We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quality hotel on the edge of the tourist area.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Fenix
Ranked #26 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice quality hotel on the edge of the tourist area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed at this property with my wife on business. We were in Madrid for 48 hours, including one full business day (worked all day from the room). The rooms were a little small, but everything was of good quality and the service was friendly. The hotel is on the northwest corner of the tourist area. It took me 45 minutes of fast walking to get to the Royal Palace, which is on the complete opposite (southwest) side of the tourist area. Everything was within walking distance. I would stay there again for both business and personal.

Room Tip: The standard rooms face an ugly interior courtyard (the windows are fogged to let light in but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    478
    133
    33
    13
See reviews for
351
861
88
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Through hotels.com I booked one night on "Red Level" - in a pricerange close to the double of what I would normally like to pay. But it was worth the money. All of it.

The hotel has made a special "Red Level" where guests are given speciel dedicated check-in (and a glass of champagne), but the really benefit here is the all included breakfast/afternoon/evening snack lounge. The word snack hides the fact that from 1 pm-11 pm you have free access to a well stocked bar, a wide selection of tapas, desserts, different types of coffee, etc. Very, very good indeed. I think I saved to 2 meals on that account plus breakfast - probably among the best breakfasts I have had at hotels.

The is huge and have separate walk-in dressing room and just everything you could ask in 5-star hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Under_many_stars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed in the Gran Melia Fenix for work in Feb 2012. The hotel is situated at Plaza de Colon in the heart of Madrid. The staff were extremely polite and I was upgraded to a room overlooking the avenue of Castellana. The room was huge with large double bed and separate hall leading to bathroom. Breakfast was excellent. I was recommend this hotel for the business or leisure traveller - worthy of its high TA rating.

Room Tip: Pick a room on high floor overlooking the main avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesA045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A beautiful hotel. The room was very comfortable and quiet with the extra touches you would expect from such a quality hotel. Staff were friendly and professional, especially the breakfast room staff. The location is great, a very short walk to the subway station that brings you to anywhere in the city or to the airport quickly and reasonably.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here as a present for a "big" birthday weekend at the beginning of December, first time in Madrid...and we couldn't have chosen better for location, service and style. The lady on reception was wonderful (wish I could remember her name!) She recommended some local restaurants for us and I have to say they were fabulous, within walking distance and not the usual tourist traps, a real taste of proper spanish cuisine. The rooms were fab, extremely quiet, lots of bits of bobs like shampoos etc., The cocktail bar in the hotel and the bar men were just lovely, and we were treated like VIPs by the bar manager.. especially when they found out it was my Birthday. The only thing we did find was that for such a large hotel we had to queue for breakfast in what was rather a small breakfast area.. one or two people even jumped the queue by just ignoring those that were waiting..and still managed to get directed to a table (a little bit more organisation is required here). But this was a tiny blip in what was an overall exceptional and memorable experience and yes I fell in love with Madrid and will return. The hotel is also located within walking distance of all the upmarket shops and boutiques. Thank you so much Gran Melia xx

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinxxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Huertas
The Westin Palace Madrid
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Hotel Villa Magna
Hotel Villa Magna
#6 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Fenix

Property: Gran Melia Fenix
Address: Hermosilla 2 | Plaza De Colon, 28001 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Madrid
#12 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#21 Family Hotel in Madrid
#21 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $226 - $736
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Fenix 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located on the Plaza de Colon, the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix is a reference of the finest in the city's hotel industry, and member of the exclusive group of The Leading Hotels of the World. With its famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar by Javier de las Muelas, it is the foremost example of luxury and service with all of the Spanish charisma.Its magnificent location in the exclusive Salamanca neighbourhood, in the heart of the financial district and surrounded by the famous streets of Serrano, Velazquez, Goya and on the Paseo of la Castellana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Gran Melia Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Fenix Hotel Madrid
Gran Melia Madrid
Gran Melia Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing