We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,043 results
Traveller rating
578
842
396
164
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
578
842
396
164
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantveranda barmain streettop floorcentral locationsun terracecable carcentre of townsmall balconyreception staffthe air conditioninghotel barshort breakfull englishbreakfast roomcasemates squaretop of the rock
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,043 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2018

This was our third stay at the Eliot, the hotel is in a fantastic position for everything.
The renovations are taking time but when they are finished it will be great especially when the roof top restaurant opens up.
The room has been refurbished to a good standard our first room the AC didn't work so we changed to a room down the hall this AC unit did work but not that well. If this was my hotel I would get the installers back to recommission.
The roof top pool was great we love it up there and the depth of the pool was great for my 5 year old son who has just learnt to swim.

There are a few things that need to be worked on to make this 5 star
Finish the renovation
Make sure everything works in the room before customers stay
A few of the staff need to smile

The only issue I have is breakfast but this is easily fixable as well
Staff need to be more attentive I had to ask for coffee a few times, plus one day the toaster burnt the toast and when asked if it could be adjusted we had a blank look and the manager just said it has its good days and bad. Some of the staff who have been their for years looked a bit lost and the manager didn't seam to get involved maybe the renovations are getting to them.
This may sound funny but the bacon tasted too piggy and needed a bit more colour and the scrambled eggs were strange.
Positives are the sausages they are fantastic and when asked the poached eggs are good and come out quickly.

As mentioned these things are easily fixed, but it is great place to stay for a trip to Gibraltar.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Leigh H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We are almost finished our refurbishment and we have had a few teething problems, which we are now correcting.
Our rooftop restaurant will be opening very soon.
Thank you for all your feedback which I will discuss with the team here.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Several inconsistencies with food this year.

1. Portion sizes. One chef gives half a baked potato, another gave full baked potato.

2. Garlic butter arrived on baked potato from kitchen. Butter should be put on the side as person who ordered the potato does not eat butter of any kind.

3. Charred chorizo, one chef gives 4 sausages, another gives 5 sausages.

4. Burger arrived with bbq sauce on after it was asked for it not to be put on burger but on the side.

5. Burger advertised with cheddar cheese but arrived with emmantel cheese. Customer should have been told this by staff as the person concerned does not like emmantal.

Could these issues be addressed?

On a positive note, staff are friendly and pleasant at the Veranda Terrace bar

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Fiona,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I do apologise for the inconsistencies of our BBQ menu, I will discuss in detail with our chef.
Thank you for your feedback, which I really do appreciate as it gives me the opportunity to correct our mistakes.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.


With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

This is the third time I have stayed at o Callaghan hotel.i booked 5 rooms for family and friends through booking.com. The hotel is currently being refurbished, the rooms we all stayed in have been refurbished to a high standard. The hotel still has scaffolding up but this did not spoil our view on to the rock. The facilities in the room are very good. There is tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, huge TV and safe. We loved the new look.

The usual breakfast area on the roof is still under refurbishment along with the pool area, however, we did use the pool which was nice and much needed in the heat. We ate breakfast in the bar area. The food was very good, with great choice. The staff were attentive and polite. We found the staf& to be very helpful a5 all t8mes, polite and friendly.

There were 13 in our party. We all agreed the location is ideal and would book here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank 946suet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Greta hotel , newly decorated stylish rooms. Nice swimming pool. Sadly roof top restaurant was not open yet. Good quality dinner. Convenient location approximately 30min + walk from the border. Very helpful and informarive receptionist Kat. Would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kasiafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Kasiafr,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our rooftop restaurant will be opening very soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

This is the third time we’ve stayed at this hotel within 16 months and we are impressed by the changes. Although the bistro on the top floor is still having work done to it when completed should look amazing. There is still scaffolding on the outside of the building and the noise from the workmen is minimal between 9am and 6pm. We went out for most of the day everyday we were there so we had no problem with it. The staff as always were friendly and helpful and always go above and beyond. The pool was a lovely way to cool off after a busy day touring Gib . New rooms really nice

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank LoveGibraltar2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary K, General Manager at O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear LoveGibraltar2017,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are almost complete on our bedroom refurbishment and our rooftop restaurant will be opening soon.
Thank you for your support during our works, which we really do appreciate.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
With kind regards,
Mary Kinch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews