We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Good Service, Good Location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalonia Las Cortes
Ranked #9 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Service, Good Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

All the reviews I read gave special attention at the service and location. They were all rigth.
Antonio at the Bar/Lobby area and a Dutch person were specially good. Always attentive as soon as I sat anywhere in the Lobby area. Even the lady on Saturday night covering this post.
One day I extended my stay and I guess the reception did not inform HouseKeeping as when I arrived at 6pm my room had not been done, and when I saw the housekeeper on the floor and told her she immeditaely left everything and serviced my room.
I had meetings all over town, and in the evenings with other colleagues staying at the Hotel we could just walk around to have a snack.
Normally I stay in the Barrio de Salamanca area (this week I am staying there) but I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up more silence from the streets, though I was on the 1st floor and it was not that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArBy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    358
    39
    6
    13
See reviews for
236
730
82
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Catalonia Las Cortes is an elegant boutique hotel with wonderful service in the perfect Madrid location! Our suite was elegant and spacious with separate sitting room and lovely large bathroom, king bed was enormous and comfortable with luxurious bedding, separate closet with dressing area, lovely painted ceilings make you feel as if you in medieval Madrid.

The service is gracious and warm. We stayed for 2 nights traveling to South Africa and one night traveling back to the US and both times we were graciously allowed to check in early (on the way back home as early as 8:00 am without a fuss or charge). The staff is very well-trained and welcoming from the front desk to the housekeepers.

The hotel is within walking distance of major sites all around including the Prado, major museums, shopping and restaurants, the Palace, and many major squares fun for walking and lunches including Plaza Mayor. It is a perfect location and you could walk everywhere safely!

Room Tip: The suites are lovely...we were in 203 on both stays and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassynwugrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Hotel Catalonia Las Cortes was the perfect location for our week long stay in Madrid. It is just off the plaza of Santa Ana, and there are many great eateries within 5 minutes. It only takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Royal Palace, and even less time to walk to the Prado. The hotel itself is unobtrusive. Our room was quite large with two balconies. We were at the back of the hotel, so noise was not a problem except for Saturday night. The bathroom was very nice and modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bartender in particular gave us great tips about things to do and the social customs of Madrid. I would readily stay at the same hotel again if I ever return to Madrid.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tostrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
177 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Location could not have been better for everything! The restaurants were all within walking distance to the hotel. The rooms were nice and large and spotlessly clean. Staff were fantastic and very helpful as well as informative. To TRY and find a critisism, I would have to say that the breakfast was lacking. Most of the hot food was luke-warm at best, but as it was included in our room price, no real issue.

Room Tip: The higher floor, the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crocettesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The previous reviews say it all. This hotel has everything you could want and more. Warm, welcoming staff, comfortable and spacious rooms, quiet, excellent breakfast buffet, and within walking distance to practically everything (the Prado is practically around the corner). The halls are warm and decorated with beautiful stained glass. This hotel is wonderful and an amazing value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#6 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Artiem Madrid
#3 of 445 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Las Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Las Cortes

Property: Catalonia Las Cortes
Address: Calle del Prado 6, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#5 Family Hotel in Madrid
#7 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#56 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $202 - $368
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Las Cortes 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Las Cortes is located in Madrid's famous 'Barrio de las Letras', or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. Opened in January 2006, the hotel is situated in an old 18th century small palace whose interior has maintained all of the original frescos, as well as the main staircase and coving. This four-star hotel has 63 elegantly appointed rooms with every convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Wotif.com so you can book your Catalonia Las Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Las Cortes Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing