We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff of Purple Nest are the Best!”
Review of Purple Nest Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Purple Nest Hostel
Ranked #26 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Valencia
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Purple Nest Hostal is a great hostel, perfect location, and even better staff. the staff especially Martha, and Rachel are brilliant! They were outstanding in making our stay as perfect as possible! Thanks, girls!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nì Cèilleachair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 July 2017

Hey! Thank YOU so much for your great review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! And thanks for the shoutout! ;) We really hope you come back to see us again if you return to Valencia! All the best, Rachel :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Killer pub crawl, Alex is the man. Definitly needs to be paied more to guide us drunks around the pubs. Good times good pub choices. nice drunk walk home. The hostel is nice, has a chill vibe and free dinner so i am satisfied

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 July 2017

Hello!!
We are glad you liked our hostel, and enjoyed the pub crawl. We will let Alex know that you mentioned him.
The most important part of our job is to make people happy! So we hope to see you again soon here in Valencia. A big hug and keep travelling!
Cheers,
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

I didn't enjoy a single night at Purple Nest, but luckily Valencia was so great that it didn't ruin my trip.
Bad things: Our room consistently smelled bad. The a/c was inconsistent so as to be cold one night and sweating the next (once it turned on at 1 am!). Hostel rules don't allow you to bring your own alcohol so we couldn't buy a cheap bottle of wine and hang out in common areas like the other hostels we stayed in. Hostel rules also claim silence after 12am but there were people screaming and yelling on and off all night for the 3 nights we stayed.
Good things: The tour company they use, Tour Me Out, is great! The place was relatively clean and very secure. There was one particularly great woman at reception during the day (didn't get her name) so that was nice. Others were fine but not of great assistance.
Last, I know it's pretty cheap and it's a shared space but the 2 hostels I stayed in during the previous week (Lagos & Sevilla) were less money, offered free breakfast, and were much nicer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 July 2017

Hello!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a comment and for your great feedback! We are glad to know that you liked Valencia. Thanks also for your remarks, they are valuable in order to improve the hostel and our services.
But first of all you can't compare Valencia with Lagos and Sevilla, they are completely different cities. Our previous guests think we run a good value for money hostel. You should also take into account that we offer so many free activities, like bike tours or walking tours and free dinners, salsa or sangria class.
Second, we don't allow people to bring their own alcohol for many safety reason, for exapmple we don't want that people under 18 abuse without supervision and we don't want people to drink in their rooms. But we have a bar with cheap prices, happy hours, 2x1, and much more.
Our staff always do his best to make our guests feel like at home. That's why you should have talked to them immediately if you felt a bit unconfortable in your room, we would have find a solution. Next time don't be shy, we are here to help and make your stay unforgettable.
Thank you anyway for choosing us and hope to see you again!
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Marie was lit af at the desk, knew exactly how to hook a brother up. Checked in, wanted alchohol, marie made sure we got 2 for 1 on wjat ever our first drink was. Got some phat long island ice teeeees yo. Gucci swag.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 July 2017

Thank you very much for such a cool review.
We are happy to see you had an amazing time!
We will let Marie know that you have mentionned her. We ahave such an amazing staff, always ready to help and make our guests confortable.
We hope to see you again for more long island!
Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

For my first time at a hostel abroad, Purple Nest offered everything: security, friendly staff, decent prices, convenience, cleanliness - everything I could think of. From the night I arrived, I was greeted in such a welcome way. I can't remember some names but everyone who manned the reception was always helpful and essentially ready if you seemed lost or unsure with something. For one of the bar shifts, Paul was sound to talk to and we had a great chat. The hostel was very clean; at the bar, the main room, reception, the dormitory, the balcony, the shower room, the toilet - everywhere was clean. Breakfast was lovely, and the water vending machine very convenient. More so, security was a breeze with not only the dorm door, and the hostel itself, but the lockers supplied. Overall I am pleased to say that this hostel delivered in every way and did not disappoint for someone experiencing a hostel for their first time.

Room Tip: Mixed dorm - get to know people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CharlieKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 June 2017

Hey! Thank you for your comment, we're glad to hear that your first hostel experience was such a great one! This is our goal to make people happy and enjoy this amazing city! Our location really is great and provides an easy access to every activity in the city center! It's great to hear you loved our staff, you'll have to come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
Expo Hotel Valencia
#69 of 98 in Valencia
2,167 reviews
ILUNION Valencia 3
#51 of 98 in Valencia
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Malcom and Barret
#60 of 98 in Valencia
301 reviews
Red Nest Hostel
#23 of 183 in Valencia
263 reviews
La Xerea
The River Hostel
The River Hostel
#12 of 183 in Valencia
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Nest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Nest Hostel

Address: Plaza Tetuan 5, 46003 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia > La Xerea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Valencia
Price Range: $26 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Purple Nest Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Valencia, just 10 minutes’ walk from the cathedral, Purple Nest Hostel offers bright, air-conditioned rooms. It has a roof terrace and a lively bar.Rooms are decorated in cheerful, vibrant colours, with tiled floors and original designs painted on the walls. Guests use shared bathrooms and towels are provided.Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there are also computers with internet that can be used for an extra charge. The hostel features a pool table and vending machines, and free coffee and tea is offered.The Purple Nest is a great base for exploring the sights of Valencia and enjoying its nightlife. The bus station is around 2 km away, and the bus for the beach stops close to the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purple Nest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing