We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,246)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveller rating
869
822
342
140
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
822
342
140
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wisteria terrace steep hill iconic hotel botanical gardens cable car colonial feel art deco lovely hotel fourth floor pool area is public areas reception staff balcony door view from the balcony town centre lounge bar fantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2018

From our welcoming check-in experience with Maria to our afternoon tea served by Marco and Dunia while overlooking the Spanish coast, we enjoyed our stay at The Rock Hotel. Maria set us up with Johnny, a tour guide, who took us on a tour of the Rock. The hotel has a pool but the weather wasn't warm enough for us to want to swim. The balcony in our junior suite was HUGE, but undecorated. The hotel would look more picturesque with a plant on each balcony. Location was great for a tour or the cable car to the top of the Rock, as well as the botanical gardens and wildlife park. The walk to Ocean Village was a bit too far, but taxis are cheap for such a short ride.
Entertainment tip: Friday nights are quite fun in Ocean Village, but everyone goes to pain on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Make sure you face the water. The back of the hotel faces the cliff.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank justin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear justin464,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments further to your recent stay at the Rock Hotel.

I was truly pleased to hear how highly you rate The Rock Hotel and how much you enjoyed your stay with us. This makes us proud and drives us to work even harder for our guests' satisfaction.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel stay was ok but the service in the bar (part of restaurant) was extremely bad. We waited 30 minutes just to order even though the bar/restaurant was more or less half empty. Once we ordered it took another 20 minutes to get the more or less alcohol free drinks (=very weak). And when we requested the bill we where more or less neglected... another 15 minutes when by before we just left the premises...

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear

Thank you for providing such a frank feedback following you recent visit to The Rock Hotel.

Your comments are invaluable to us as constructive criticism such as yours helps us take corrective action where required. I can assure that we are very intent in providing the best possible experience in terms of service and standards to each guest.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity in future.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This is an amazing old clasy hotel. The hotel,saltwater Pool, restaurant and staf are simply amazing. The beds however, are as hard as the rock of Gibraltar itself.
Despite the rock hard beds, I recommend everyone to enjoy a great stay at this iconic hotel

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bjarteo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear bjarteo2016,

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that our hotel team met with your expectations and delivered the Rock Hotel's signature caring and attentive service.

We have taken very constructively previous comments regarding the beds' apparent hardness and do provide good quality mattress toppers available on request at reception for guests that prefer a softer base.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and represents our best reward and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

I thought it was a nice hotel. I enjoyed it. The food in the restaurant was good. The room was spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. The best part was the view from the room. In the evening I could see the moon and stars, and lights on the harbor. In the early morning birds were flying at the level of the window, since the hotel is quite high. I did not like Gibraltar that much but the hotel was nice.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieJewels4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear JulieJewels4444,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback and recommendation.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us that all our team helped to make this a memorable and highly satisfactory occasion..

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back to The Rock Hotel soon.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We have stayed at The Rock many times and we always have a lovely time, the service in the bar and restaurant is a little slow but somehow adds to the charm of the place. The pool was a nice temperature and not too crowded midweek, although again lunch service was slow, we were happy as we were on holiday and in no rush.

Room Tip: Suites over the entrance have huge terraces ideal for Summer
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coddy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlesDanino, General Manager at Rock Hotel Gibraltar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear coddy2018,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your kind review following your stay at The Rock Hotel.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am most grateful for granting us such a high consideration.

May I take this opportunity in thanking you for choosing The Rock Hotel and we look forward to having the pleasure of warmly welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Charles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews