We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
152
62
13
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
62
13
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy bears the penthouse train station fantastic hosts true hospitality no elevator beach towels and umbrellas terrace room nice base rear garden hotel is very conveniently located hotel garden provided free of charge stayed for two nights small hotel rooms are spacious and clean home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Located in Sitges, a small coastal community 30 minutes by train from Barcelona is the Hotel Liberty. This is a gay owned and operated hotel and it reflects the kind of fine quality and service one would expect from caring owner/operators. We first booked a second floor rear terrace room overlooking the courtyard where the breakfast is served. That room was nicely appointed and decorated. However, we were lucky to be able to upgrade to the penthouse suite five floors up due to a cancellation. It is a long climb, but the suite was lovely. The view overlooks the town toward the water. It was beautifully appointed (I want to move in for a season!) The granite bath, small kitchen, and living room with wall to wall windows were pluses. The small bedroom had a walk out terrace and privacy shutters. It was very comfortable throughout. The building and suite were very quiet at night. All rooms are air conditioned. Across the street is a supermarket (outstanding selection) and a huge bonus is that the Liberty is a stone throw from the train station - so no need for a taxi or long walk dragging luggage. Beach towels are available at check in.
Sitges is a lovely place to visit - very Gay oriented with bars and clubs (a fun piano bar - just ask the boys!) and a well managed Gay beach with chair rentals etc. in the center of town. Shopping is fun with quality goods at every turn in the old town. Many good restaurants are scattered within a short walking distance in this very walkable community.
The staff at the Hotel were excellent at guiding us around town and at making suggestions. I would recommend booking reservations early, particularly if the dates are around festive holidays or white party type dates.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KhymNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The Liberty is in a good location ~ 2 blocks from the train station. But rooms are reasonably quiet. It's another couple blocks to the main drag in Sitges, then another couple blocks to the beaches. Plenty of coffee shops, bars, restaurants, groceries within easy walking distance. There's also a self-serve laundry very close by.
As noted below, there is no elevator, but as long as you're reasonably mobile and don't have humongous luggage, you'll probably be fine. Overall atmosphere is small, quaint, historic.... you certainly won't feel like you're staying in a Marriott (and why would you want to stay in a generic hotel in Sitges?).
Rooms were amply sized (certainly by European standards) and pretty well laid out. We enjoyed having a glass of wine on our own terrace. Bathroom is dated, but adequate (good hot water and water pressure in the shower). Bed was comfortable. Fridge/mini-bar provides room to store your own things as well. Ample room for storing clothing and things. A/C worked fine, but we rarely used it - the room was much cooler than outside (it was > 30C/85F outside during the day when we were there)
Breakfast in the garden was nice - good assortment of basic cereals, yogurts, fruits, juice, and coffee. Especially liked the hours (9 to 11 or so... great for late risers!)
Free Wi-Fi was decent, but spotty (we had to re-log-in repeatedly).
All the staff were helpful and friendly - very welcoming.

Room tip: If stairs are an issue, request a room on a lower floor!
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank giromondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The Liberty was recommended to me by some Swedish friends who have stayed there in the past and I was delighted with their suggestion. Great hospitality and location. It is close to the railway station so easy to find if training from Barcelona and sufficiently removed from the noisy part of town. Yet is is still just a few minutes walk from the beachfront and restaurants. Book early as I gather it is very popular in peak season.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poweraustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in October, I was traveling with a friend and after looking at several other hotels in Sitges via the internet we picked Liberty. The owners were more than willing to help us with any special requests we had. The hotel itself is very classy, spotlessly clean. It is clear that the owners invest alot of money into keeping the hotel in tip-top conditon. The place has an old world charm with all the modern aminities. Rooms are big and spacious. One tip would be it does take a little time for the hot water to reach the shower, but the owners advised us of this on check-in. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay at Liberty again on our next visit to Sitges.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaroninDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We've stayed at Hotel Liberty, Sitges some five times - so our visit this year didn't offer surprises - the same excellent pick up at the airport, the rooms we had chosen (Liberty doesn't have a lift so if you can't do stairs you need the first floor rooms.) Jon and Eddy are excellent, friendly hosts - sure they don't live on the premises but would be easy to contact if there was an issue. The rooms are comfortable, not luxurious but the rates reflect that. Everything is very clean and in good order. The breakfast buffet is good, very fresh and appertising. There is no hotel restaurant but Jon and Eddy can recommend from the numerous Sitges restaurants according to your preference and your budget! We had a room overlooking the garden so it was very quiet .... the rooms have aircon which can be very important if you're from N.Europe!
Hotel Liberty may not have a sea view but it is an excellent base from which to explore Sitges and the nearby railway will speed you cheaply and swiftly to other cities. Well recommended.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews