We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, and quality, no cheap”
Review of Viridiana

Viridiana
Reserve with
Viridiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #258 of 11,000 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 70 - USD 141
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Paseo del Prado
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food, and quality, no cheap”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Nice for an special dinner with you couple. No cheap... quality is incredible, god presentation for every dish... many dishes every time. The chef Abraham is wondelfull.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RafaMadrid_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    201
    91
    50
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great chef with a creative take on Spanish cuisine”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The chef at Viridiana is marvelous -- creative and bold with many of his combinations, but everything we tried worked well together. Wonderful lamb dishes and cold soups, and while we did not try the fish, those combinations looked interesting as well. I am not ordinarily a sweetbreads aficianado, but heard that this is a specialty so I tried the lamb kidneys with chickpeas, which were tender and perfectly seasoned. Wine list is very good and service excellent, although we went on a quiet night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lllaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Based on the reviews here, the recommendation of the hotel concierge and the Michelin star, I was expecting this meal to be fabulous. It was very average, so it must have been an off night.

it is in a quaint neighborhood near the Prado. It was safe to walk there, even late at night, and very charming. It is very small and warm inside.

Our waiter, Henri, was very charming and knowledgeable. We had a light salad to start which was fine, unremarkable. I had the pork, which was extremely flavorful, although covered in too much sauce for my taste. My companion thought it was incredible. He had the steak, which was very fatty and full of gristle.

For dessert we ordered the mango, which was literally an entire mango, sliced and plated.

It was not a terrible meal, but definitely not amazing. For the price, there are better options. All that being said, based on other reviews, it must have been an off night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Sunshine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

When we asked for a taxi at the hotel reception to Viridiana, the receptionist raised her eyebrows and said "Good Restaurant". When visiting this restaurant, remember to take a full wallet and an open mind as the "gratis" course was a little bizarre. The menu is small with several starters and main courses to choose from and it is expensive. Having said that, once you order, you are served with a collection of extra treats. The oddest course was the Strawberry Gazpacho with Pickled Herring. An odd combination which certainly tested our taste buds. The food and wine were magnificent with its famous chef Abraham Garcia taking time to visit every table. This is clearly a popular little bistro and the experience was wonderful. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Timeless meal”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

This place is great! We went back twice during the week, after finding this place on tripadvisor. The chef comes to the table and explains the specials. We opted, both time, to let him prepare whatever he wanted for us. Both meals were 5 or 6 courses, some paired with wines or Vodka, and we're amazing. There is no doubt that the Chef enjoy's being given poetic license to create his masterpieces. And both meals, with a bottle of wine, pluse the pairings were €150 and €180, respectively. You will enjoy every bit of this place. Thank you chef Abraham.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralphfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viridiana also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Viridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing