We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment, very clean, well equipped and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kings Wharf

View from Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Terrace
Sunny Terrace Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View from Terrace
Sunny Terrace
Terrace
Dining area
Living room
Another view of the Living-room on to the Terrace
Main bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Kitchen
Terrace
Swimming pool
Pool Area
Gym
Private Gardens
Terrace at night
Night view to Harbour
The Rock from the sea
View of Kings Wharf from the sea
The gardens
Sunset over the Straights
View of Africa from the Terrace, you can almost touch the other Pillar of Hercules
Amazing Sunset view from the Terrace
Another glorious sunset over Africa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gibraltar

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AndyC4132
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment let down by holiday lettings agent”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week between 26th August and 2nd September. The apartment itself was great , equipped to a high to a high standard throughout and ideally placed for easy access to the main shopping area's. There is building work going on nearby which we were not aware of but in fairness Gibraltar is a rapidly developing area and this is to be expected. This in no way detracted from our stay.
However, when it comes to dealing with Holiday Lettings booking agents things are not so straightforward.
The site makes dear that if the holiday is booked after 18th June 2014 the responsibility lies with the booking agent to refund the security deposit within ten days.
This wasn't forthcoming and when we chased this up to say they are incompetent is an understatement. They claim the responsibility lies with the owner, despite their own email sent a few minutes before starting to the contrary. To cut a long story short the whole debacle doesn't inspire confidence and Trip Advisor, who own holiday lettings are refusing to refund the deposit.
All in all a great apartment let down by poor agents. I'm sure at some point we'll get our deposit back but I'm not happy at having to chase the as like most people, my time is precious. The owner may wish to reconsider their choice of agent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
We have contacted TripAdvisor repeatedly about this and their responses are always contradictory and not clear at all. They said the deposit would be returned the same way it was paid i.e. by Pay Pal. Your deposit has now been refunded in full if you get a duplicate refunds from TripAdvisor please advise us. Due to issues we have had this year with guests not being honest with us about occupancy and children sadly we won't be letting the property out again. I am really sorry for the problems you have had with the deposit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Case of the Disappearing Deposit”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our first experience renting a property, following this stay unlikely to try it again.

From the start our stay was stressful – arriving to the ‘Welcome’ letter which was anything but, full of warnings about ways in which we could lose our deposit.

Few surfaces are clear of warning notes meaning we were on edge throughout the holiday, keen to avoid any accidents. Having received terse communication from the owner on our arrival about our child, we felt like we had to follow him around to make sure he didn’t put sticky fingers down anywhere – so not very restful.

Positive points:
• Gorgeous pool (although it’s aspect means the water is freezing until after 3pm)
• Location good for Main Street and Queensway Quay (rather exclusive and expensive restaurants)
• Well stocked (albeit cluttered)

Negatives:
• Sewage smell by the lifts and outside the block
• Builders working on next door block all day Monday to Saturday (directly overlooking the swimming pool)
• Children NOT welcomed (this is iterated but should be blanket yes or no)
• Owner’s communications were abrupt and, on occasion, rude – written communications from Gibraltar rentals were unprofessional. (You have to worry when you see “Just to update you on the situation so you can keep some of the deposit” on a communication between the rental company and the owner…)
• Did not receive full deposit back, owner decided to keep back an arbitrary amount far exceeding any charges that should have been made.

Our experience –
1. During booking, an email from the owner queried the age of the two children. Following email communications owner agreed that, on this occasion, she would allow the 4 and 17 year olds.
2. Two weeks later, owner requested the completion of the booking form for the purposes of the gym. I put the names of the two adults and the 17 year old figuring that the 4 year old would not use the gym.
3. On day of arrival, we received an email from the owner admonishing me for bringing a child that she didn’t know anything about (used gym booking form for details, not original booking) – after reminding her of our communications her response was to tersely request particular care from the child.
4. Mid stay sheet and towel change fine, no comment from Gibraltar rentals.
5. Arrangements made with Gibraltar rentals to check out at 5pm (request made for 6.30 but advised this was too late).
6. Plenty of time allowed at 5pm for checkout, but after 10 minutes, Gibraltar rentals were happy for us to leave so we got a taxi to the airport (at a cost of £10).
7. Once bags checked in at airport, at 5.50, along with two voicemails, we received text advising that the keys were missing – our child had pocketed them not understanding that we would not be returning.
8. Gibraltar rentals called and offered to collect them by taxi – no indication of any charges were given.
9. On the same evening (while we were still in the airport), email received from owner expecting rather expensive charge for key confusion (£45). I responded, questioning the value of this charge. The only response back after this from the owner (with Gibraltar rental email attachments) cited ‘completely unreasonable behaviour’ and requested that I do not contact her again.
10. Following morning, a further email sent to owner from Gibraltar rentals was forwarded to us with churlish comments about dirty sheets from mid stay change and a splash on the skirting board…
11. Remaining deposit received 35 days after our return from holiday (£50 deducted) – owner attempted to return 21 days after but sent via PayPal to the wrong email address.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
I am afraid this renter was nothing but trouble from the outset and the fact is she deliberately did not tell us the truth. She was told quite clearly children were not allowed and it says so in our booking contract but without notice brought a child without permission.I then had to contact her after her arrival and she tried to make all sorts of excuses. There is a very good reason that we do not allow young children because of what they can get up to. This is our second home and furnished with much pride. It was the child who then on departure took the keys which caused over £50 of costs in taxis, phone calls and our agents time. Our rental contract says we charge a min of £20 for a call out but on this occasions our agent was running around for several hours of her time at a weekend. The renter GAVE US the wrong email address we attempted to return her deposit via Pay pal to the email address on her own booking form and she did not tell us she had not received it for many days. She really was quite discourteous both to me and our agent here.. As a result of people like her we sadly will not be renting the property out again in future. This will no doubt disappoint a lot of the people who have asked to book again. I would certainly not recommend this guest to anyone
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda531
walsall
1 review
“Lovely apartment, very clean, well equipped and well situated”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had a fantastic holiday staying at this apartment in June. We were met outside the apartment block by Leanne from Gibraltar rental who gave us information and showed us around. Walkin distance to Main Street and also Morrisons supermarket. Wonderful terrace, very large and full afternoon sun. Bus stops outside apartment block which was handy too Cannot praise this accomodation enough , go for it, you won't regret it. ..... Will we be booking again, you bet!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartment terrace
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaandy1
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful appartment”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just come back from staying in this wonderful appartment which just had everything best stay ever we highly recommend it the terrace is just fab and lovely view with use of swimming,gym and sun beds its only a 5 min walk to main street and 10 min to ocean village where you find a range of different restuarants all great value we defintly be booking appartment again love it ****

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plumber38...
Castletown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

These apartments were the best we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a few. The owner has everything you could possibly ask for. The balcony was fantastic with some lovely furniture. She must be a very trusting person, as there were drink decanters left full, for us to use as a thank you for watering the pants on the balcony.( we did water the plants but didn't have a drink). The apartment is very central for the shops ect, just a short stroll away. The booking was all done through Trip advisor it was pretty straight forward. On arrival I had to contact Sophie the manager, fortunately she was in the apartment at the time and came down to meet us. What a lovely friendly person she is, very dedicated to her work, she even phoned us mid week to check everything was ok. Would highly recommend this apartment to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing