We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
81
55
9
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
55
9
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We were a party of four Australians (2 couples) looking for a budget minded stay in a convenient location. We wanted comfort, quiet, clean working bathrooms (we are Australians, right?) with 24 hour reception. We arrived by whirlwind taxi from the airport, easy to find entrance, choice of a small and, lets face it, slow lift or hefting luggage up 4 flights of stairs - we took the stairs (we are Australians, right?). Friendly staff at reception, expecting us - rooms ready as arranged - very smart with comfortable furnishings and recent fittings. Good beds. Bathrooms clean and, in their off the rack designer way, 'stylish' but a bit on the small side for us (we are Australians, right?). Good air con, but fresh air available via easily opening windows, double glazed as the Hotel is on Gran Via and a short walk to food, culture, creative bustle and general sleaze of Madrid. We took time-out to pose ostentatiously near the doorways of highly-regarded museums, pretending to sagely ponder the fanatical aspirations of Catholic Kings and giving out that we were musing diligently and productively on the historical and artistic treasures of the great city. It could not have been more convincing even if we had fountain pens and Moleskine notebooks in our hands! When ennui set in, and this exhausted us, we had a great bolt-hole to retire to.

Room Tip: As its on theGran Via, ear plugs at night for light sleepers required.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stephenbowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We booked Hostal Lauria thinking it was a hotel as we did it in a rush and saw some really good photos online. It also got good reviews. We stayed for one night and were a bit surprised by some of the issues that arose.

Firstly, the good bits:
Clean - very clean!
Comfortable
Good living space in the rooms
Safe
Modern
Recently refurbished
Lovely reception staff

Issues:
Some of the reception staff can't speak English but this is minor.
The entrance is very difficult to find as it is next to a convenience store.
It's on the 4th floor but there is a lift.
Rooms near reception are noisy as you can hear everything outside.
AC is pretty weak and goes off at night! We woke up sweating at 4am and had to wake up the reception staff to turn it back on again! We were furious.
The drains in the bathroom really smell bad!
Noisy outside as it's on a main street.

Overall, it was cheap - and it was only for one night, but we were glad to come home!

Room Tip: Away from reception.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and the hostel became like home for me. The room was comfortable and clean. The location was just perfect. Walking distance to almost everything. Most importantly it was safe, since I was travelling alone, that was my main concern.

If you are a light sleeper, make sure your room does not face the streets because on the weekend it is super noisy outside. People party till 6 am and it was a little difficult to sleep.

This is a definite recommendation for anyone looking for a good value for money and a nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank NPR-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

The receptionists were all very warm, kind and helpful! :)
The location is great: if you don't mind walking and you are not planning to go outside the centre you won't use the metro.
There is no breakfast but you can find cafes nearby or in the chueca area.
They made us choose out room, so I can tell that also styles wary. The one we chose it was very nice and warm, in earthly tones, the other reminded of an American cafeteria with red fake leather cover for bed structure, chairs, etc.
Our room was facing an inner court and was very quiet. It was small and there was no wardrobe (-) and no moquette (+).
The only real drawback it was the bed, that was small.. especially it was short. We both were under 1.7 m high.. but it was already a bit short for us.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giulia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The location of the hostel is great. You are in the heart of Madrid.
The room was pretty, although the mattress was a little hard for our liking.
The bathroom was okay, but nothing special.
Please bare in mind that it is an old building facing the main street (gran via), so rooms to the front are very noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MiRa938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews