricity pylon on the one and the gray building on the other side. We didn't use the Terrasse at all.

Positive: The host was very friendly, both, father and son were always available for our questions and needs. We initially planned to come by car but since I forgot my license we couldn't get a rental and had to come by bus. We have been picked up from Amalfi and had the chance to do groceries in a small store. Since it was too late to get food from nearby (just available until 21:30) we got offered some fruits/vegetables from their own garden. The place is very quite and the view from balcony is very nice. The apartment is very clean and looks just like in the pictures. You have air-condition (which we didn't use), Tv (which we didn't use), a fridge, and cooking possibility.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nein.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2018
Thank you for the review about our Villa. We owners want to clarify that there are two bus stops: one at about 200 meters walk from the Villa and one at about 800 meters. There is no bus stop at 1000 steps from the Villa: perhaps a trekking path is confused with the road that leads to the bus stop. We always recommend to all our customers to arrange to rent a car: Villa Matilde is located in Tovere (San Pietro), a fraction of Amalfi (well written on the site and on the map) in the center of the Amalfi Coast. The our strenght is our location: we are at the center of every points of interest. The places to visit are many and far between each other: to be more free and to move more easily the car is definitely the best means of transport. Villa Matilde had two terraces: one covered in front of the balcony and one opened, like a garden, in the left of the Villa. This one has a vine pergola and flowers in the perimeter and it's equipped with barbecue, chairs and table. There isn't any photos or descriptions about rooftop garden in our announce. We are pleased to see how Mr. Oweis noticed also our availability: when they arrived in Amalfi, we went to get them for free because they had no car (although we have recommended it several times in our mail). We also offer a free service for all our customers: when customers want to visit Capri or Ischia island in the day we accompany them to take the ferry and on their return we go to take them back. And also Mr. Oweis used this service. Mr. Oweis was right to point out that the transfer for Amalfi booked by him cost € 60. Instead we contacted taxi drivers who brought the gentleman to Amalfi for only € 30. But we want to clarify that the Mr. choose to go to Amalfi with the transfer not because the buses wern't there but because they had two very large and heavy suitcases. Moving with a car was easier for them. We are so sorry that Mr. Oweis doesn't understand who exactly they were: two days were few to understand and appreciate the beauty of the place and its authenticity. We owners work really hard for our structure for our guests: we're doing this job for about ten years and we have never had negative results. Our professionalism is always put the service of our customers. The Amalfi Coast is a unique place in its kind: it has not been affected by globalization and has maintained its authenticity over the years. For this reason the services of big cities (such as delivery, just eat or other) are not present. Who comes here must know that it is heading into an oasis of authenticity and tranquility.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melis111
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Generous hosts, comfortable and practical home, great view”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed there as a group of 5 friends. We had only booked for 4, but Roberto very nicely added a bed.
The flat is very practical, it has its own private balcony and a nice terrasse for breakfast, lunch, dinner or anything. You have your own kitchen so you can cook for yourself.
The flat is very well located - very quiet area with a great view.

The biggest advantage of this flat is its hosts. Roberto and his family are very generous and helped us greatly when we were lost in the roads of Amalfi. He took us to buy groceries. They are very generous and kind hosts. His wife also baked us sweets for the morning.

I would recommend this villa without any doubt to anyone. It can be great as a family, romantic trip or between friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen D
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, easy parking, great for walking, excellent hosts!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week overlooking Amalfi. Tovere is a little village at the edge of Amalfi. This meant it was easy to park, unlike Amalfi itself! It was convenient to visit Amalfi (3 hour walk downhill), Positino (30 minute boat ride), Ravello (30 minute car), Capri (1.5 hours by boat), Maiori (45 minutes). definitely visit the castle! And Sorrento (2 hours by car). Lots to do. Coming back to the apartment and it's view over the sea was relaxing, as was the garden. Our hosts looked were marvelous, doing everything possible to make our stay memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: walking up hill!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debjacka
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Slightly misleading photos”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The villa was very clean and the shower in the bathroom was powerful. The Amalfi Coast is a fabulous area with beautiful scenery. The internet access was good, enough for an iPad and tablet pc. The little dog as mentioned in another review was very sweet, you can’t miss him with his unfortunate looking mouth which makes him look vicious – but he’s not. The beds have very hard mattresses and were incredibly uncomfortable. The one pillow for each person was very flat. The living room has no windows and so is dark and there is only comfortable seating for two people on the sofa, even though the villa sleeps four. The reason for the title of this review is that two of the photos of this villa are very misleading, the one from the garden and the one showing the view through the arched window from the balcony. The view from the garden is of a pylon. There is a beautiful sea view from the balcony and two of the photos show this. The other however shows a view which does not exist from that balcony. Looking to the left from the balcony you can see some of the Amalfi coast if you lean out form the balcony a little, but mostly the view is of the side of the hills and a large pylon. It is true that electricity has to get to the villa somehow, but it is not just that the pylon isn't in the photo (as the owner told me it wasn't there when he took it), it is that the view is completely different, as is the view from the garden. I booked this villa for the view in these two photos, instead of one in Amalfi itself, which I can recommend as there is little around the villa within walking distance, the hotel nearby being only open during the summer. It is one thing only including the more flattering views; it is another thing altogether including a view which just isn’t there. This is not just clever photography; it can only have been Photoshop or something similar. I have given the owner the opportunity to remove the photo before writing this review, but I am disappointed to see that he hasn’t. So as not to let anyone else be misled I have written this review. As I stated earlier, I booked this villa purely for that view. Feeling cheated I asked for a partial refund but was unsuccessful. I was actually accused of blackmail! I told the owner that if he removed the pictures which did not show true views from the villa I would not mention them in the review - there would be no need to if they were no longer there. I have also reported this to owners direct who say they are not responsible for photos - be aware! If you do go to this area I can recommend a trip to Capri. It is one of the most beautiful places I have seen. Also, if you drive get the extra insurance. The drivers in this area are very erratic and driving yourself is difficult! We were lucky to escape unscratched!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good wifi and the cleanliness.
Liked least: The misrepresentations of the view.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Response to review:
We thank you very much for your kind review. Most clients ask us orthopedic mattresses and pillows, and we have arranged, as says the review. Analyzing deeply it, we can understand that this is purely speculative. We are extremely happy that the villa, like says in this, is very clean, the shower powerful, splendid scenery, access to the internet is good, the sea view from the balcony is beautiful and so on. They are certainly characteristics that identify a villa positioned in a fairy tale place as say precedent other. A simple pole of electricity is positioned on the left, but far from the villa, absolutely without obstructing the view of the terrace and the garden. The view is completely free without any hindrance. The real problem is that the lady contacted us, for many times, to get a discount on the stay, but we haven't accepted because we have currently very low prices compared to the average and an excellent quality / price ratio. it is true that we talked about blackmail because the lady contacted us by e-mail saying that she wouldn't have published the review if we had returned part of the money. Obviously we didn't accept. Currently, you can see the Villa on many other portals (such as Homelidays, Homeaway etc.) where we have so many other reviews that are extremely positive. Unfortunately, in our work we have to deal with these falsehoods but the honesty, decency and availability are our calling card to continue our working with great dignity. If this testimony would induce us to make a sharp depreciation, the lady, who wrote this, had to change villa from the beginning.
I inform you also that the last e-mail sent to us and write it in the original to make it clear to you the kind of person. I leave it to you to judge.
" Roberto, I am asking for two things:

1. Put the real view from the balcony on your photos instead of the one that is on there which is fake.
2. Refund 50% of the amount I paid for the villa.
If you do this I will give a positive review. If you don't I will give an HONEST review. This will have positive aspects as there were many positive things about the villa. I will also have to make sure that other people understand that the photos are not real."

This is the original message sent to me by the host. It 's amazing,
she would write a positive review if I had paid with 50% of the total.
please res judicata with utmost honesty, and whoever asks us the message in the original we are ready to send it.
We are on the web for years and we have always worked with the utmost seriousness and honesty, and just as we do not scare these stupid blackmail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing