We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Zenit Abeba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zenit Abeba
Ranked #178 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was visiting friends in Madrid and chose this hotel as it is close to where they live. That being said, it is not in the center of the city and you do need to take a cab and/or the metro to get into the main tourist areas. Otherwise it was a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    244
    79
    16
    12
See reviews for
90
186
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Choosed this hotel beacuse I lived nearby for 5 years. It was refurbished one year ago and the decoration is very nice.
It's located in the residencial part of Barrio Salamanca, just 10/15 minute walking distance to its famous shops.
Metro station is just outside hotel's entrance and plenty of taxis running up and down Juan Bravo or Francisco Silvela streets.
Rooms are ok, they offered to change us to a twin bed, as the only left with a king size was minimal.
Free wifi. Got a good rate through booking.com so value for money it was worth it.
Only negative point was the cleaning ladies vacuuming the corridors saturday very early, I think it was 8am, probably waking up everyone in my floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsziela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I don't often need to write negative comments as I choose my hotels very carefully (mostly after reading tripadvisor reviews!) but I can honestly say I've never met such miserable and surly waiting staff as those in this hotel. It was a shame because the hotel is really good value for money when compared to other Madrid hotels of the same standard and the staff on the reception were fine - pleasant and helpful. Examples of the breakfast staff's attitude: even though I said a cheery 'Buenos dias' every morning on arrival, I got a mumbled almost grudging response. When we sat down we were made to feel like we were an inconvenience just for being there - no one asked us if we wanted tea or coffee - we had to ask for it, then when it was brought up it was plonked hard on the table. Bearing in mind we were a party of 6 and asked for tea for 6 people (in Spanish!), the male waiter brought 2 small flasks of tea which barely made 3 cupfulls. No milk was brought. Plus we often had to get up and go around the other spare tables to find enough cups and saucers, & cutlery, for our group! The staff were so grumpy that in the end we felt awkward asking for anything. All they seemed to do was clear up and replenish the self-serve food, they never seemed to pay any attention to the people that were in there, it was as if we were invisible! This somewhat spoit my impression of this hotel. That being said the quality and variety of the food on offer at breakfast was good. Waiting staff - please take some lessons in customer service. Bedrooms were a good size, storage space was limited but fine for a few days' trip. Standard of decor was good but if I am honest the colour of the furnishings - everything grey and black - made the rooms quite gloomy, almost depressing. We had 3 twin rooms on 3rd floor at the back of the hotel, overlooking the pool, and they were quite dark inside. We actually wrote beforehand asking for rooms with a lot of natural light, (as previous reviewers had said their rooms were dark and gloomy) - so maybe they are all like it! Bathrooms were modern with shower area, no bath. Walls are thin, you know when your neighbours are in the shower! and the wooden floors mean you can occasionally hear people walking around in heels, but not too bad on the whole. There is nothing much to do near the hotel - which was expected as its in a residential area, except there's a good bar, with friendly staff, on the corner opposite the hotel, with cheap drinks compared to the city centre bars. A fairly big supermarket is just around the corner from hotel in Calle Juan Bravo. The metro station Diego de Leon is a one-minute walk from hotel and has good connections to central Madrid (about 20 mins journey). The metro was very easy to use, efficient and safe, we returned back one night at 1:15am - plenty of people on the trains even at that time. Trains run regularly until 2am. Madrid centre around the Sol area was extremely crowded day and night, just as central London is. Lovely authentic (not typically touristy) bar just off the Plaza Mayor (go to the far corner of the plaza and down some concrete steps to get to the street called Calle Cuchilleros - the bar is called the Arco de Cuchilleros (tableo flamenco) and has flamenco dancers on stage at 10.30pm - you pay a supplement on your first drink to cover the cost of the dancers (first drink was 11euros) then susequent drinks are normal prices, but the dancers are top flamenco dancers and the dancing is as authentic and enjoyable as you will get, second only to what I have seen previously in Seville. Taxi from airport to hotel 30euros each way (40euros on Sundays). Would I recommend this hotel? For value for money, for a short trip, with good connections to the centre.....it's ok.

Room Tip: Ask for a south-facing room as they may be brighter inside than the ones we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had a comfortable 2 night stay here and it was very good value for money.It's very much a business hotel but had the feel of a boutique one. The hotel is situated out of the city in the Salamanca district but there is a metro stop just a stone's throw from the hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable - our room was a little dark but they aren't all like that as our travelling companions had a lovely light room. We all felt that the bathroom was a bit tricky to use - nowhere to put toiletries or hang up hand towel also sinks were without plugs which was odd. Compared to other Spanish cities it was difficult to find places to eat but it could just have been the area we stayed in so we ate one night in the hotel which was expensive by Spanish standards but reasonable if compared to UK. Food and service were good. There is an excellent bar opposite the hotel which does food although we only had huge gin and tonics in there! The staff speak excellent English and were very helpful when we couldn't get into out safe it was sorted out quickly and without fuss. We did manage to find an excellent restaurant for lunch (Terra Mundi) after visiting the Prado and this I would recommend - we waited for a table and it was worth the wait. The menu de dia (3 courses) was 10 euros and included a bottle of wine (2 of us shared one bottle but single diners were also bought a whole bottle!) and beer. The food and atmosphere were great. I would also recommend La Mallorquina (Pta de Sol) for coffee and cake - the outside looks very old-fashioned but the cakes were lovely and such an amazing choice - you can either stand at the counter or go upstairs and sit at a table worth a visit.

Room Tip: You can upgrade for 15 Euros per night to a room with a spa bath, seating area and city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights last May, this hotel is very modern, is really well located in the Salamanca area surrounded by shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wifi was really fast and free in the hotel and the rooms were very modern, clean, large bathroom and all in all really good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
NeoMagna Madrid
NeoMagna Madrid
#277 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
El Madrono
El Madrono
#36 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Principe de Vergara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#33 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Vincci Soma
Vincci Soma
#173 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Madrid Balboa
NH Madrid Balboa
#192 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zenit Abeba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zenit Abeba

Property: Hotel Zenit Abeba
Address: C/ Alcantara 63, 28006 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Barrio de Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Madrid
#123 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#148 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#150 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $86 - $347
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zenit Abeba 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Madrid hotel in the district of Salamanca. The Zenit Abeba Hotel is a four star establishment in Madrid, situated in a privileged location a few meters from Calle Ortege y Gasset. Next to the hotel is the most prestigious shopping area in Madrid, Calle Serrano and Calle Goya, which are emblems of Madrid. The 90 rooms of the Zenit Abeba Hotel in Madrid have exclusive designer facilities, with a carefully detailed decor. The hotel also has a private car park for its guests, in the centre of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Zenit Abeba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenit Abeba Hotel
Zenit Abeba Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing