We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
658
245
43
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
245
43
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool and jacuzzi working monastery franciscan monks old town beautiful hotel converted monastery the main square stone walls breakfast buffet the location is perfect rooms are large would highly recommend this hotel long walk very helpful staff camino walk cathedral centre
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

San Francisco Hotel Monumento is actually a convent converted partially into a hotel. The combination of an old building with modern remodeling touches, complemented by nice decor works. Nice breakfast buffet in the morning, included in our rate. Walk 100 yards to the Cathedral, and at the same time be calm and quite by night. Staff is great!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FernandoMexico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at this memorable hotel, great comfortable bed and pillows, ( particularly after finishing the Camino). A great breakfast and helpful reception desk, location is perfect, highly recommend

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PBB005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The hotel absolutely wafts character and the authenticity of its original convent purpose ( I believe it’s still owned and operated by same).
The location is perfect…it’s at the end of the main and practically central Rua de Franco which initially starts as a quite pedestrian street leading into the main Cathedral square and then again into a characterful street lined with great bars, restaurants and tourist shops / attractions all the way through to a central square at the end and the Alameda Park. (It’s also a 2 minute walk from the pilgrims office which is very convenient for those wanting to get their Compestella early in the morning to avoid the lines). It’s the right distance from what can be a very busy centre and it was lovely and quite at night.
It’s a sprawling hotel and for anyone doing the Camino you’ll understand what I mean in saying it could be possible to qualify for a stamp getting from your room to reception but that’s not a negative as it only lets you see more of the hotels interesting architecture.
What really made it for me though was the genuine warmth of the staff who were without doubt amongst the most helpful and friendliest an I have ever encountered in a Spanish hotel - Thankyou one and all !
I was lucky to get a pilgrim rate on their website which was great value for what I received - Yes I agree as per some reviews the rooms are somewhat basic but you should only need your room to sleep in and otherwise be out exploring this beautiful city. Pool was nice and surprisingly quite. Breakfast was a buffet style and stunning display – Gorgeous fresh fruits and beautiful irresistible pastries. I really look forward to staying here again at some stage.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

LOCATION is great - very close to the cathedral - makes it easy to get there early in the morning which was the best time to visit to avoid the lines.

ROOMS were very basic. This is converted convent and could have been a beautiful room - however it is made in a way with only the basic amenities. Sheets were a little rough; bedspread on top looked worn out. Bathroom was big but not well laid out - shower was not fully covered; sink too small; did not have enough paper tissues.

SERVICE was indifferent. They process a lot of people and treat this more like a hostel than a hotel. People come in and out and maybe most like us stay only for a day - so the approach of the staff is very transactional.

BREAKFAST was very good - best part of this hotel - churros in particular were freshly made and excellent. However the breakfast room was very crowded and noisy.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel is part of a converted monastery. We were lucky and got upgraded to a suite however outside the room on the floor we were on (2B) there was a lounge so big it would be the main lounge in most hotels.

Very spacious and modern rooms. Food was excellent in the restaurant. Reception spoke great English. Very short walking distance to the main square.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank A_brit_in_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews