We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not such a coveted location!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Atarazanas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Marina Atarazanas
Ranked #92 of 100 Hotels in Valencia
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not such a coveted location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Located in a quaint courtyard (which NO cabbie could find) next to the 600 yr old Santa Ana de Mar church (breathtaking pls visit), this passe contemporary was an uncomfortable design, very hash not cool enough to be considered retro. We elected for a Jr Suite the best room in the house can only imagine how horrible the others must be. Shades ripped, only bugs I saw in all of Spain were the little ants on the desk. Bathroom cramped and not in the best of shape.Front desk was very, very nice though - I almost feel bad for them. Taking the stairs from the 1st floor dining room to the lobby the stairs followed the motif with what appeared to be fencing wire "decorating (yes that's the mofif)along the bannister. Dining room (breakfast decent) the ceiling had coils of wire on the ceiling and artwork which appeard to be large dollops of motor oil on glass. Too weird for us. Not the best of areas - good 20+minute walk to restaurants at the waterfront (Las Areanas - safe area). NOTHING in the neighborhood of the hotel and a stroll down the street nearly got us mugged by 3 teens early one night. Metro 6 minute walk but travel in day light. Visit the Bioparc - could be one of the worlds finest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FalWetVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Marina Atarazanas, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for staying at Acta Atarazanas Hotel. Although we are happy to learn you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, we are sorry to hear that we haven´t met your expectations regarding the decoration and the overall installations .

We´d like you to know that we will be taking care of some of the points you highlighted in your comment and that we would to have the opportunity to show you the improvements next time you are in town.

Please don´t hesitate to contact us in advance for you next trip so we can arrange any special request.

Kind regards,

Hotel Acta Atarazanas
atarazanas@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    84
    73
    50
    69
See reviews for
44
165
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed here for a few nights as our base to explore the city.

Location-
Depends what you are after. If you wish to spend alot of time round the old part of the city then you could probably find somewhere alot closer to that area However its a fairly short walk to the port and beach area, and maybe a 30 min walk to the riverbed walk (ie where the all the new modern musems etc have been built). Plus it must be noted that it is only 4 mins walk to the metro which gets you everywhere and is EXTREMELY easy to navigate. ie any location for a hotel is good in Valencia if you are near a metro stop.

Service-
Very good. The receptionists spoke english well (which trust me in valencia is not to be taken for granted). Twice I wondering down to reception to get a bottle opener to open some and they were more than helpful.

WIFI-
Very good signal in rooms. However it is protected by you will need to ask for a username and password. The only issue is you will have to ask for a username and password for every device you have. Ie we needed to ask for three logins as we had a laptop and two iphones.
It would probably be easier to just have a hotel-wide wifi with a username and password that changes monthly. It would easier for the staff and the people that stay there.

Rooms-
The rooms are done in a fairly modern style and have a fridge and jacuzzi bath. There does seem to be a little wear and tear to the rooms that maybe could do with some attention but still for the £70 we paid per night we felt the room was very good value. Despite the (minor) wear and tear the finish is still very good and for the price its at the top end value wise in Valencia. Plus I really wish Hotel staff would take note of bookings that when people ask for a double they want an actual double not a twin!

The Hotel-
The hotel itself is easy to find and is set next to a very nice square. The hotel is modern and clean. On the roof is a very small pool and a bar with loungers. This gives a nice view and is a pleasent area. We sat up there on our own with a bottle of wine both nights watching the sun set. This balcony area could improve if there was some service up there, I know it probably wasnt busy enough to warrant paying for a member of staff up there but this could remedied in quiet times by a) having a CCTV camera on the balcony showing the reception staff when people are up there, then they could pop every 15 mins when they can see people are up there or b) an easy to see intercom straight through to reception so people on the balcony can order drinks/food. Either of those are simple solutions that will please guests and make the hotel more money (win win!).

The area was quite messy as well. The sink behind the bar (easily seen) was full of dirty glasses and bottles that had obviously been there quite some time. Hotels should pay attention to such details as people form their overall impressions on the small things.

Summary
Great looking hotel and rooms with great location. For 65 a night you cant go wrong but avoid paying more than that at present. The hotel is fabulous value with great decor but the hotel needs to pay attention to the small details that flaw its otherwise overall great impression

Room Tip: Higher the better for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonSeismik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Marina Atarazanas, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Acta Atarazanas Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers with such a detailed post.

We are glad to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities. However, we`ll make sure to share your suggestions with the rest of our staff and take appropriate actions. We are always grateful to receive constructive feedback such as your, which helps us get one step closer to our goal: make of you visit and wonderful and unforgettable experience.

When you find yourself planning your next visit to Valencia, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you as our guest once more and have the chance to show you our improvements.

Best,

Hotel Acta Atarazanas
atarazanas@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here for a girly trip from 26th-30th June. The hotel advertises a rooftop terrace. You could go on this on Grand Prix Sunday for 200 euros(Well the maintenance area I suppose at your own risk) The rooftop terrace did not appear to be open for the rest of our stay. The room was stark and the spa bath did not work in room 506, although the room did provide entertainment watching the homeless in the square in front of it, washing in the fountain etc!! The Hotel was in a good location though and breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: 506 for entertainment value!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Marina Atarazanas, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest,

To start with, we thank you for having chosen the Hotel Acta Atarazanas for your recent stay in the city of Valencia, as well as having spent a few minutes of your precious time to share their experience in the hotel with other guests.

Sorry to read that we have not fulfilled their expectations in relation to his comments saying that during his stay was the F1 Grand Prix. For those particular days on the terrace of the restaurant "Gaelle" organized a special event for the F1 Grand Prix where paying € 200 could have entered as they would have the right to drink and free food. With respect to the Jacuzzi room 506, it is true that crashed, and we are trying to fix it soon. Unfortunately we could not move rooms because the hotel was full for the F1.

On the other hand, we are pleased that the location of the hotel was to his liking, as it is in a privileged area and has been enjoying breakfast.

However, we consider the above for you and we will work on it to improve and achieve complete customer satisfaction. Talk to the person responsible for maintenance to try to avoid everything that is possible these problems.

On behalf of all staff, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have had.

We are at your disposal!

Sincerely
Hotel Acta Atarazanas
atarazanas@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orba, Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

I booked our trip to this hotel because it offered a free trip to the Biopark in the price. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Wer had booked a double bed, but we were allocated two singles. They managed to change it even though she said they were full. We walked into a very hot and stuffy room which smelled very strongly of smoke, even though there were no ashtrays in the room. The room was quite modern, but a little tatty. We dare not ask to change it again. We opened the windows and put on the air con. It soon cooled down, but the smell stayed. We decided to go to the gym on the top floor. We had also been told that there was a small pool, but we could not find this. The gym was really hot and there was no sign of air con and the windows had direct sunlight so it was impossible to use. There were only about three aparatus. The Jacuzzi looked dirty and the bar was not being attended. The sauna needed to be switched on to use. It was not at all appealing. We decided to go for a walk instead to the beach. When we arrived back for the evening there were street parties all around the hotel with small fallas so we knew it would not be quiet. We eventually fell asleep only to be woken at 5 am by a stage being set up outside. They were banging and crashing and shouting as the Spanish do. This went on for a couple of hours and we were then able to go to sleep. This was not used until lunch time so it did not need to be set up so early. I would have thought the management would have tried to stop this until later in the morning. The bed, fortunately, was very
large and comfortable. Wifi was not working in the hotel so I was unable to use my computer, fortunately there was a safe so I was able to leave it there. We thought there was no fridge, but eventually we found out that it was behind a piece of furniture but there was no handle on the door and it looked like a solid piece. The shaver point in the bathroom was underneath the top of the sink unit and after my partner had used a point in the bedroom without a mirror, we found it. The hotel is close to the port where the Americas Cup took place and is on the route of the Formula 1 so it will be perfect for that even though it will be rather noisy. It is a fair walk to the beach, but reasonably close to the tram station. Breakfast was very poor. Just chopped -up melon as fruit, certainly not a 4 star breakfast. Our waitress was very helpful and wanted to please. There were scrambled eggs, but no other hot food to go with it. Our visit to the Biopark was very good.

Room Tip: The higher the better in the hotel. 7 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codayma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Marina Atarazanas, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear client,

Thanks of all thank your for considering Acta Atarazanas Hotel for your stay in Valencia.

Referring to the noise, normally this is a quiet and calm area where our clients can sleep without problems, but that during your stay Valencia was celebrating the most important event of the year “Las Fallas” where everybody is out in the streets celebrating.
We are sorry about the smoke, even thought the hotel is non smoking some clients smoke in the room and after it is difficult to remove completely the smell. Normally, we change the client to a new room but the problem as the recepcionist told you is that we were fully booked.
Concerning about the wifi problem maybe it was a connection problem with your computer because we did not have any other complain from clients. In these cases, contact the reception department so they will be pleased to help you and try to solve the problem. We also would like to inform you that the reason why the bar was closed it is because it has an scheduled and maybe you went out of this timetable.

About the swimming pool, we have a small swimming pool on the terrace that just opens in summer.Now it is already open. Finally, referring to the sauna, as you say it is actually not working that is why is closed. Unfortunately we need to get an agreement with the entreprise that manages it and it is taking more time that we expected. We are sorry for the inconveniences it caused to you.

It was a pleasure to have you in the Hotel and we expect you to see you again so you can enjoy our swimming pool.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The location is a bit outside the touristic area, but the small but super comfy and stylish rooms make it all worth it. The staff is helpfull and sells tickets for the oceanografic and ciudad de sciencias so you don't have to line up. There is air con, a safe, a hydromassage bath and disk shower. There is also a terrasse on the roof with a jacuzzi. Breakfast is not included but a buffet bf is served for 6 euros.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djarabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
actah0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Marina Atarazanas, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Acta Atarazanas for your recent stay in Valencia and for sharing your impressions with fellow travellers.

We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was excellent and that you enjoyed your days in Valencia. We truly hope you will want to stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Acta Atarazanas
atarazanas@actahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valencia hotels
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
Hotel Neptuno
Hotel Neptuno
#48 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
Gabbeach Hotel Boutique
Gabbeach Hotel Boutique
#68 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
NH Ciudad de Valencia
NH Ciudad de Valencia
#46 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miramar
#77 of 100 in Valencia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
El Cabanyal-El Canyamelar
Hotel Balandret
Hotel Balandret
#29 of 100 in Valencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
ILUNION Aqua 3
#37 of 100 in Valencia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Atarazanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Atarazanas

Property: Hotel Marina Atarazanas
Address: PlaCa Del Tribunal de Les Aigues | Al Lado Del Puerto , Al Final de la Avenida Del Puerto Sobre El Numero 240, 46011 Valencia, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Valencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Valencia
Price range (per night): $54 - $154
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina Atarazanas 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atarazanas Marina Hotel is a great hotel located opposite the landmark Port of Valencia, where there have been major sporting events. The privileged location of the hotel and its great Metro and bus connections make the Hotel Marine Shipyards ideal and unique place to stay. The hotel has modern and beautiful facility where guests can relax and enjoy our fitness center, sauna, restaurant and chill out terrace with spa, which is open in spring and summer. The hotel is very close to the Oceanographic, City of the sciences, the promenade, the main harbor basin with its unique buildings. Near the hotel there are a myriad of typical Valencian restaurants where you can taste anywhere else as our cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Marina Atarazanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Marina Atarazanas Valencia
Room Mate Marina Atarazanas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing