We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful with beautiful surroundings”
Review of Cat's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat's Hostel
Ranked #19 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A gorgeous place! You get what you pay for, and at Cat's you'll have some indifferent service at times, but it's beautiful, well located, and adequate. It needs wifi, however, and if you plan to go out on a planned night event (such as a pub/restaurant tour), don't be surprised if it's delayed or cancelled due to low numbers. What annoyed me about that was being kept waiting for an hour when I could have gone exploring on my own. It is a bit of a party house, but as someone who doesn't really "party" I didn't find it obnoxious or intrusive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 410 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Top 10 reasons not to stay at this hostel:
1. Unless you want a very painful case of bedbugs, do not stay here
2. Unless you like cold showers, do not stay here
3. Unless you like wearing a jacket, hat, mitts, and snow pants, do not stay here
4. Unless you like rude, unaccomodating staff, do not stay here
5. Unless you like being woken up at 6am to the sound of chainsaws and hammering, do not stay here
6. Unless you like frigid cold water in the winter, do not stay here
7. Unless you like staying in one spot (without moving in the slightest) while using wifi, do not stay here
8. Unless you like bathrooms that smell like sewage and poo stains, do not stay here
9. Bed bugs
10. BED BUGS

:) Have fun in madrid .. this hostel blows

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 819Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

But in the middle of winter, freezing your feet off to go to the bathroom can make you second-guess your decision. The rooms were quite secure (so secure we sometimes had trouble getting into them ourselves), and there were lockers, which was a plus. But if you're planning to access the internet, be sure to take a jacket, because thanks to renovations, the common area (other than the bar) is freezing.
I was traveling with a group of 5, and originally we'd booked 5 beds in a 10-bed room, but when we arrived, we'd been moved to a 6-bed room with no extra cost. (Apparently a large group arrived insisting that they all share rooms). The staff was hospitable and the rooms were small, but warm, thankfully. (In the winter, that's a major plus).
Also, on a side note, when we went, there's was no clear identification as to which bathroom was the female bathroom and which was the male, so this poor guy kept walking in to the shower room terribly confused and embarrassed. Needless to say, he was socially shunned.
Otherwise, we felt safe, which is the most important part. The hostel was walking distance to most of the places we wanted to go, and the price was very reasonable.
For a backpacker, sometimes feeling safe and saving euros is the best you can hope for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were a party of 11, and if you are going to stay here you have to be open minded... very good value for money, the rooms are more than enough for rest a few hours, the only problem was that at the time we stayed there ( 18th to 21st January ) they were renovating the hostel, so during the day (from 8:00 to 18:00) you cant take a nap because of the noise... Clean bathrooms, hot water, breakfast included more than enough to start the day (1 orange juice, 1 donuts/ croissant and a coffee/ hot chocolate), free internet (3 computers) downstairs in the bar, and some animation till 1:00, but the space it´s open till 3:00 if you want to socialize with other guests... Very good location with a lot of bars/tapas 5 minutes away, specially in Plaza the santa ana, one cerveceria Cien Montaditos (1 montadito =1€ and 1 large beer=1€)... if you continue along Calle del Prado a lot of diferents bars you will find... If you choose cats you´re going to have more than you paied for...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroSheratonPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

You could do a lot worse than this cheap hostel that's in the middle of everything. It's a good 15 minute walk to Atocha Station, 10 minutes to the Plaza Mayor, and around the corner from a small supermarket (Dia). This place is built in airy Southern Spain style with screens on the door and a roofed courtyard in the middle. The basement is a tiny bar that, on Saturday nights, serves a tiny plate of average paella with the purchase of one beer. The bathrooms are dorm-style with shower stalls, but it can get steamy and crowded. The hot water comes and goes.
The breakfast is a small cup of coffee with cereal or the biggest croissant you've ever seen. It's not a lot, but it's included and gets you going until lunch (and is a rather typical Spanish breakfast).
There's one washing machine and one dryer on each floor, so you might have to time it right when you can use it.
The only real negative is a matter of taste. At 30 years old, I might be outgrowing the hostels but this place made me feel about 100. Lots of youngsters give it an excited, vibrant feel during the day and the noise can last all night. I didn't mind it, until I needed some sleep on my last night. Then it felt relentless. But hopefully, you've had so much fun in Madrid (the most manic city I've ever been in) you'll be too exhausted to care.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCandlessBus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
Mad Hostel
Mad Hostel
#47 of 414 in Madrid
365 reviews
Huertas
Way Hostel
Way Hostel
#12 of 414 in Madrid
572 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 414 in Madrid
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#3 of 414 in Madrid
354 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 414 in Madrid
866 reviews
Lavapies
Las Musas Hostel
Las Musas Hostel
#24 of 414 in Madrid
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat's Hostel

Address: Calle Canizares 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 414 Speciality Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $18 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ust outside the Puerta del Sol, the center point of Madrid, you can easily and quickly make it to the city’s most famous sites, like the lively Santa Ana plaza, world-famous Prado museum, and refreshing Retiro Park. But don’t worry – we make it easy to fit in that siesta in our Andalucían style common area, beautiful evidence that Cat’s was at one time a 17th century Spanish palace.As the sun goes down, the madrileños come out! When you start your night at Cat’s Cave Bar, it is sure to be a blast! Every night of the week we will take you on the best pub crawls, where you will meet your fellow travelers and truly experience the Madrid lifestyle. During the week we also offer you tapas and shopping tours, and free Flamenco and Salsa dance classes. And of course we’ve got the basics. Our newly renovated rooms range from 4 to 14 beds, each with clean sheets and secure lockers for each guest. Breakfast is included in the price and you can choose from a variety of cereals and pastries every morning. Free wifi is available in the common areas and there are also available computers for guest use. And on departure day, we have secure luggage storage where bags can be left while you get your last tastes of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cat's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cat`s Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing