We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not memorable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #26 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good but not memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here in February. The hotel is well situated and has a "Ritz" type feeling. Staff is friendly and cortuous. However, the restaurant recommended by the concierge turned out to be horrible. The breakfast buffett can be much better. While there is variety, the quality is not at par with other luxury hotels. For example, for cereal they serve Kelogg varieties in small boxes, the bread is plain old toast etc. The wifi in the room was the slowest I've ever encountered in a hotel. I will try another hotel next time I'm in Madrid.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxury47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Gran Melia Fenix, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Sandra Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    478
    133
    33
    13
See reviews for
351
863
88
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sion, Switzerland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked directly at the Gran Mélia Fenix for four nights. We were adviced to stay on the Red Level and were not disappointed: fruit juices, drinks, snacks and even champagne were available for free from 7am to 23pm, a great experience ! The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. Everybody has a very good command of spoken English. Our room at the 6th floor was modern classy, the furnishings beautiful but unfortunately small and lacking of cupboard storage: a real pity! Room cleaning was outstanding and the ladies in charge of it very professional and pleasant. Also the bathroom was well equipped but tiny.
Disappointing were the information we got at the Red Level wich was less good than at the "normal" reception desk. Also the spa/gym was under renovation and we were offered to go to the Reebook gym at 15 minutes walking distance from the hotel.
We didn't fall in love with Madrid either although this city offers a lot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your comments online.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here.

We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
450 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a perfect five stars hotel. The location is central, a walk distance of the top majority atractives. The breakfast is excelent with 130 itens. Is the best breakfast I have had. I stayed for 5 nights and I didn't have any problem. My room had a street view, but didn't came any noise from street. the room has doubles windows. If you want to go to the gym, ask first, when I went it was closed to be renovated.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximiliano J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you in name of all the Gran Melia Fenix staff for your positive feedback.

We are really proud that you had such a wonderfull experience and our hospitality met your expectations.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future.

Warm regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just got back from a week in Madrid, staying at the Gran Melia Fenix. We landed at the airport at 630am and were afraid we'd have to just drop our bags off and wait until afternoon for a room, but our bags were wisked away to an available room and an offer to switch us the next day to a nicer location. Our room was interior (no view, just a window overlooking the middle of the building) and small -- but so cozy and opulant in decor that we decided not to bother moving. The location was perfectly located between the museums, parks and historic sites, with a metro station just two blocks away -- too much to do to stay in the room!

Room service was good, but pricey so we got our morning cafe con leche and pastry at the bar across the street and picked up take-out pizza around the corner the one night we couldn't manage to drag ourselves out of the bed for the standard late night dinner. We LOVED the bar (great ambiance, great service) and regularly hung out there before heading off to dinner.

The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful -- it seemed like there was a crowd in the lobby there to greet us every morning.

I would definately recommend this hotel! Great location, service, and environment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

We always work hard to meet guest expectations and for us is a pleasure that you have enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

A very nice, historical hotel in the heart of the center of Madrid...the location is great to catch buses and metro or just walk about. The National Library is minutes away, also Plaza Cibeles with its great Postal Palace at its crown. Service is impeccable, the staff is going out of his way to be helpful; have asked to call another hotel and they offered to make arrangements. English is also spoken by all... a great help for those who are not multi-lingual. We had a conference there and the food was also exceptional - except the stake one lunch. Breakfast was my favorite, the buffet provides local fruits and delicacies, a really grand affair.

Rooms are nice, well serviced daily, overall a 5 star experience. Perhaps the only thing lacking was a spa/gym, as theirs was under renovation.

Room Tip: It's personal preference, I usually take higher rooms for the view.... was on business, so we go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Best regards,

Sandra Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#68 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#7 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $228 - $731
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Melia Hotels APAC and DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing