We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Brilliant. Exceptional quality in a sublime location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Caterina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
226 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Brilliant. Exceptional quality in a sublime location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

A world class hotel. We stayed in room 8 for 4 nights in May. The room was exceptional with superb views and of a comfortable size.
The service at the hotel is without peer. Breakfast was excellent in the amazing dining room.
Very keen to stay again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    90
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
140
583
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Santa Caterina is very hard to fault. The location is spectacular. The service excellent and the quality outstanding. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury break. It is not a cheap hotel. It is a classy one.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ian_pascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent four nights in this fantastic hotel and I wish it could have been more. Travelling with friends, we had adjacent rooms (45 & 46), both stunning, perched on the cliff-side amongst beautiful gardens with magnificent views of Amalfi and the Bay of Naples.

The hotel staff were, without exception, courteous and efficient and made us feel so welcomed. The hotel is a great place to explore with a treasure trove of artefacts and vistas to discover.

Our rooms were huge, immaculately clean with an enormous comfy bed and all the top quality amenities you could think of (perhaps with the exception of tea & coffee facilities).

Breakfast, served on the terrace of the main building was superb - definitely something to linger over.

It's a 10 minute stroll down into town, a little longer on the return after an evenings indulgences!

If top-end comfort is your style, then this hotel will not disappoint - simply the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

You can't escape the views of the Mediterranean in this hotel - they're everywhere. The staff here is attentive, knowledgeable, and kind. You couldn't ask for better service. Upon arrival we were given a bottle of prosecco and our bags were taken to our rooms. Our room was bright and airy, with a gorgeous view of the sea. I wish I was there now!
On our first night in Amalfi, we took a nap and woke up at 11pm, past dinner time. Everything seemed to be closed, but the staff arranged an amazing dinner nearby. The next evening, we ate dinner at the hotel's elegant restaurant, overlooking the sea. My spaghetti ai frutti di mare was amazing, and best of all, it was gluten-free! My husband loved his food too. The restaurant is highly recommended.
The breakfast was delicious and varied. This is the only hotel I've ever been to that puts out gluten-free biscuits at breakfast, which is worth a million points. The view of the sea is worth another million points.
I find it really hard to say anything bad about this hotel. I wish it was just a little warmer so that we could have gone swimming, but there's always next time. Gorgeous location, loved the driving (not for the faint-hearted!), and excellent service. Just about perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constanthoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

What a pleasure to stay at this fine hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the accommodations perfect, the dining experience excellent, and overall a feeling of being taken care of in a luxurious, beautiful hotel. Our room had a view down the Amalfi Coast to the city of Amalfi. The windows open to fresh air and these exquisite views. A sumptuous breakfast buffet with cappuccino and omelets made to order. If desired, we talk elevators to the sea level where there is a salt water pool (some chlorine), fitness facility with trainer, locker rooms, and a dining room for lunch. There is also a complementary van service to town. Check out Eolo Restaurant if you go. We also took a tour of the town with Michelangelo. Overall, the experience was inspiring and we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: 37 is a corner room with three balconies, great views ... perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
1.0 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.6 km away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
7.6 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price range (per night): $434 - $2,222
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing