We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Aquaria Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Ranked #266 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Having never been to Madrid before I was eager to see eveything. I took my boyfriend for his birthday and found this hotel on last minute.com. The hotel was all we needed, and in such a good location for the price, id most definatly stay here again. Just off the gran via, it was surrounded by shops and eateries and right in the middle of all the sights. It had a spanish lcd tv on the wall, we just used to put the radio channels on while we were getting ready though. The bathroom was.spacious with a big double shower and there was also a fridge in the room. Even though it was right off the gran via it was quiet inside and no noise came through the windows. Would definatly stay again, great base to get a good nights sleep for a day of sightseeing ahead.
5 top Madrid tips:
1. Take the bus from the airport into town. Only 2 euros to the centre.
2. Row a boat in the parc del retiro, we had a lovely sunny time.
3. Use the supermarkets.
4. Dont just stay in the centre. We walked to the bernabau and didnt take the metro once. Its a small city with beautiful apartments to look at in the suburbs.
5. Visit the glass cafe on Recolectos. Epitomises the old school glamour of Madrid with chandeliers and red velvet sofas. Great views to sip your martini rosso with!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    131
    58
    17
    10
See reviews for
38
119
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We booked this hotel last minute through air miles so did not cost very much as mostly used up air miles we had. We picked this hotel because of other reviews that stated that the hotel was central and that you could walk to most things from there.

We took the metro to the hotel getting off at Gran Via and then walking down towards Zara on the right and then turning left and the hotel was there on the left - cost of the metro was 2.5 euro although we did have to change twice and there was quite a lot of walking from line to line and stairs to go up and down so be careful if you have lots of luggage it may be better to take the airport bus and then make your way from there.

You are right in the heart of the all the shops and you can walk quickly to the Puerta Sol, Plaza Mayor and the Palace. If you want to walk to the museums/botanical gardens/park etc. this is a longer walk so you may want to take either the metro or use the sightseeing red double decker bus and keep getting on and off at the appropriate stops.

We found the room to be clean although not the one in the picture. Don't let the orangey yellow bedspread and curtains put you off it is fine and adequate for your needs. It even has a mini fride which you can stock with your own items (none provided) and if you require a safe key you pay a deposit of 10 euros which is returned at the end of your stay when you return the key.

The bathroom had a shower which was very good and all looked quite new.

We had the air conditioning explained to us - apparently you turn the knob next to the bed to operate you don't touch the control near the door and you can have it low, high or off in our case to sleep although it was 34 degrees outside it was a little cool when sleeping. We used to turn it on when we came in and off before we went to sleep.

The only major issue with the hotel when we stayed (9th - 13th Sept) was that they were refurbishing the staircase which meant there was no fire escape available. This was very worrying as we were on the 4th Floor and the lift which would not be in use I am sure if there was a fire only held 4 people it was tiny. There was also a lot of dust from the building work which of course was in the corridor and in the lift which they were using to transport plaster etc. to the upper floors. Hopefully this will be rectified in a few weeks but a bit worrying if you want to travel now.

There are lots of restaurants within a short walk from the hotel - we did not bother with breakfast as it was 9 euros + in the hotel as we are not big breakfast fans but did find the Mac Cafe at the Puerto Sol had a special offer of a cappacino and croissant for 2 euros which was half the price of the other Mac Cafe and very pleasant atmosphere. For lunch we like the Cafe de Jambon again near the Puerto Sol where you could get a beer, wine, coke, water or coffee for 1 euro and also a sandwich for 1 euro. Eating here was round a bar type area in the middle of the shop with the locals stood up but a great experience. We also found some great tapas restaurants and the Argentina Steak Restaurant near the Opera was fantastic and very very reasonable compared with the UK. Overall we found the food and drink to be less than the restaurants in the UK and much better food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allyson_cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The hotel is easy to get to and once here we walked to all the major sights. There was some stains on the spare pillows and when we asked for new ones we were told there weren't any and to wait until tomorrow- pretty frustrating considering my husband snoares unless his head is up high. A few minutes later the reception lady appeared at the door with spare pillows.
The lift is tiny but that wasn't a big deal- we were happy to save on transport by staying so centrally.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

This is a reasonably priced hotel. The rooms are clean and medium size. However, you cannot keep the window open while you sleep since it is very noisy outside but the windows are double paned, and will keep out the noise. The hotel is centrally located, close to Puerta Sol, and to a Metro

Room Tip: Found through Orbitz
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StateEmployee1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

This hotel is not really close to anything. It's in a very loud neighborhood so hard to sleep at night. It's far from retiro and atocha train station.

When we arrived, it was 95 degrees and they didn't have our room ready for 4 more hours and instead of the AC working in our room, the heater was working (even when we turned the AC on, the heater would come on). It took them a day and a half to fix it and they wouldn't give us a different room.

The room is really tiny and you can't really move around much. It's like a closet with a bathroom. There's no room to put your bags.

You have to take a metro to all the major sites in madrid. I would recommend that you stay at a hotel near retiro park instead of this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Regente Hotel
Regente Hotel
#224 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Centro
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
#370 of 444 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#95 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Anaco
Hotel Anaco
#324 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Tres Cruces Centro
Centro
Hotel Arosa
Hotel Arosa
#230 of 444 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aquaria Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aquaria Negresco

Property: Hotel Aquaria Negresco
Address: Calle Mesonero Romanos 12, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Partner Negresco Hotel)
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Price range (per night): $79 - $278
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aquaria Negresco 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Madrid, a small and cozy hotel with 19 rooms. It offers 24-hour reception, quiet and well-equipped rooms with AC/Heating, minibar and free WIFI. It's an outstanding place to visit beautiful and emblematic spots by foot, go to museums, theaters or shopping. Public transportation is very accessible; buses, metro and train can take you rapidly and comfortably in any part of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Aquaria Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Partner Negresco
Partner Negresco Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing