We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach-front, big beds, bigger breakfasts”
Review of Hotel Platjador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Platjador
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Everything else you read here is pretty accurate. The hotel is well located, it couldn't be any closer to the beach, the breakfasts are plentiful, the staff are friendly, the beds are big and the roof-top bar is a real asset.

What can I add to this that'll help? Of specific interest to me was the fact that transfers from 'El Prat' on Sundays are not that easy by bus (only 4 for the whole day) but the train station and service is a real help to the resort. Don't rely too heavily on the Renfe website though as despite having an English section and a virtual assistant the info it provided was massively unhelpful - there were trains running and plenty of them as I discovered on getting info from the relevant desk at the airport.

As for the Platjador itself I may just be repeating the mantra. The hotel rooms are nice, huge mirrors and big beds (ours was a single and double joined together) with one of the best showers I've found in any hotel. The balconys at the back overlook the pool area and the rear of other properties so it's not that pretty but certainly nothing to put you off. The pool area seems to have been re-furbished recently with a spa pool but it was way too cold to try out in mid-April.

The included breakfast is a relative feast, a massive buffet of practically everything you could wish for. There was no muesli but the presence of a large quantity of cakes more than made up for that. The real difficulty with breakfast was discerning the sweet from the savoury as it was all presented in such a fashion that it was all too easy to mistake a pate for a pudding, a very disconcerting error to make.

The roof-top bar is a real jewel in the crown, very well laid out with a fabulous view over the front and the church. A proper sun-trap too. The only downside was that the beer prices were none too cheap - the selection of imported beers was a nice touch but slightly wallet-damaging. Unfortunately during my stay the 'beer of the day' (at 50% discount) was the same beer every day but this was slightly out-of-season I guess.

I have nothing to compare it to in the area, perhaps it's beyond comparison - the consensus would appear to suggest so.

Room Tip: The front rooms are nice, the rear may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paolo_Fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you very much for posting a review and for saying such nice things, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Our guests reviews are the best quality control, for this reason we are very grateful with you to expose it.
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,894)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,100 of 1,894 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Picked this hotel based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The location is fantastic right on the sea front and close to everything in the centre. it was good value too.

We picked a sea view room with balcony which was great and would highly recommend this. The rooms were good size, well furnished and ours had a fabulous huge shower! The rooms were clean and well kept.

Breakfast was self service and there was lots of choice of food. It was open till 12 which was great, but if you arrived the choice was sometimes limited.

Other than that a great choice and would recommend staying here - we will go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As many others have said, the service was excellent, rooms spacious and clean and the position ideal. Breakfast has the largest choice I have ever seen!

Only very minor criticism is that he WiFi (a) has to be renewed each day and (b) works for one device only, so for two phones and one laptop between my self and my wife we had to get three codes each day! Other hotels seem to do this better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you very much for having found time to write a review of Hotel Platjador of Sitges. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges. We will give free ticket wifi for 3 days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

What can I add to previous reviews? The hotel has really friendly staff who always speak to you. We got one of the rooms overlooking the pool which get some sun in the late evening. The room was clean, well maintained and cosy. The breakfasts are varied and typical of a Spanish hotel - lots of different breads, cereals, fruit and cooked foods. There is something for everybody. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it was popular for lunches and evening meals. The location is superb, right on the seafront and minutes away from shops and the train station although there are some uphill sections on the return to the station and some of the streets are cobbled if you aren't too good on your feet. The pool isn't heated as mentioned, which isn't so good early in the season, but I believe they are trying to get permission to heat it. Overall I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words and for posting them on Tripadvisor. We find our costumer’s opinions a great feedback for us as workers in the hotel. That’s why we thank so much you expressing how you felt during your stay. We thank you the opinions left for the hotel as we feel them as something to improve, that’s why almost all comments refering to bad points are now solved. Five days ago we got the city council permission for the heated pool. We hope to get in less than 15 days the pool heated at 35ºC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We often visit Sitges, as we live partly just over the border in France and know it from living there for a short time in the 80s, and love it.
So, we have stayed many times, both in apartments and hotels, over a period of 15 years.
This was our first stay at Platjador, and will not be our last. No other hotel we've stayed in comes anywhere near the level of friendly and helpful service by the staff, which really makes this hotel stand out from the rest, plus the enormous and comfortable bed, the large shower, the wonderful breakfast buffet, the 5th floor bar with lovely views...all mentioned by other reviewers.
I could go on.
The good double glazing and sound-proofing meant we were undisturbed at night despite its central location - important to us, as we go to bed relatively early.
Only one slight suggestion - it would be nice to find muesli on the breakfast menu - but that is a VERY small minus, as the buffet had just about everything else you could think of.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea, and at level 3 or 4, would be my choice. The higher your room, the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anglocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Thank you for your company and we would love to see you return sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
1,293 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#5 of 40 in Sitges
954 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,810 reviews
2.3 km away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platjador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platjador

Address: Passeo de la Ribera 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sitges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $92 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platjador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Platjador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platjador Hotel Sitges
Platjador Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing