We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Emilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Emilia
Ranked #41 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I loved the style of this great boutique hotel. It fits in perfectly with the beautiful city of Barcelona. The rooms were sylish and very comfortable, the staff were always helpful and gracious and the restaurant/roof bar were delicious! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable, afforable, stylish getaway in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmpizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,406
    624
    107
    22
    16
See reviews for
248
1,376
57
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at the Villa Emilia in May of this year (yes this is overdue). This hotel couldn't be more centrally located if what you looking to do is sight seeing and exploring this beautiful city. I only say this because its located in a residential neighborhood and if what you're looking for is a vibrant party atmosphere this hotel wouldn't be for you. But if what your looking to do is explore this city and come back to an oasis than this is the place. I suggest you head up to the roof and spend some time with Amauri (hope I spelled it right), you will not regret it!!! I HATE mojitos, I really do but in Barcelona at the Villa Emilia roof bar that is all I had. I'm convinced the man is a genius and you can't find any better outside of Havana. My wife and I always looked forward to exploring the city by day and relaxing on the roof at night! The staff in general were cordial and extremely pleasant. P.S. Enough with the "tea/coffee" request!! If I want my close to smell like that I'll hang out in a coffee shop!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed in this hotel in may this year and was very happy with what I found.
The hotel is a boutique style decor. Really nice rooms, fab shower and bathroom, friendly knowledgable staff.
The breakfast is wonderful, the resturant is also good. And there's a lovely terrace on the roof to sit and have super tasty cocktails after exploring all day.
The location is also very good. There's a metro station about a 5 minute walk away which you can get anywhere from. Or you can walk to las ramblas in around 15 mins! Perfect.
Also they serve complimentary tea coffee and pastries at 5pm. Nice touch.
All in all, great place and I will defiantly be back!!

Thank you villa emilia!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We found all aspects of the Villa Emilia to be very pleasant, professional, and stylish. When we arrived at 11 AM from the airport, the room was not yet ready. The desk staff were friendly, well-versed in English and my Spanglish, and helped us check our suitcases so we could go off and explore Barcelona. The hotel is one block from a Metro/subway station and, using the city map from hotel staff, we were able to fairly easily navigate ourselves to see Gaudi's Sagrada Familia masterpiece, Gaudi's house, Catalunya Square, and Las Ramblas - all in a very full six hours. We observed almost one dozen little restaurants/cafes located all around the hotel block, but decided to have delicious tapas and wine in the hotel's bar. Our reservation required us to have breakfast in the hotel and we were so glad we did for it was a sumptuous buffet of very high-quality thinly-sliced meats, fruits, breads, cereals, and wine. The hotel is very modern, almost Zen-like in its subtle colors. While we did not see a fitness center, there was a stylish roof-top open-air bar with music and incredible views of the surrounding area. The room was clean, the bed ample, the bathroom spacious and snazzy. The hotel provided (at cost) a driver to take us from the airport to the hotel, and to our cruise ship the next morning. Overall: this experience was well beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: The view from our 4th story room overlooked a fairly busy street, but the buildings in our balcony v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KanikaAfricanArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarya78
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Very clean, decent size rooms, staff is helpful for the most part, close to the major attractions and close to metro stop as well. The shower glass was a flaw but the biggest one was that there is no tea / coffee machine in the room. If they want better reviews from US tourists, they need to make that change. Otherwise, lovely comfortable hotel. You hear a lot of emergency door noise since the elevators are painfully slow. There is no gym or pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
2,959 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
2,014 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 521 in Barcelona
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 521 in Barcelona
1,357 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 521 in Barcelona
4,302 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 521 in Barcelona
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Emilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Emilia

Property: Villa Emilia
Address: Calle Calabria 115-117, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $203 - $375
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Emilia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Emilia is a modern property situated in a prime location in the heart of Barcelona, perfect for business travelers and holidays trips. Its 53 double guestrooms are fully equipped and decorated with exquisite taste. Guests can enjoy Mediterranean food in the Zinc-Bar, lounge on our famous Terrace, enjoying live DJ/music and cocktails, or organize special events and meetings in the Salon Rojo and El Privat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Emilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Emilia Hotel Barcelona
Emilia Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing