We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Madrid weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Melia Madrid Princesa
Ranked #67 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I am one of four girlfriends that take an annual weekend city break around end Jan. This year we chose Madrid & I was faced with the daunting task of selecting the hotel. Given the fact that my friends are quite particular about the accommodation we stay in I spent a lot of time on the research and selected this hotel which really paid off.

The hotel doesn't look much from the outside but once you walk inside the door you are in an oasis of calm & excellent service. The staff were the perfect mix of friendly efficiency, the rooms although reasonably compact were well designed and the beds among the most comfortable we had experienced.

Interestingly enough one of my reasons for selecting this hotel was the spa and we didn't actually use it. Partly because there was a €15 charge to do so for a day, partly because it was closed on Sundays but mainly because we didn't really have time.

The breakfast buffet which was included in our rate was superb. We ate two lunches and a dinner in the hotel bar & restaurant again partly because our special offer (with bookings made thru the Melia.com website) allowed us €40 per room per day to spend here but the food was fantastic & the menu prices, even had we not had our €40 allowance, were extremely reasonable for a 5 star hotel.

The location right beside Ventura Rodriguez metro stop was also a real bonus. One word of caution my wallet was pick pocketed on the crowded metro on the Friday evening - apparently an all too common Madrid experience.

In the interest of balance I'm searching for something critical to say about the hotel and all I can come with is that the myriad lighting systems in the room were a bit over the top & complicated to operate to the extent that we regularly cast each other into darkness in the bathroom. Oh and also why put a plug in a hand basin if it's designed NOT to stop water?

Very minor issues in the grand scheme of things. A great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 766 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed two nights a the Melia Madrid Princesa and it was a great experience. The hotel has a really "cool" feel throughout the property. The lounges are nice and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially to a non-spanish speaking American! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here on business last week for a couple of nights and it was very compfy.

I have to say it looked like a 1960's office block on the outside but probably a 4* on the inside. There rooms were very nice and the beds compfy.

The staff were very helpful.

I also went to El Club Allard for dinner which is less than a 5 minute walk away. Quite outstanding food.

for the price at £140 pounds I thought it very good and werepositioned.

Chris

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors. You get a great view of Madrid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltipschris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I loved my room, and the bathroom was very luxurious! My room was very funky, stylish, and beautiful. The hotel was lovely. The location was great in Madrid. The staff was fairly friendly. I had trouble with my window and a maintenance person literally came within a minute from my call to the front desk. It was a good stay for a 5 star but the staff could have been more friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Overall I was satisfied with my weekend stay, despite a very bad late check-out experience.

I chose this hotel for its unbeatable central location - a mere ten-minute-walk to Plaza de Espana and Gran Via. Metro station "Ventura Rodriguez" is directly under the hotel while both stations "Arguelles" and "Plaza de Espana" are very close nearby.
Booked my stay on Melia own website - booking process quick and easy, I opted for a Premium room at 145EUR excluding breakfast.

Check-in quite satisfying - the receptionist on duty was welcoming and friendly.

Premium room on the 2nd floor - I found it modern and quiet enough. Many amenities were available: individual air-conditioning, large desk, quite comfortable King-size bed. Other goodies included a comprehensive media equipment (flatscreen TV, DVD/CD player, USB ports), design sofa, coffee-making facilities. All equipment were working properly.
The bathroom layout is very strange as it is split in two rooms: the first one includes two sinks but also the closets (!), while WC and bath are located in the second room! Bath and WC spotlessly clean and with many amenities including dental and shaving kits.

On the downside the Melia website is quite misleading as it advertises "very bright rooms, all with views over the city" for Premium rooms. It was definitely NOT the case as my room looked over some emergency stairs and a narrow side street - very disappointing.

Breakfast buffet was a bit expensive, therefore I preferred to eat outside.
Efficient room service at very reasonable prices - I ordered some tapas for dinner (Iberian croquettes, bacalao fritters) which were quite tasty.

The end of my stay was unfortunately let down by a very ILL-MANNERED maid service. I had asked for and been granted a late check-out until 15:00.
I returned to my room at 13:30. Despite the "Do not disturb" sign, I found that half of the room had already been cleaned up! There were already new towels and soaps in the bathroom; on the opposite bed sheets had been stripped out but were still laying on the floor. More disturbingly I missed some of my toiletries and Madrid city maps that I wanted to keep. Fortunately I had put my cash and travel documents in the locked safe - what if I had not?!

I complained about that during the check-out process. But the receptionist just smiled and shrugged away. I guess this might be a common occurence. However, as I am willing to pay extra for a Premium room, I also expect to be treated accordingly.
This poor late check-out experience cast a shadow on an overall good stay in Madrid.

All in all I can recommend this hotel for its unbeatable central location. However remember to always lock your valuables in the safe as the "Do not disturb" sign does not prevent anybody from entering your room.

Room Tip: Do not be misled by the hotel website: some Premium rooms do not have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Barrio de Salamanca
Gran Melia Fenix
Gran Melia Fenix
#37 of 437 in Madrid
2,180 reviews
Arguelles
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
Barcelo Torre de Madrid
#6 of 437 in Madrid
278 reviews
Chamberi
InterContinental Madrid
InterContinental Madrid
#36 of 437 in Madrid
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#112 of 437 in Madrid
2,158 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#38 of 437 in Madrid
1,803 reviews
Huertas
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madrid Princesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madrid Princesa

Address: Calle Princesa 27, 28008 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Arguelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Madrid
#52 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#59 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#68 Family Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $185 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madrid Princesa 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008 and located just steps away from Madrid main square Plaza de España, this modern Hotel offers spectacular views of the Royal Palace and Casa de Campo. Perfectly situated within walking distance of Gran Via, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and Madrid's main museums (Prado, Thyssen,...). In addition, a Metro stop can be found right at the entrance of the hotel allowing convenient travel to the airport or Madrid's main local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Madrid Princesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madrid Princesa Hotel Madrid
Sol Melia Madrid Princesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing