We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely run, modern hotel offering good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Nicely run, modern hotel offering good value”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Unusually for a city hotel, Palau de la Mar has space. The hotel is a converted mansion decorated in an avante garde style. Rooms are either in the main building and are all slightly eclectic because of the shape of the building, or surround the central courtyard (an oasis in the spring and autumn).
I confess to being a little taken back when first entering my room, the dark wood floor of a longish corridor gave a rather negative reaction, but over the next few days I grew to enjoy the very comfortable bed, with a sea of pillows, the very large bathroom with separate shower, WC and bath and a very pleasant balcony over looking the courtyard (no furniture, but then it was still a little cold).
The only negative point was a rather small working desk that necessitated stacking papers on the surrounding furniture.
The front desk staff (there seemed to be lots of them) were very attentive and extremely supportive, but were let down by understaffing in the bar and (the first morning) at breakfast.
We used the restaurant extensively and were well looked after by Felix the Maitre d’hôtel. The food was simple but good and the house wines drinkable.
On balance a very nice property. Not quite 5/5 standard but a very credible 4/5

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palau_de_la_Mar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to share your opinion.

Certainly the hotel is a converted mansion, and each room is different due to the structure of the building.

Despite there were no furniture in the garden when you stayed with us, we have now made some amendments to improve the guests stays. We have placed some tables and chairs in the Palau Garden, to be able to have dinner and lunch at open air in one hand, and we have planted a vegetable garden, orchard, and aromatic plants on the other hand. It has become a nicer space to spend the time, breath pure air, and get relax during your stay.

We are happy to know that our Maitre Felix took care of you in the restaurant and we will communicate to him your kind words.

We appreciate your comments and we remain at your disposal in case you decide to come back to the city.

Best Regards,

Hospes Palau de la Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    343
    112
    42
    17
See reviews for
160
647
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

the hotel is well placed for sightseeing and is calm and relaxing. The staff are very helpful and courteous. The breakfast is very good. The food is all freshly prepared and is off a high quality. Very good coffee too. The problem comes with the rooms. They are of a good size, nice bathroom, incredibly big bed, but are rather Spartan. A tiny tv sits on a massive wall and is too small to view comfortably, and that's about it. I would like to be able to connect my ipod to some speakers (i've stayed in american hotels with B&W speaker docks). it would even be nice to be able to have some mood lighting. Just adding these small touches would improve the room considerably and make them more relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevenss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Some of the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever encountered at any hotel. Great location in the center of Valencia and close to many of the Old Town historical sites and attractions. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We topped off our stay in Valencia with one night at the Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel and absolutely loved it. Our room was gorgeous, with a small flower box balcony, beautiful and modern bathroom, and incredibly comfortable bed. The service was impeccable, reception was extremely helpful and considerate of not only us, but other guests checking in and out. Would have loved to try the garden restaurant as well...but so many things to do in Valencia, we couldn't fit it in. It was the perfect end to a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: We booked through TabletHotels.com -- highly recommend the site for not only good suggestions, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlhnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

While visiting our daughter (studying in Valencia), we enjoyed 3 nights in the Hospes Palau de la Mar. In the old center, 6 blocks from the cathedral, 100 meters from the "River" (in Quotes because the entire river was re-routed due to frequent floods and converted into a huge park), its in the perfect location.

The original front section has been nicely remodeled and the back has a modern, open atrium feel to it. We were in the front with a small balcony with a street view. It was still quiet because we weren't right on the main Squares.

Earlier in the year, we were looking for directions to another hotel (not as nice) and stopped into the Palau de la Mar. The hotel is beautiful and front desk staff were all REALLY nice. We were kind of sad we weren't staying with them then. We were delighted to find out that their price was much less than we expected, and delighted to become their guests! My wife is going back next month!!

Room Tip: Front of hotel is older, but recently remodeled so very nice. All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MArktheArch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
La Xerea
Caro Hotel
Caro Hotel
#1 of 99 in Valencia
780 reviews
The Westin Valencia
#11 of 99 in Valencia
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sant Francesc
Vincci Lys
Vincci Lys
#9 of 99 in Valencia
1,844 reviews
El Mercat
Vincci Mercat
Vincci Mercat
#10 of 99 in Valencia
635 reviews
Hotel Melia Valencia
#5 of 99 in Valencia
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel

Property: Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel
Address: Avenida Navarro Reverter 14-16, 46004 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 Hotels in Valencia
Price range (per night): $198 - $430
Hotel Class:5 star — Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hospes Palau de la Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing