We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Ranked #106 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is far from being a 4 star hotel. Good location but that's it. Room was dirty and curious white stains on the curtain ( your guess is as good as mine). Carpet tiles dislodged and the shower was mouldy. In room computer did not work and wifi only allowed one user at a time ...in a family room. Very expensive for what it was and there are plenty of better hotels in Madrid for less money. Disappointed.

Room Tip: don't accept room 216 ( triple room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    393
    140
    63
    35
See reviews for
286
366
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

average hotel, nothing special, but the location is great. you are right in the center

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you views with. As you rightly point out our hotel is superbly located near. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great hotel in the heart of Madrid. Near both the Plaza de Sol and the Plaza de Mayor. Very courteous staff who spoke multiple languages. Relatively large rooms (for a large European city) with accommodations for a family of 4. Very clean with a great shower. We had a room centrally located in the hotel so it was quiet at night. An important fact if you want to get some sleep. The streets of Madrid are active until the early morning hours.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your very complimentary review of High Tech. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

In the pedestrian area right off Plaza Major. Plenty of people around for late night returns. Breakfast ample and varied. And you can linger as long as you want. Lap top in every room. Nice big rooms with jet stream showers. All in all great experience. Reception area a little shoddy otherwise an excellent but the rooms divine.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your wonderful review of our Petit Palace Posada del Peine. I do hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I travel a lot in Europe and around the world. I absolutely HATE booking into a hotel claiming to be a four star when really it is a three star, it is a very unpleasant surprise on arrival. I am starting my review by telling you that this is a THREE star hotel, not a FOUR star hotel as advertised. Do NOT expect a four star pampering or a romantic environment for a honeymoon in Madrid, etc. etc.

Beds: Look nice, but equipped with three star mattress and pillows - unpleasant after three or four days.

Room Design: Ok, but a let down from the photos online

Shower: Impressive fixture with multi spray system (full body shower) but aside from this, spartan at best with no tub.

Service: Pleasant and helpful at desk, but no room service, no in-suite amenities such as coffee maker, tea, etc. Room bar is stocked with a few basic items.

Food: Breakfast is a basic english and continental combination. Definitely not four star, but would be acceptable if I did not have to pay an additional 30 Euros or so for the opportunity of eating it instead of spending the 10 or so Euros that it would have cost me to buy some wonderful pastries and espresso on the streets of Madrid, right outside the hotel.

Location: Very good location in Madrid. This is a great hotel if you do not plan on spending much time at the hotel. Actually I will add that I saw an advertisement for free bike rentals at the hotel, which I did not try but I thought could be a nice touch. Worth inquiring about.

Condition: Rooms in fair condition, hole showing in wall. Room smelled mildly of sewage (not kidding). Sound of running/dripping water when upstairs suite flushed toilet and showered made me confident the smell might really be sewage (what else smells like sewage?). Hallways are nice but main common areas (lobby, etc.) are in need of paint, updates and furnishing. White designer couch in entrance is filthy, paint is very dirty, etc. etc.

I know this review sounds bad, but I am telling it how it is. Location is excellent and the hotel would be decent if it had been rated three stars and if the price was 30+ Euro cheaper including breakfast. I left feeling a little ripped off, lied to, and my back hurts more from the bed than from the plane ride to Madrid.

If you are looking for a four star hotel and are used to four star service/comfort, do NOT book here.

I am reading the previous reviews and shaking my head... trendy? luxurious space? who is writing this stuff???

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilesUnderground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eri M, Departamento de ventas online at Petit Palace Posada del Peine, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
I am sorry you had an uncomfortable stay in our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies and I do hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Petit Palace Mayor
Petit Palace Mayor
#98 of 435 in Madrid
906 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza del Carmen
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#45 of 435 in Madrid
666 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Opera
Petit Palace Opera
#141 of 435 in Madrid
896 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#63 of 435 in Madrid
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Posada del Peine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Posada del Peine

Property: Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Address: Calle Postas 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $123 - $358
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Posada del Peine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location right next to the famous “Plaza Mayor” and just 50 meters from the “Puerta del Sol”. This 4 star hotel offers elegant and contemporary accommodation in a beautiful historic building.The builing is known by its name alone, Posada del Peine, since it was opened in 1610. with almost 400 years of history, this is the oldest registered hotel in Madrid, in which many famous people have slept until 1970 when the hotel was finally shut. However, on the 15th of September 2004 the hotel reopened its doors. The original exterior design contrasts with an elegant and modern interior design, making it an attractive and comfortable accommodation with modern installations and the latest technology.Hotel Petit Palace Posada del Peine - historic charm from the 20th century, elegance, and all the best installations and services with a privileged location.In the comfortable rooms with modern design you will find the ultimate technological innovations like personal computers with free WIFI and hydro-massage showers.Our canine friends are welcome. This hotel is glad to open our doors to your faithful companion (up to 15 kg). Rooms are prepared with a doggy bed and feeding dishes. Let us know when you make your reservation.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to advise you on the best restaurants, shopping zones and local excursions.We also offer a unique free bicycle rent in order to get to know the city in an ecological way, and a free coffee and juice service in the reception.Don’t loose the opportunity to visit us!!If you have any special requests please don’t hesitate to contact us, we will be more than happy to make your stay as memorable as possible!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Petit Palace Posada del Peine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Posada Del Peine Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing