We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
metzadventure
Brisbane, Australia

Excellent breakfast

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Apr 2017via mobile
We stayed to two nights.
Location is great! Very close to Prado museum and Hop on Hop off bus stops, as well as tourist information booth.

Reception spoke good English and were helpful.

Breakfast buffet has a fantastic spread of meats, cheese, breads, cereal, spreads, eggs boiled & scrambled and omelettes made to order.

Rooms were clean and tidy.

The two lifts are on the small side but they are adequate for two persons + luggage.

Would stay again.
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this review
Responded 29 Apr 2017
Dear metzadventure,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here in Madrid and that you felt well assisted by our team. I will share your comment with all the departments which I am sure will encourage them to keep offering the best possible service.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$95
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
5.9 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Standard room
AU$175
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • NH Hotels
9.4 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$581
Fully refundable
  • Only YOU Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$404
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$225
  • Expedia.com
    AU$245
0.6 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Preferred Hotels
    AU$163
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
5.1 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Algotels
6.4 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$264
  • Official Site
10.7 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Pool
Colazione
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$103
  • Algotels
9.1 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
Exterior
  • Algotels
  • ibis Budget
    AU$100
  • Priceline
6.4 km from Mercure Madrid Centro
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Madrid
Reviews (1,294)
Filter reviews
1,294 results
Traveller rating
429
531
215
84
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
429
531
215
84
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prado museum great location reina sofia within walking distance side street front desk staff business trip rooms are small bars and restaurants accor atocha corridor euros palace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 1,294 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Not the best Mercure hotel I have stayed in that's for sure!

The hotel is well situated and close to the centre and major train station.

Inside the hotel, the room was small and the bathrooms are in a desperate state and in need of modernisation. The walls of the rooms are very thin and you can clearly hear conversations, curtains begin opened & closed and housekeeping maids in adjacent rooms.

Reception - we had to ask 4 times for new toilet roll which was quite annoying.

Breakfast was not good. Expensive for continental and choice of cereal, fruit yogurt was limited. Also I must mention... my pet hate... WARM MILK!

All in all... my experience was not the best.. needs to take some notes from Mercure a such as Amsterdam and Tilburg. In the Accor scale I would suggest that is more of an Ibis and it is definitely not a 4* hotel.

Wouldn't stay again but also would say you need to avoid.. just don't expect much!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DanMRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Dan M,

Thank you for your review after staying at Mercure Madrid Centro.

First of all, I am glad to read that you enjoyed our central location. I am disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The common areas of the hotel have recently been refurbished and there are plans for refurbishing the guestrooms in the near future. I would like to apologize as well for the challenges that you experienced with Reception and at breakfast. As you can see on other reviews this is not a usual situation and I will share your comments with the concerned departments to avoid any recurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We stayed at this Hotel during New Year's Eve 2015/2016. The price for the room was alright. We had a deluxe room, that included the free use of the minibar. It was stocked every day with water, soft drinks and juice.
The room was clean although the bathroom sink was clogged. We told this at the reception and when we came back to our room the problem was solved.
Breakfast buffet was very nice and available almost till noon.
At New Year's Eve we received a complimentary bottle of cava and uvas (grapes). The latter are traditionally eaten one at every stroke at midnight.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DAV1D_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear DAV1D_C

We really appreciate your comments in regards to your past stay with us!

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time here last year,

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

The location of this hotel is fantastic, so that is a big plus. It's close to the main train station (Atocha) and many of Madrid's great museums. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room itself was ok, but the walls are super thin and you could hear everything from adjacent rooms and even the room above. No space to work (a small rolling table that was not very comfortable) and one of the outlets did not work.

If you're in Madrid for sight-seeing and will be out and about most of the day, then this hotel is probably fine due to its very convenient location; just don't have high expectations.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tavg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear tavg,

We really appreciate your sharing your experience at Mercure Madrid Centro.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay, our great location and the service provided by our team. For a future stay, should you consider that your room is not quiet enough, please do contact us at Reception so that we can offer you a solution. I will take note of all your feedback, which is very valuable to us as it helps us to improve everyday.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

This is a lovely hotel and it couldn't be more ideally placed. It's five minutes from the Prado and Thyssen museums and in easy walking distance from the other city centre attractions such as the Plaza Mayor (20 min walk) and the Royal Palace (half an hour walk max). Staff were great and very helpful. Room a bit on the basic side but comfortable and good-sized and the bathroom was great, with excellent shower and nice toiletries. Breakfast was excellent, with choice of cold cuts, fruit, bread and pastries of all description. The only down side was the sound proofing which was poor - in fact, really poor. You could hear curtains being drawn and you'd swear they were being done in your own room. Fix the sound proofing issue and it'd be five stars for sure!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colins314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Colin S,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at Mercure Madrid Centro!

We really appreciate your comments, specially your lovely word about our team. I will pass them on to my colleagues who I am sure will be very thankful. It is a pleasure to know that you had a nice stay and that you were comfortable in your guestroom. In regards to the soundproofing and for a future stay, should you consider that your room is not quiet enough, please contact Reception so that we can assist you with a solution.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Madrid!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

The Mercure Madrid Centro was a welcome relief after a bad experience trying to find a bargain in Madrid. Very convenient to Madrid's museums (practically across the street from the Prado), this hotel provides just what one would expect of a mid-level chain hotel at a reasonable price. The staff were all friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room was a reasonable size with a comfortable queen-size bed, a good-sized bathroom with modern fixtures, and a reasonable assortment of toiletries. We found it comfortable except that the air-conditioning was not yet on for the season, so in late March we needed to keep the window open and the fan running constantly to counteract the heat from the hallway. The walls seemed a bit thin, but our neighbors were not loud, and it was the birds' singing that woke us in the morning. The breakfast was included in our room rate, and was ample, with a wide variety of hot and cold options, though I would have found it hard to eat enough to justify the price if it were not included with the room. All in all we were very happy to have found this hotel and would likely stay there again if we go back.

Room tip: Rooms in the back overlook a courtyard and outside noise is minimal.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MercureMadridCentro, Front Office Manager at Mercure Madrid Centro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear MJT_05408,

Thank you so much for your great review of your stay with us!

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and specially that our team gave you a good service! Our Reception team is very knowledgeable about Madrid and all what it has to offer and we are always available to answer any doubts or give you advice on your travels. As you said, we had some extremely hot days in March for that time of the year, but our AC system is now all set and working for the summer season. I am taking note of your opinion about breakfast as we constantly review our offer to adjust to our guests´ taste. We have recently added the option of food made to order at breakfast so that you can choose your favorite style of eggs or omelettes each day.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Clara García-Jiménez
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews