We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels with polite staff, location is a -” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Castilla
Ranked #55 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels with polite staff, location is a -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful main lobby and rooms, super nice staff. Even as a business hotel, its location isn't excellent but metro stations are close. The choice of foods in the restaurant is however quite average. Free wifi in lobby and rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Melia C, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Mr. Beeci,

It is a pleasure for us to hear your kind comments about our facilities and staff. For your next visit, we would recommend you to ask to our Maître in whatever you may need in our 3 restaurants, we will do our best to reach your desires.

We are very proud to see that our new free wi-fi is being an authentic success.

We are looking to see you in your next visit to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    888
    243
    63
    35
See reviews for
518
529
126
1,226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

I have just completed a 3 night stay and found this hotel to be excellent. It is geared towards business and conventions but is big enough to cater for these without presenting problems for the leisure traveller. The location is to the north of Madrid although the metro stop is a couple of min away and will get you to the centre of things in about 10min. The staff were all very helpful and spoke some english (better than my spanish!) and the rooms were large, clean with irons and adjustable aircon. The latter may be a little noisey for some but I had no issues sleeping with it on. The Wifi was fee but you just need to log in through the payment site with room number and name; then you are told it is free. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. I booked through Melia.com and got 15 Euro per day credit for one of the restaurants and the bar. The negatives are very minor, check in seemed to take a long time for no real reason that I could notice and Housekeeping occasionally missed a couple of things in the room like refilling the toilet roll. The decor may not be to everbodys tastes but it makes a change from the standard chain hotel styles. It also has a nice pool area. I paid 85 Euro per night inc breakfast which was excellent value.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicholas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Melia C, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to see that you could enjoy one of our summer promotions and your stay was an absolute success.

We are expecting you to come again to show you our new facilities.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012. Very large hotel with a swimming pool, near the stadium Bernabeu. Hotel is located 3 minutes by foot from the next metro station, which brings you directly into the "old city" within 15/20 minutes and around 35 minutes to the airport. The room was clean, quiet, very nice and large. The breakfast was excellent. You get everything what you need (e.g. omelets, prosecco, smoked salmon, fresh squeezzed orange juice etc). Hotel has a 24 hours business center. The lobby is very large with a lot of sitting availabilities. Reception is very friendly and efficient. We could check in at 11.30 AM and check out at 4 pm without any additional charges. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swisstraveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Melia C, Adjunto a Dirección at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank your time and your kind comments about our staff.

We are a huge hotel, for this reason, it is easier for us to offer a free early check in and a free late check out when the availability allows. We have realized that our location and all our facilities (breakfast, business centre…) had been of your like and you really enjoyed your visit.

Thank you again and we are looking to welcoming your again in Melia Castilla hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here August 20th to 27th 2012.
I cannot sing its praises enough. The staff were wonderful.

Very large hotel in a business district. Do not be put off at all by the hotel’s location. In my view it is ideally placed for whatever you may wish to do. 35 Euro taxi from airport. 14 minutes. (you could take the metro for 3 Euro. 300 metre walk to hotel from nearest Metro station – Cuzco, or 600 metre walk from Plaza de Castilla) We did consider getting to the hotel by metro from the airport but are relieved we did not have to lug suit cases in the sweltering heat.

The lobby is large and spotlessly clean. The hotel is not a ‘boutique’ or flash modern but not by any means dull. It is lovely.

My wife and I arrived mid morning and were greeted by three staff at reception who immediately made us feel welcome. All their English was far better than my very poor Spanish. Check in was friendly, fast and efficient.

There are plenty of lifts and we were soon in a delightful room on the 12th floor (aim for higher rooms at the back where there is a view of the pool area) but the room had twin beds. I phoned reception and asked for a double bedded room. They invited us to use the room we were in whilst they prepared another room but we chose instead not to mess up the room and went to check out the pool area/bar instead and await a new room.
This is like a little oasis with a bar area, two seating areas, pool loungers on the grass, plenty of towels. There are toilets and showers down there too. The pool opens at 12noon. The water is not heated. It is wonderful but chill.
Food at this bar seemed a little pricey as did most drinks but a bottle of wine was about 12 Euro. It seems the staff at the pool bar is contracted in (life guard insurance, that kind of thing). On our first morning there we met Thessa (sic), the young bartender/pool guy. He served us the first five days of our holiday at the pool and was an absolute credit to the hotel. His English was good enough to help us in anything we wanted. He went out of his way with everything we needed (for example, I needed a specific cable for my phone – he researched it, found the location of a store where I could buy it and showed me directions on his phone). I am sure that reception staff or concierge would have helped in the same way but as we drank wine by the pool in the afternoon it was nice to form a friendship of sorts in this relaxed way.
Thessa talked to reception and let us know our double room was ready and two staff members also came down to inform us of our new room on the 11th floor.

The bed was massive! The room was very well appointed. The furniture was substantial. The spacious ensuite was separate and in very good order. Within the ensuite the WC and bidet were also separated by yet another door.

The room had a stocked mini bar at silly prices which we did not use. However it had one shelf dedicated to guest use. It would hold a bottle of wine and two bottles of water and a two cans of coke and/ or beer at a push. Our friend/staff at the pool made a phone call and an ice bucket was delivered to our room. I found ice available on the 15th floor (staying on 15th floor costs more and has benefits like a complete and free self serve bar and some food available all day. Eat and drink as much as you like. We were offered this as a paid upgrade on check in for extra 60 Euro/night. I had to think hard before I refused. You could certainly get your monies worth of booze and food but it could keep you in the hotel too much if you are that way inclined (tight).

Our first night we did not want to travel far for dinner and walked outside without knowing where we were going but intending to stay as local as possible. Five metres to the left of the front entrance is the Saigon restaurant. We thought it naff to eat Vietnamese on our first night in Madrid but we were tired and went in anyway. We discovered that Saigon is actually part of the hotel. It was 8pm. The restaurant was empty (This is a theme in Madrid. 8pm is early for dinner. If you don’t want hustle and bustle and are happy with your own company you will always find a table in Madrid at 8pm) No other customers entered the restaurant whilst we were there.
We chose a welcome menu at 18.50 Euro. IT WAS FANTASTIC. With a selection of starters then a chicken broth that was bursting with flavour. We had two main courses with sea bass and duck. We tried to sample as much varied food in Madrid as possible but this meal was one of the best I have had in a long time.

The hotel has a ‘pillow menu’ This is a selection of pillows of varying lengths and softness on the bed to choose from. Very good.

Breakfast is a treat as many people mention on trip advisor with a huge and varied selection of items. At the back of the dining room is a hatch where you can order omelettes or fried eggs. Here you can get churro’s also. We ate breakfast late 10am – 10.30am and it served as a hearty brunch.
Special mention to the restaurant manager. Every morning I watched him taking care of the minutest of detail. Before a customer could ask for something he was there taking care of it. A real professional.

Saturday 25th August was our wedding anniversary and I discussed with the restaurant manager about having dinner at the hotel. He was very kind and helpful, organised a laid out table with decorations. Staff were prepared and waiting for us. A total of five staff (ok, they weren’t very busy) ensured we had everything we needed, gave us congratulations and even presented a dessert with candle.

Earlier in the day, with a card from the General Manager, a bottle of fizz on ice and a box of chocolates compliments of the hotel were placed in our room as we swam in the pool.

The fact that we had things to celebrate during our stay put us in the mood for some good times. The fact that the hotel staff went out of their way to please us leaves us hugely grateful.

Only two things that concerned me the whole week.
The weekend pool attendant/barman was gruff and untidy. But perhaps we had been spoiled with the immaculate service of Thessa all week.
Two draught beers at a satellite bar just inside the foyer was 12 Euro. (This seemed mainly used by airline staff) Unless you are on expenses avoid.

Melia Castilla. One of the nicest breaks we have had. So much so that I intend to write to the management and pointedly mention their professional staff.

Room Tip: Higher rooms for view. Back of hotel to overlook pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Melia C, Assistant Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for such a positive feedback that make us very happy.

We highly appreciate the time dedicated in sharing your experience with other travelers and it is good to know we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are also pleased to know that you appreciated our facilities as much as our service.

On behalf of our entire staff, please receive a big thank you for your kind comments. We´ll make sure to share your kind words with our staff.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel in July 2012, with my wife for a conference, and we regret it. The worst 4 nigths in Madrid in all my life! The staff is rudeness. From this Hotel location, Madrid's museums and evening-terraza fun are completely inaccessible without involving a 20 min. ride on the Metro subway, or 20 euros taxi ride.
In this street, by the hotel door from 8 pm to 7 am you have a free experience: they have a lot of prostitutes (bad ones!). No one saw this?
The rooms are not isolated, and you can hear your neighbor having sex or the baby crying easily.
In the check out, the payment its ok. I paid the four nigths booked by booking.com and some beverages. Two weeks later i saw that they charged my card with two more transactions: one from 50 EUR, and another transaction 108 EUROS. I request an explanation by e-mail for those debits, and they dont respond to my e-mails. I send a request to VISA to cancel those non autorized operations and they told me thats frequent in this hotel (!?!?!?!). Beware, the are thiefs!
This is a three stars hotel for a price of a five. Look another hotel (there are a lots in Madrid) but never stay here... NEVER!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conneceur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCastilla, Assistant Hotel Manager at Melia Castilla, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you the time dedicated in allow coming to us your observations and for your collaboration, since our intention is always improving.

According to your comments we would like to confirm you that we have checked our records and we had no notice about any incident similar to you mention. For your next visit, we would recommend you to ask for help to our front desk staff if you needed anything during your stay, they are 24 hours available .

Secondly, we would like to inform you that our hotel is located in just 10 minutes from the area museum by public transport, connected with several bus stops and a taxi stop in front of the hotel. We have to confirm you that it is usual to get to that area for only 10 € by taxi, but it depends on traffic.

If you did not feel safe during your stay, we apologize about that, however we are very proud of the security team of the Meliá Castilla Hotel, as it is a very qualified staff, trained in order to guarantee the safety of all our Guests and this is something that is not usual to have in other hotels in the city.

We have checked several times all our e-mail accounts but we have nothing pending to answer. Please if your issue is not solved yet, please contact with out accounting department by this e-mail address: info@hotelmeliacastilla.com, and we will solve it as soon as possible.
Nevertheless, I request you accept our more sincere excuses if we have not managed to reach your expectations as for the quality of our service in this occasion.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Cuzco
#164 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Arguelles
Melia Madrid Princesa
Melia Madrid Princesa
#66 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Barrio de Salamanca
NH Collection Madrid Colon
Eurostars Madrid Tower
#82 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Castilla

Property: Melia Castilla
Address: Calle Capitan Haya 43, 28020 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madrid
#19 Business Hotel in Madrid
#29 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#42 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $147 - $402
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Castilla 4*
Number of rooms: 915
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Castilla is considered one of the most emblematic hotels in Madrid, with an appealing blend of perfectly balanced classic and contemporary styles, where peace and urban life are accomplices to delight our guests.The excellent location, a few minutes from Paseo de la Castellana, 15 minutes from Barajas airport and IFEMA exhibition centre, near Chamartin train station and the Real Madrid Santiago Bernabeu football stadium, makes the Melia Castilla the perfect choice for your visit to Madrid. Complimentary WIFI and 24-hour Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Melia Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Castilla Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Madrid
Melia Hotel Castilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing