We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,426)
Filter reviews
2,426 results
Traveller rating
1,592
674
119
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,592
674
119
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zinc bar rocafort metro station rooftop terrace recommend villa minute walk great boutique tapas lovely hotel quiet location first floor las ramblas residential area loved this hotel breakfast was excellent the air conditioning small hotel visiting barcelona
Filter
Updating list...
972 - 977 of 2,426 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was our third visit to Barcelona,but first stay at the Villa Emilia,by far the best hotel we have stayed in!The room was modern, spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and a powerful shower.We loved the roof terrace and the free coffee break in the afternoons.The staff were friendly but not overbearing,we enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant,which was a liitle pricey but the food was delicious.The hotel location was excellent, in a quiet residential area and just a 10 minute stroll along the Gran Via to the Arena de Barcelona ( refurbished bull ring now a shopping centre with some good rooftop restaurants) and the Plaza d'Espanya.The Playa de Catalunya is a longer walk in the other direction along the Gran Via taking approx. 25 minutes.We took the aerobus from the airport to Pl de Catalunya,then a taxi to the hotel which was only 6 euro.However,it would have been easy to get off at the Plaza d'Espanya,and walk to the hotel.The tourist buses are easily available at the Plaza Espanya, so no need to go to the Ramblas at all!
Do not miss the magic fountains at night and the view from the top of the arenas,also a walk up to the museum of catalonian art MNAC and onwards to the olympic park and stadium at Montjuic.There are escalators if you can't face all the steps!
All in all this hotel is a good location for those who wish to avoid the 'crush' and mayhem of the Ramblas and explore some of the gems in the other parts of the city.We highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our third trip to Barcelona but our first stay at the Villa Emilia and we were certainly not disappointed. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and our room was really comfortable, and a good size for a city hotel, with very efficient and quiet air conditioning. We particulary liked the rooftop bar but as it is also open to non guests it is best to book if you want to eat there. The free wifi is a nice touch. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversury and it was excellent. Modern and clean. All staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great and kept fully stocked even for the late comers like our selves on a couple of days. They even provide afternoon tea, coffee and cakes in the 1st floor lounge and the roof terrace is great to go up and chill out on. The only thing is that unless you are a keen walker it's best to get into the centre of Barcelona it's self by the metro which is literally 2 minutes from the hotel and is frequent and cheap. We would definately recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burtthebulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The best part of this hotel is the staff. They were extremely friendly, gave great advice on local hangouts and restaurants, and provided outstanding service--worthy of tips every time. For example, they normally close at a certain time, but they knew we were out late at a certain bar. When my wife called the front desk, they knew exactly where we were and explained to her, and when we came back to the hotel, they kept the front door open for us late into the morning. Another example, my brother-in-law accidentally booked our rooms without annotating the extra children. They did their best to try and find a cot for us (for a nominal fee but I was glad to pay). The barbeque on the roof was outstanding. The music, ambiance, comfortable lounge, good breakfast (everything was fresh), outstanding cappucino made to order. Again, the staff was awesome! 15 min walk from Las Ramblas, or <10 euro cab ride to anywhere in Barcelona. Also a quick metro ride. However, after a foiled pick pocket attempt, we decided not to ride the metro ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawadeeka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Good, well-sized and clean rooms, wooden doors to the bathroom\toilet in the room (hallelujah! seriously - in most Barcelona hotels you will get glass doors to the shower & toilet), good breakfast (though I can't say that variaty is huge, f.e. there were no fried or scrumbled eggs which are common for hotel breakfasts and you have to boil the eggs yourself in the machine in case you want them), free wi-fi for unlimited amount of devices, nice and responsive staff. 10 minutes walk from placa d'Espanya & 20-25 minutes walk from Placa de Catalunya, which is the main start point to explore the city

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews