We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and modern go together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Located in a former convent, the restoring works have produced an astonishing result mixing old style and modern decoration. A calm location outside Santiago's nightlife and wide rooms make it the perfect stay for families and couples. Friendly staff and a cosy bar for an evening drink add charm to the property. Nice backyard garden. Only con (as in every AC property): there is no in-room safe.

Room Tip: Backyard facing rooms are calmer and have a nice garden view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fran07Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Two nights in a Junior Suite (room 301) and I have to say that it was perfect.
The room has a lot of space with a excellent bathroom.
Very professional and polite staff.
Nice bar and a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Try to get the room 301.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAC-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our experience started from the moment we walked into this beautiful hotel. Carl greeted us with professionalism and friendliness. He talked to us about the city and sites as well. Very Helpful. The suite we were taken to by Edel was gorgeous and the window view was directly toward the Cathedral just breathtaking Room 214 .. Edel was so wonderful he talked to us about the hotel as well as interests we may want to visit while we were there. We travel a lot and stay at very nice hotels and we were so impressed we wanted to stay at the hotel the first evening and just enjoy and that is rare. We sat on the terrace and were greeted by the dining staff and enjoyed a cocktail before dinner and later went into the restaurant. We are from Chicago and the experience of the Chef and staff are exceptional every detail is taken to consideration and another level. I think we talked about this several times during dinner. Let's just say many times the memory is in the details. We felt so special staying here. You will love the food and be very impressed with the presentation. We wish after getting into the city twice for dinner we had stayed at the hotel as nothing compared.
We liked the hotel so much we stayed additional time. Bruno another person at the front desk could not have been more accomodating. We intended to travel the Western Coast of Spain by auto and he gave us 10 things not to miss that were not in any of the three travel books we obtained. Not to mention several restaurants he recommended on our way to eat and enjoy beautiful ocean views. I can't say enough you will not be disappointed with this hotel and staff. We will be returning again during our additional month is Spain.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214 a beautiful suite large with a seperate living room area. The shutters complet...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLinda_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Anything you need they provide. I was treated like a queen by this staff after completing the Camino de Santiago. Incredable food, amazing service. You are genuinely appreciated by everyone there. I received help with train schedules, flights to other countries, anything. Also complimentary free minibar in your room. Wonderful bathrobe and slippers and a wonderful comfortable bed. Come here and be pampered. The best hotel I stayed in in Europe so far.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artchik816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Overall I recommend this pleasant hotel.
Strong points : Relatively peaceful location yet still close to the historic city centre and restauarants; Nice view from the room, including side on of the old city and cathedral; Attractive traditional decor, especially the lobby; Very good breakfast.
Weak point : The noise from one room to another through the "walls" and also because of the wood floors - luckily it is not wild bunch that stays here.
Good to know : The enclosed underground car park is free despite what the web-site states (at least when I stayed).
I did not dine at the hotel, instead went to these quality restaurants close by on the Rua das Galeras main road which I can all recommend. Pedro Roca : probably the best, doing innovative Spanish cuisine. Don Quijote: also very good, traditional Spanish cooking (in less sophisticated surroundings, do not be put off by the bar entrance). And Mercadito : good innovative cooking. All three serve Mencia variety red wines by the glass or bottle from the local Monterrei, Valdeorroas or Ribeira Sacra regions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago de Compostela hotels
1.3 km away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#5 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,484 reviews
0.6 km away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
1,749 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
838 reviews
1.0 km away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
489 reviews
1.0 km away
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
NH Hesperia Santiago Peregrino
#28 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection

Address: Rua Oblatas s/n, 15705, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
#13 Family Hotel in Santiago de Compostela
Price Range: $108 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AC Palacio del Carmen, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio Del Carmen, Autograph Collection Hotel Santiago De Compostela
Ac Hotels Santiago De Compostela
Ac Hotel Santiago De Compostela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing