We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant. Exceptional quality in a sublime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

A world class hotel. We stayed in room 8 for 4 nights in May. The room was exceptional with superb views and of a comfortable size.
The service at the hotel is without peer. Breakfast was excellent in the amazing dining room.
Very keen to stay again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

Santa Caterina is very hard to fault. The location is spectacular. The service excellent and the quality outstanding. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury break. It is not a cheap hotel. It is a classy one.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ian_pascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We spent four nights in this fantastic hotel and I wish it could have been more. Travelling with friends, we had adjacent rooms (45 & 46), both stunning, perched on the cliff-side amongst beautiful gardens with magnificent views of Amalfi and the Bay of Naples.

The hotel staff were, without exception, courteous and efficient and made us feel so welcomed. The hotel is a great place to explore with a treasure trove of artefacts and vistas to discover.

Our rooms were huge, immaculately clean with an enormous comfy bed and all the top quality amenities you could think of (perhaps with the exception of tea & coffee facilities).

Breakfast, served on the terrace of the main building was superb - definitely something to linger over.

It's a 10 minute stroll down into town, a little longer on the return after an evenings indulgences!

If top-end comfort is your style, then this hotel will not disappoint - simply the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

You can't escape the views of the Mediterranean in this hotel - they're everywhere. The staff here is attentive, knowledgeable, and kind. You couldn't ask for better service. Upon arrival we were given a bottle of prosecco and our bags were taken to our rooms. Our room was bright and airy, with a gorgeous view of the sea. I wish I was there now!
On our first night in Amalfi, we took a nap and woke up at 11pm, past dinner time. Everything seemed to be closed, but the staff arranged an amazing dinner nearby. The next evening, we ate dinner at the hotel's elegant restaurant, overlooking the sea. My spaghetti ai frutti di mare was amazing, and best of all, it was gluten-free! My husband loved his food too. The restaurant is highly recommended.
The breakfast was delicious and varied. This is the only hotel I've ever been to that puts out gluten-free biscuits at breakfast, which is worth a million points. The view of the sea is worth another million points.
I find it really hard to say anything bad about this hotel. I wish it was just a little warmer so that we could have gone swimming, but there's always next time. Gorgeous location, loved the driving (not for the faint-hearted!), and excellent service. Just about perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constanthoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

What a pleasure to stay at this fine hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the accommodations perfect, the dining experience excellent, and overall a feeling of being taken care of in a luxurious, beautiful hotel. Our room had a view down the Amalfi Coast to the city of Amalfi. The windows open to fresh air and these exquisite views. A sumptuous breakfast buffet with cappuccino and omelets made to order. If desired, we talk elevators to the sea level where there is a salt water pool (some chlorine), fitness facility with trainer, locker rooms, and a dining room for lunch. There is also a complementary van service to town. Check out Eolo Restaurant if you go. We also took a tour of the town with Michelangelo. Overall, the experience was inspiring and we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: 37 is a corner room with three balconies, great views ... perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 km away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.7 km away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.2 km away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
7.6 km away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Amalfi

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: $505 - $1,807 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing