We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“STUNNING LOCATION”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Athenou Magnolia

Living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living
Athenou house and garden Fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Living
Athenou house and garden
Fireplace
Office
Living dinning room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Girona
Detail
Some views from the apartment
Detail
Bedroom 2
Views from the kitchen
Bathroom
The roofterrace
Views
The relaxing on the roofterrace
The garden
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Roofterrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Girona, Province of Girona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mac512014
Palma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“STUNNING LOCATION”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

"Magnolia" could not have been better situated, being on the top floor of one of Girona's oldest historic houses, directly next to the city's ancient walls. If offered us breathtaking views on 3 sides, displaying the city in all its splendour.The magic is witnessed from the living room balconies, where we watched the glory of the setting sun on the rolling hills and snow-capped mountains beyond the city. It was a feast for the senses, as the Cathedral bells rang during our Christmas stay. When darkness fell, an electric illumination took centre stage, and the city took on another dimension, with the Cathedral being the jewel in the crown below.

The narrow streets within the city walls are restricted to residents cars only, but Alexandre, the owner, can make prior arrangement for his guests to drive up to the front door and leave luggage, before taking the vehicle to the public parking areas situated a short distance from the apartment.

Alexandre and Nuria greeted and treated us as they would friends, with ready smiles and every question answered with enthusiasm. They made our two night stay a memory to savour.

On the functional side, the apartment is up three flights of stairs. Every area within the flat is spacious and comfortable, with a fully equipped kitchen/breakfast room, vast living/dining area, two large double bedrooms, and a generous sized bathroom. To sum up, the high marks on Trip Advisor are well deserved! Thank you Alexandre and Nuria for our memorable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2017
Thank you M. for your words. We really enjoy a great time with you. And we hope to see you again. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaBaker
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
“Book this apartment before I buy it and move in....”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My niece and I were just at the Athenou apartments in Girona. Staying at the Magnolia apartment really raised the bar and is one of the top 5 experiences I have ever had at a VRBO/Homeaway property, including many that were more expensive/exclusive or at least advertise themselves as being “perfect”. There are many reasons that these apartments are in the top 10 in Girona. Based on the hospitality of the owners, it would be number 1.

First, the building is in the old city with the back of the building against the medieval wall that surrounds the old city. The apartment is elegantly modern yet comfortable and furnished as I would furnish my own home. It is spotlessly clean and the linens are professionally laundered. I didn’t see any items in the apartment from IKEA, which is sort of a pet peeve of mine. These apartments are on the top floor with only the terrace above, so it is very private as well. The apartment looks out over the whole of Girona so it’s a real treat in the afternoon to take a break and have a glass of wine and watch the birds flying over the rooftops of the city. (or watch Game of Thrones, if you are a fan, and try to figure out where the different scenes were filmed)

Second, The apartment looks EXACTLY as is does it the photos, possibly even better. There is parking available, if you have the brass balls to drive on the narrow streets. Our taxi driver from the train station told us it was ‘not possible’ to drive us to the apartment and let us out about 2-3 blocks away. The owners will also pick you up at the train station (we just didn't have an exact arrival time or a phone), which I would recommend as the drive through town to the apartment with Alexandre at the wheel is exhilarating and one of our favorite memories. Also, about a week before our visit our departing flight changed and the owners were able to let us change our arrival and dates since they had an open day before we arrived – no problem at all.

The building has an amazing history, having once been owned by a marquis before the current family took ownership several generations ago. There is a floor in the building that has been practically untouched since the 1800’s.

Their restaurant recommendations were spot on – there is a little book in the apartment with a list of descriptions and locations. Invaluable.

Last, I’d recommend taking a tour with the owner, they have a short list of tours available. We did the medieval city tour through the small towns which sort of turned into a shopping tour (thank you!) – and even though I had been through many of these cities before, my niece had not and we really had a wonderful day. Nuria and Alexandre both came and we felt as though we were out with friends, having a wonderful day sightseeing. We learned a lot of local history and some family history (all significant and very interesting!) and a few Catalan phrases. They even let us eat from their plates at lunch - because we had never had sonsos before and also some sort of octopus.

This apartment is perfect for 2 up to 4 depending on how much you like each other. There is plenty of room. I never can get the square meters right in my head, but there’s plenty of room to spread out and an informal eating area in the kitchen that we set up as our command center so that the living room stayed clutter free.

As an added bonus, there were 250 steps from our favorite restaurant to the apartment, so we came back in better shape than when we left!

There are many people who live in Girona who train to ride bicycles professionally so we were intimidated about doing a bicycle tour. Then we met a group of older people who were completely out of shape and doing a bicycle tour. The owners let us know that there were many places we could easily bike without calling an ambulance for a ride back. So....yet another reason to return! There are places for 10 bikes in their garage, if you are into that sort of thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Elegant and comfortable, spotlessly clean (probably not by the time we left), owners are amazing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen V
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful apartment!!!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed here for two weeks in September. The apartment was immaculate, and impeccably furnished. Stunning views from all windows. The owners, who live in the building, were very accommodating and helpful. The location was wonderful, in the old city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thank you Helen. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Apr 2015
Thank you, GP. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JimW_2220...
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Apartment in Girona”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Magnolia in Girona old city for a week of family downtime after UCI Worlds ... the apartment and hosts Nuria and Alexandre could not have been more wonderful. Tastefully decorated, spotless and comfortable for our threesome, Magnolia is an apartment on the top floor of an 18th or 19th century nobleman's home. The apartment is updated w everything from espresso maker to good WiFi. Each day we had great meals and walks in the old city, With our hosts' advice, we also explored Catalonia countryside. If only time allowed, I could comfortably settle in an Athenou apartment for a couple months, studying culture, learning language, enjoying the city, and dining ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and elegant simplicity of apartment
Liked least: Very little ... An ancient city, Girona has many steps and narrow streets.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your words. You are great guests. We remember you fondly and look forward to see you soon again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing