We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location not so good hotel”
Review of HOTEL OPERA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HOTEL OPERA
Ranked #131 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location not so good hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is not really a 4 star hotel, let´s say it´s a good 3 star one. The location is excelente in Madrid´s center but the rooms are small, the bathroom does nor have a bidet and the service is slow. I will not stay there again. For the same price there are better options. Did not try the restaurant but the decor is impersonal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    460
    164
    49
    29
See reviews for
228
498
68
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I stayed at Hotel Opera based on a review by Rick Steves. I was more than happy with the selection.

The rooms were nice. The staff was an incredible help to us despite our language barrier. The location was within walking distance of everything (might be long to the park and museums for some).

The airline lost our luggage for two days and the owners and staff at Opera were extremely helpful in us getting it back. Due to my lack of Spanish, they made several calls on our behalf.

Would definitely stay there again in Madrid.

Room Tip: Talk to the owners/workers. They are extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RovingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a total of 6 days in July- 3 days at the beginning of our 2 week trip and 3 days at the end of our vacation. We were immediately made to feel comfortable here. The front desk welcomed us to a clean and modern room right in the middle of Madrid. Hotel Opera is a nice place to stay if you want to walk around Madrid or be the subway which was a block away. Bathrooms were modern, with good showers. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, appealing to me with my vegetarian tastes and to my daughter with her more American breakfast preferences. They never got the coffee quite right but the rest of the buffet more than made up for it. For an extra delicious treat, walk up to the Mercado de Miguel. It is "tapas on demand," all day up there. When we came back to Madrid and The Hotel Opera at the end of the trip, we were welcomed back as old friends. Our new room was equally nice, the coffee still off and the breakfast still tasty and plentiful. I would recommend this hotel and for sure we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are quieter than on the Plaza side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chsb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed for two nights at this hotel in May. It was close to Palazo Real and the Sabatini gardens and Plaza Mayor which were the only 3 sights I wanted to see again, having been to Madrid earlier some years ago. The reception staff were very courteous, recommending a fabulous place to eat dinner for which I was really grateful...Madrid has a lot of expensive disappointing restaurants but not Il Bodegon! Breakfast was good...I am amazed by the number of sweet croissants the spanish eat! The room and bathroom were both upto scratch though our beds were small by any standards. For the price, which was reasonable, the hotel passed in all respects .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We had a four night stay with another couple. The hotel is clean and the rooms comfortable although they are quite small. Our bathroom was modern and clean with lots of giveaways. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection of cereal, pastries, cheese etc and some cooked food. I thought the coffee was okay. The best thing is the location. It's a few minutes walk from the Puerto Del Sol and next door to Plaza Oriente. Gin lovers will appreciate choosing from the encyclopaedic collection available in the bar downstairs.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 510peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Intur Palacio San Martin
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#20 of 435 in Madrid
3,788 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Posada del Peine
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#57 of 435 in Madrid
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL OPERA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL OPERA

Property: HOTEL OPERA
Address: Cuesta Santo Domingo 2, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Madrid
#90 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
#92 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price range (per night): $102 - $522
Hotel Class:4 star — HOTEL OPERA 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to be YOUR HOME in Madrid.We have created new and different rooms which are warm and homey. Our staff are pleasant and friendly with a willingness to help you.From our unique location in the best district of the city centre of Madrid, you can stroll through the streets, admire the buildings, squares, small corners and gardens of our attractive and vibrant city which invites you walk around it.We are your home in the heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HOTEL OPERA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Opera Hotel Madrid
Opera Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing