We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the elevator hotel”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #292 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Almayate Bajo, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“the elevator hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Hidden hotel, good location for discovering Madrid. The only thing you see is a lobby and two small elevators. One fot 4 and one for 3 persons. How many rooms are there? Lots. So if it is fully booked, the queues will be immense. Rooms at the back view on old walls. Needs a bit of paint and restauration. Breakfast? Not bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DULCEYSAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    321
    269
    88
    56
See reviews for
123
282
123
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

GOOD:
Clean hotel. Looks like well protected against fire.
Excellent clean spacious room, good bedding, good fittings, safebox (1 EUR per usage), excellent sound-proof windows from street noise (very New York City).
Good LCD TV except that the provided menu in the room doesn't correspond at all to the reality (less channels as advertised).
Smoking room upon request.
Excellent housekeeping and friendly staff
Excellent breakfast (wide choice and quality products) and long hours (up to 11am), with great staff.
Excellent location near 3 metro stations (the best way to move in Madrid beside walking)

BAD:
The poor quality of the WiFi connection, very low signal, most of the time none, and getting frequently disconnected. I found out the best place to catch a low signal: the bathroom sitting on the toilet...
2 connected PC's in the lobby are available free but I also experienced with them some glitches too.
Bad front office staff. Never we felt we were welcomed. Not even a "thank you" at check-out. Addressed with the WiFi issue, the FO manager try to behave surprised by my claim, and some others at different shifts admitted they were aware but don't say anything if something was underway to solve that. It appeared to me that no one is handling the case.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qawra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is very central and clean but rooms need some reburshment. Bathroom door does not close. Bathroom tiles have black mould surrounding them. Carpets in the room are needed when the weather gets colder. Air-conditioning in our room was reported and it was not fixed by he time we left 2 days later. but above all it was clean and very very central. Breakfast was good too BUT staff should smile every now and then.

All in all it was ok but a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor because road is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtfenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I travelled with a friend and our experience of the hotel was better than what the reviews said. There is'nt an elevator at the street level of the hotel so everytime you go in or out, you have to go up or down a flight of stairs to get to an elevator. For young people in shape this should not be a problem. For a 3 star hotel I was pleasantly surprised, the room was small but very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect- we didn't have to use the metro almost at all. Breakfast was good with a variety of foods. The receptionists were not so kind or helpful and most of them did not know english. WIFI is free at the hotel but not always worked. All in all, I would return to this hotel if i were to be in Madrid again.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask a room not facing the main street which is the Gran Via, but take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The street level of the hotel doesnt have an elevator, you have to carry laugage by yourself all the way down to reception and then up when you leave. we arrived in the middle of the night with two babies - they refused to help!!! the elevatores in the other floors are tiny, most of the time we walked up and down the stairs, like most of the guests there.

Room Tip: dont stay on upper floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Senator Gran Via 70 Spa Hotel
Malasana
Tryp Madrid Plaza Espana Hotel
Airport / Barajas
Tryp Madrid Alameda Aeropuerto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
San Blas
Melia Avenida America
Melia Avenida America
#173 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#158 of 436 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Calle Gran Via 43, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 436 Hotels in Madrid
Price range (per night): $171 - $212
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Madrid
Sol Melia Rex Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing