We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location: awesome. Service/Rooms: not so much.”
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #36 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Hm, so, yeah, I stayed there at the 1st week of January mostly due to location, some raving reviews and, yes, the stories about the Beatles and others.

Location is perfect. Walking distance from everywhere you need to go in Madrid. Whether you're there for culture, food or shopping, it doesn't matter, you're nearby. Hence the 3 stars.

Now as it comes to service: my wife and I arrived, nobody seemed to care about our luggage. We had to carry it ourselves. And those were no backpacks. And the staff remained oblivious about basic guests courtesy throughout our stay there (yes, on our way out we had to carry the luggage to the cab as well).

Oh, the room. Possibly the worst located room on a hotel in history. And with a good chance of being the smallest as well. Only one window, with a view to the, well, I don't know what it was, but we needed to keep it closed, as it was some small concrete yard somewhere inside the hotel, right above our heads. Claustrophobic. Have I mentioned it was the same price as the other standard rooms - this was no promotion? Add to this an ice machine from hell at the corridor.

Hotel lounge was completely unappealing as well.

Basically it was a big let down. There are better places for the same cost.

Room Tip: Upper floors, and watch out for the internal view if you're staying on lower floors. It might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terencereis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for entrusting us with your comments which help us to improve our day-to-day customer service. Sorry if your stay did not turn out as you hoped it would.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Warm regards from Madrid,

Sandra Hernandez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 976 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

Excellent location. Charming service, very professional concierge. Rooms are super..and clean. I was upgraded to a bigger room just because I arrived a little earlier and they did not have my room ready yet.....Just blocks away the best restaurants and shops, and if you are a good walker then you found a gem in the middle of Madrid. El retiro is just few block away. I highly recommend this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Not really, I think all room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiamavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Melia Fenix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinions in this website.

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Fénix.

Sandra Hernández.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I normally travel to Madrid several times a year.. I have found my hotel! The Melia Grand Fenix is great!!... I have stayed in several hotels in Madrid (all of which having been more expensive).
The location is excellent, the staff courteous, and the rooms clean (and if you place the "do not disturb" sign on the door, it is respected. The only downside (but it doesn't bother me) is that the bathrooms are small (but well equipped). The Clarins shampoo & conditioner, and other products in the bathroom came in handy.
There are several tv stations in English (which is nice).. Also, the tv is big and modern.
This is my fifth time staying at this hotel.. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maloneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful hotel. The service was excellent, room and bed was very comfortable. We loved the bar and had an amazing lunch at their restaurant, great food and wonderful service. I highly rate this hotel, only small downside is that it is a little far away to walk to the main attractions but it is only a 5 minute walk to the metro.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WomanEyeMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Gran Meliá Fénix, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Madrid.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Gran Melia Fenix and that you felt so comfortable.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality for our guests.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon.

Warm regards from Madrid,

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The service at this hotel is in another league from so many modern hotels. Polite, attentive and personal. The cocktail bar is also superb. The restaurant, though rather quiet, is also excellent. Rooms very nice although not huge. Brilliant location for the sights of Madrid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraHernandez, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Melia Fenix, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Gran Meliá Fénix and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel and we hope to see you back soon in Madrid.

Looking forward to welcoming you at The Gran Meliá Fénix.

Best Regards

Sandra Hernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#10 of 437 in Madrid
642 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#51 of 437 in Madrid
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#37 of 437 in Madrid
1,893 reviews
Chamberi
Hotel Orfila
Hotel Orfila
#1 of 437 in Madrid
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#29 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $259 - $1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing