We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Architecture, Poor Services”
Review of Hotel Atlantico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico
Ranked #22 of 437 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2012

When looking at this hotel, don't be overly charmed over the beautiful architecture. Inside the hotel has a cumbersome plan and very little services. The breakfast is meager but the terrace bar is excellent. Don't be fooled by the hotel's No. 1 status on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitaceae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding the services we offered during your stay and for the breakfast. We have a buffet style breakfast with hot and cold meals (different types of eggs, sausages, bacon, cheese, cured ham, ham, turkey, cakes -croissants, muffins, cream and chocolate cakes, special season cakes (panetone, ring-shapped cake, turrón, chocolates and a lot of more besides- jam, honey, yogurts, different types of bread, fruits, vegetables, coffee, juices and also cava). We have also included a diet corner with different kinds of juices, integral cakes and cookies and all is sugar free. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,728 of 3,444 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

we have booked this one, although I don't like Best Western hotels too much. Luckily we did go for this one! First of all, the location is fantastic, you are close to many places to see and if you're not into walking, metro and buses are close by too.
the room we had offered an amazingly big bathroom and a nice shower - which is kind of important to me. The regulation of the room temperature was a bit tricky, but we didn't ask someone for advice (to be fair).
The breakfast buffet is really worth trying for 9€. If I remember right, it would have been much more expensive when booking as an adder to the room. So we didn't. They offer also a transfer bus to the airport. From the airport is free of charge, to the airport is 8€, very reasonable, I think. We can only recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fletscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Business trip to Madrid for 10 days.
Decided to stay at the Atlantico again as location is really good.
Check-in was quick and fairly friendly. Initially given one of their single bed rooms, a horrible cupboard-like space with a bed so small it looked like something that belonged in a doll's house. Decor was dated and headache-inducing and windows were covered up to hide the non-existent view. Not a problem for a short stay but did not fancy spending my whole trip in that grim, shady hole. After a request to reception, was eventually moved to a larger room a day later. This room was far better although personally, not a big fan of flower patterned bedding with matching curtains and seat covers, very rosy and twee, my Nan would love it but like her, chintz passed on in the 90's.
Everything else was the same as my previous stay, with a mini bar, good cupboard space, safe, large iron, air con and an ok bathroom. Limited TV channels with mostly pay per view options (bit pricey). Free wi-fi was provided and the signal proved to be reliable all week.
Was fairly busy with tourists so lots of door banging, shouting and laughing all hours to ensure a restless sleep.
Breakfast buffet was ok, but as there was no room service menu, dined out most nights or bought sandwiches locally to scoff in room.
Most of the staff were friendly and helpful although after first day never had the need to contact them again.
Would probably not stay there again, it's a good tourist hotel but not really suited to business visitors. Those single bed rooms are awful, so tiny and depressing and I saw several travellers desperately pleading with reception to be moved. Anyway, next trip I'll stay somewhere else with better facilities but as said, for short stay tourists just needing a base, it's ok.

Room Tip: Beware of those horrible single rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Multi-Plug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear sir, madame.

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback on your recent stay at Hotel Atlántico.

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay regarding the accommodation and we appreciate very much your understanding that unexpected inconveniences can sometimes occur and we hope that our staff was able to properly manage the situation.
I apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding the size of your room, but all our rooms comply with the regulation of the General Tourism Office in Madrid and in this case with the size established by laws. Just for your information, please note our hotel also offers Deluxe rooms, bigger than the Standard rooms, and Doubles for single use. We have many different types of rooms and the size depends of the room booked in your reservation.Thank you very much for all your suggestions, helping us to constantly increasing our standards.

We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and remain at your disposal for any further assistance you might need.

We wish your the best for next year 2012.

Warmest regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The hotel is beautiful, it's very clean and the staff is friendly. Location is fantastic, very central and on walking distance to the metro. I enjoyed the rooms as they are spacious and comfortable, the beds are great and so are the pillows. I've read/ heard a few people complain about a little noise from the streets, but you're in central Madrid, that's something expected. When I booked our rooms we booked them with the breakfast option. I suggest you do the same. A hotel of great value. I'll surely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcrusher81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Sirs,
Thank You for choosing Hotel Atlántico and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your stay.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.

Happy New Year 2012!

With best regards
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Stayed here during the week before Christmas _ great stay, couldn't have wished for much more from a city centre hotel.
The room was large (an up-grade) and surprisingly quiet. The hotel staff were consistently friendly & helpful. Nice breakfast overlooking the Gran Via (who needs TV for entertainment) - the bar and roof terrace were a bonus.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel as a 1st class location for a city break.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandKatie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtlanticoMadrid, Assistant Director at Hotel Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Your compliments of the Hotel Atlántico are greatly appreciated.

We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest. It is nice to know when this succeeded.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to your return, maybe for next Christmas too.

Happy New Year 2012!

Kind regards,
Eva García

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#21 of 437 in Madrid
3,912 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#9 of 437 in Madrid
1,548 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#16 of 437 in Madrid
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Centro
IBEROSTAR Las Letras Gran Via
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 437 in Madrid
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico

Address: Gran Via 38, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#7 Family Hotel in Madrid
#17 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#46 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $171 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Atlantico offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. The hotel has 2 terraces with panoramic views of the city. Rooms are soundproofed and feature a classic decor. Each one has flat-screen satellite TV, a safe, minibar, ironing facilities and a private bathroom. Atlantico Hotel has an elegant cafe-bar and a daily buffet breakfast. In the area you will find a wide range of shops and dining options. Chueca District is 500 metres away and has a lively nightlife. Staff at the 24-hour reception can offer tourist information, and luggage storage is available. A free transfer to the hotel from Madrid’s Barajas Airport is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel
Hotel Atlantico Madrid Centro
Hotel Atlantico Gran Via Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing