We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Rex
Nearby Hotels
USD 385*
USD 361*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 279*
USD 259*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 194*
USD 169*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 260*
USD 234*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 164*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Atlantico(Madrid)
USD 292*
USD 231*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 394*
USD 227*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 252*
USD 226*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 325*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
USD 136*
USD 114*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveller rating
70
321
267
88
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
321
267
88
56
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 802 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

GOOD:
Clean hotel. Looks like well protected against fire.
Excellent clean spacious room, good bedding, good fittings, safebox (1 EUR per usage), excellent sound-proof windows from street noise (very New York City).
Good LCD TV except that the provided menu in the room doesn't correspond at all to the reality (less channels as advertised).
Smoking room upon request.
Excellent housekeeping and friendly staff
Excellent breakfast (wide choice and quality products) and long hours (up to 11am), with great staff.
Excellent location near 3 metro stations (the best way to move in Madrid beside walking)

BAD:
The poor quality of the WiFi connection, very low signal, most of the time none, and getting frequently disconnected. I found out the best place to catch a low signal: the bathroom sitting on the toilet...
2 connected PC's in the lobby are available free but I also experienced with them some glitches too.
Bad front office staff. Never we felt we were welcomed. Not even a "thank you" at check-out. Addressed with the WiFi issue, the FO manager try to behave surprised by my claim, and some others at different shifts admitted they were aware but don't say anything if something was underway to solve that. It appeared to me that no one is handling the case.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The hotel is very central and clean but rooms need some reburshment. Bathroom door does not close. Bathroom tiles have black mould surrounding them. Carpets in the room are needed when the weather gets colder. Air-conditioning in our room was reported and it was not fixed by he time we left 2 days later. but above all it was clean and very very central. Breakfast was good too BUT staff should smile every now and then.

All in all it was ok but a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor because road is very busy.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtfenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I travelled with a friend and our experience of the hotel was better than what the reviews said. There is'nt an elevator at the street level of the hotel so everytime you go in or out, you have to go up or down a flight of stairs to get to an elevator. For young people in shape this should not be a problem. For a 3 star hotel I was pleasantly surprised, the room was small but very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect- we didn't have to use the metro almost at all. Breakfast was good with a variety of foods. The receptionists were not so kind or helpful and most of them did not know english. WIFI is free at the hotel but not always worked. All in all, I would return to this hotel if i were to be in Madrid again.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask a room not facing the main street which is the Gran Via, but take into account that you may not have direct sunlight in the room. I was in a room facing a wall of a tall building but I prefered this over the street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The street level of the hotel doesnt have an elevator, you have to carry laugage by yourself all the way down to reception and then up when you leave. we arrived in the middle of the night with two babies - they refused to help!!! the elevatores in the other floors are tiny, most of the time we walked up and down the stairs, like most of the guests there.

Room Tip: dont stay on upper floors!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

best thing of the hotel is its location. right in the center of madrid. we didn't have to use the metro AT ALL! the rooms are not luxurious, but comfy, clean, and homey. the staff is very proffesional and breakfast is perfect!!! highly reccomended for both young and adult travelers. probably not for families. all in all very satisfying.

Room Tip: Rooms with no view on the gran via are smaller but also quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naama Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews