We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice property, food average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Zenit Abeba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Zenit Abeba
Ranked #183 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice property, food average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

A group of adult males stayed 4 nights at this hotel, competing in the Madrid marathon combined with some sightseeing. This hotel was chosen because of Trip Advisor reviews and also because it offered half board at a reasonable rate - a good idea to avoid 8 adults spending most of their time discussing where to go to eat. .Unfortunately, the evening meal part of the half board was disappointing, with very limited choice and average quality.

Having said that, the property has just been refurbished and the rooms are of a high standard. Breakfast buffet was good. Hotel was 150 metres from the excellent Madrid metro system and hotel reception staff were friendly and well informed.

Would probably not return as there are so many hotels to choose from.

I give hotel Zenit Abeba the benefit of the doubt with a 4 star vote.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunner026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    216
    75
    14
    10
See reviews for
79
171
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent location in Madrid's best barrio - Barrio Salamanca. 100 mts walking to underground station - Diego de Leon.
Clean, good breakfast, nice people

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vazaha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was visiting friends in Madrid and chose this hotel as it is close to where they live. That being said, it is not in the center of the city and you do need to take a cab and/or the metro to get into the main tourist areas. Otherwise it was a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Choosed this hotel beacuse I lived nearby for 5 years. It was refurbished one year ago and the decoration is very nice.
It's located in the residencial part of Barrio Salamanca, just 10/15 minute walking distance to its famous shops.
Metro station is just outside hotel's entrance and plenty of taxis running up and down Juan Bravo or Francisco Silvela streets.
Rooms are ok, they offered to change us to a twin bed, as the only left with a king size was minimal.
Free wifi. Got a good rate through booking.com so value for money it was worth it.
Only negative point was the cleaning ladies vacuuming the corridors saturday very early, I think it was 8am, probably waking up everyone in my floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I don't often need to write negative comments as I choose my hotels very carefully (mostly after reading tripadvisor reviews!) but I can honestly say I've never met such miserable and surly waiting staff as those in this hotel. It was a shame because the hotel is really good value for money when compared to other Madrid hotels of the same standard and the staff on the reception were fine - pleasant and helpful. Examples of the breakfast staff's attitude: even though I said a cheery 'Buenos dias' every morning on arrival, I got a mumbled almost grudging response. When we sat down we were made to feel like we were an inconvenience just for being there - no one asked us if we wanted tea or coffee - we had to ask for it, then when it was brought up it was plonked hard on the table. Bearing in mind we were a party of 6 and asked for tea for 6 people (in Spanish!), the male waiter brought 2 small flasks of tea which barely made 3 cupfulls. No milk was brought. Plus we often had to get up and go around the other spare tables to find enough cups and saucers, & cutlery, for our group! The staff were so grumpy that in the end we felt awkward asking for anything. All they seemed to do was clear up and replenish the self-serve food, they never seemed to pay any attention to the people that were in there, it was as if we were invisible! This somewhat spoit my impression of this hotel. That being said the quality and variety of the food on offer at breakfast was good. Waiting staff - please take some lessons in customer service. Bedrooms were a good size, storage space was limited but fine for a few days' trip. Standard of decor was good but if I am honest the colour of the furnishings - everything grey and black - made the rooms quite gloomy, almost depressing. We had 3 twin rooms on 3rd floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool, and they were quite dark inside. We actually wrote beforehand asking for rooms with a lot of natural light, (as previous reviewers had said their rooms were dark and gloomy) - so maybe they are all like it! Bathrooms were modern with shower area, no bath. Walls are thin, you know when your neighbours are in the shower! and the wooden floors mean you can occasionally hear people walking around in heels, but not too bad on the whole. There is nothing much to do near the hotel - which was expected as its in a residential area, except there's a good bar, with friendly staff, on the corner opposite the hotel, with cheap drinks compared to the city centre bars. A fairly big supermarket is just around the corner from hotel in Calle Juan Bravo. The metro station Diego de Leon is a one-minute walk from hotel and has good connections to central Madrid (about 20 mins journey). The metro was very easy to use, efficient and safe, we returned back one night at 1:15am - plenty of people on the trains even at that time. Trains run regularly until 2am. Madrid centre around the Sol area was extremely crowded day and night, just as central London is. Lovely authentic (not typically touristy) bar just off the Plaza Mayor (go to the far corner of the plaza and down some concrete steps to get to the street called Calle Cuchilleros - the bar is called the Arco de Cuchilleros (tableo flamenco) and has flamenco dancers on stage at 10.30pm - you pay a supplement on your first drink to cover the cost of the dancers (first drink was 11euros) then susequent drinks are normal prices, but the dancers are top flamenco dancers and the dancing is as authentic and enjoyable as you will get, second only to what I have seen previously in Seville. Taxi from airport to hotel 30euros each way (40euros on Sundays). Would I recommend this hotel? For value for money, for a short trip, with good connections to the centre.....it's ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a south-facing room as they may be brighter inside than the ones we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NeoMagna Madrid
NeoMagna Madrid
#265 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Novotel Madrid Center
Novotel Madrid Center
#121 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Vincci Soma
Vincci Soma
#182 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#32 of 446 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Balboa
NH Madrid Balboa
#196 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zenit Abeba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenit Abeba

Property: Hotel Zenit Abeba
Address: C/ Alcantara 63, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Madrid
#126 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#149 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#151 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $78 - $196
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zenit Abeba 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Madrid hotel in the district of Salamanca. The Zenit Abeba Hotel is a four star establishment in Madrid, situated in a privileged location a few meters from Calle Ortege y Gasset. Next to the hotel is the most prestigious shopping area in Madrid, Calle Serrano and Calle Goya, which are emblems of Madrid. The 90 rooms of the Zenit Abeba Hotel in Madrid have exclusive designer facilities, with a carefully detailed decor. The hotel also has a private car park for its guests, in the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zenit Abeba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenit Abeba Hotel
Zenit Abeba Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing