We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice case of food poisoning.”
Review of Carballeira

Carballeira
Reserve with
Carballeira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #978 of 10,961 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 50 - USD 66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barceloneta
Description: Carballeira is an emblematic restaurant that, since 1944 has been offering the best fresh seafood delivered daily from Galicia.Located in Barceloneta district, a few steps from the sea and right in front of Port Vell, Carballeira has maintained from its beginning, the essence of one of the most popular and authentic seafood restaurants in town.Local waiters with years of experience ensure an excellent service.Delectable seafood carefully selected. Delicious rices: with lobster, "a banda" or black with cuttlefish. Line-caught fish, succulent dishes of monkfish, bass, turbot or hake. And for meat lovers a good T-bone steak or a Galician Veal entrecote. A wide selection of dishes to please every taste.SPECIAL SERVICES • Private dining rooms with natural light inside for groups of 10-40 people. Group menus, also customizable.• All day dining service from 13h to 24h, to dine at your leisure.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The fish tasted a bit funny, but there was nothing funny about the food poisoning it gave me. I know it was the fish because I could taste it later. The whole dinner was over priced too

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carballeira, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Sr,
We are very sorry about this matter and we will try to solve it by private mail following the restaurant´s food and safety protocol. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Suited waiters, crisply pressed white cotton tablecloths and class match the elegant ambiance with sublime local ingredients Galician seafood, local recipe octopus with spice and a very reasonable wine list punches above its weight. Highly recommend for a lunch when time is irrelevant and palate pleasure is paramount. Will return.

Thank Arif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carballeira, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Arif S.,
Thank you for choosing Carballeira, we are glad that you like it and it will be a pleasure to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place!
We arrived without a reservation, in the afternoon, for a late lunch.
The waiters were courteous, friendly and very welcoming! They helped us pick the right menu for our hunger needs.
The Bacalao croquettes were to die for.
I tried the Arroz a banda , beautifully cooked in fish stock, very fragrant and extremely satisfying.
We were offered a dessert made of a sweet crispy fried “bread”, doused in alcohol.
The whole meal was accompanied by a bottle of white Albariño wine.

The price was correct for what we ordered, and the whole experience memorable.

I’ll be sure to pass by for another exceptional meal next time I’m in Barcelona !

Thank Rawan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carballeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Rawan S,
We are glad that you enjoyed at Carballeira. Thank you very much and you will be always very welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

If you like fish- it a good place to go.
They offer a fresh ,very good quality product - day catch,honest no fantasy food , very well prepared ,tasty
Courteous ,unobtrusive,efficient and friendly service
Expensive - but so it is in every good seafood restaurant

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carballeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Joseph D.,
We really appreciate your kind words. Thank you for choosing Carballeira. We are glad to know that you truly enjoyed in our Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Traditional cousine... a family restaurant since 1944 as I was told. It is great example of really good seafood and Spanish atmosphere!
We ordered Seafood Soup, Lobster and a half bottle of Catalan great wine... delicious!!!!
If you are looking for a decent seafood restaurant , must try this place.

1  Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carballeira, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Customer,
We are glad to know that you appreciate the quality of our fresh seafood and enjoyed your meal. Thank you very much for recommending Carballeira and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carballeira also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Carballeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing