We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't find any thing else”
Review of Pension Miami

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Miami
Ranked #558 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“If you can't find any thing else”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

It's close to la Rambla and easy to get around. But if you like your belongings DON'T stay here. The cleaning lady stole money from your room when we where out for about 1 hour.
And when we went to the front desk to tell them, we where acoused of not tellng the truth.
They said thing like you could have been robbed with out knowing. Bad service is not good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
Thank Astrid Å
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    57
    138
    53
    51
See reviews for
35
148
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We had booked reservations at another BnB from Wed - Sun and due to changes in our travel plans had to book lodging at the very last minute for Tuesday night. Because of our budget, we booked a night at the Pension Miami. This place is very difficult to find - it's in an alley filled with drunks laying passed out, if you don't step on a drunk watch out for the urine, vomit & feces. Upon checking in, the staff was not friendly or helpful - very curt and acted as if we were bothering her. Once we got into our room, it was tiny but clean and freezing cold. We had to go downstairs to ask her to turn down the AC but she said it could not be adjusted, that we could only have it "on or off". We did have our own private bathroom - a closet with a toilet and shower and window.
Most of the patrons look like "normal" travelers but obviously we were all on a budget, trying to save a little money.
In the morning, the staff had changed and they were much more helpful and friendly. We stepped out and walked around to get some coffee- the place looks totally different in the morning. The streets were being hosed down to erase the evidence of the previous night's debauchery. If you go expecting the worst and are only looking for a place to rest for the night, you will be ok. Once inside, the place is clean and safe.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Amtzell, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Location is good, as in walking distance from the city centre and located in the old town of Barcelona.

Rooms are very small, bathrooms even smaller.
Ok for city trip with friends. Wouldn't like to go on a romantic trip there.
Ask for a room away from the "court yard" (wich isn't really a yard but a narrow chamber. All the bathrooms are located to this chamber and while sleeping with an open window you hear all the "bathroom noises".

Staff (male, night-staff) is very unfriendly and feels disturbed when a guest wishes the key or has any other queries.

One lady at reception was very helpful, when I found out that I left some jewellery behind, after checking out. She was very helpful and cooperative.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madame-Zizibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Although is very well located, this hostel has a lot of problems. To start with, there was no window in my room, the bathroom was something around one square meter and didn't have enough space between the toilet and the wall, impossible to use. Very, very noisy. Terrible mattress. To sum up, don't be mislead only by the location. It is worthy walk some additional meters and have a better place to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlessandroRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Me and a few friends went to Barcelona last year in June 2009 where we stayed at the Pension Miami.

The hotel itself is not too bad. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is quite a walk away from the 'Ramblas' (Las Ramblas:- A road with is streched over a mile packed with fun, street entertainers and all other entertainment).
I'd say it's about 15mins walk. If you like to walk or with friends, then its not a problem.
The metro is not too far off. The beach is about 25-30 mins walk.

Nearest grocery shop, mini mart, kebab shops, cafe, bars - around the corner (2mins walk).

Alternatively Las ramblas will have the main places for bars, food and shopping.

Walking down the ramblas will ead you to the beach front also.

Anyways, the facilities are ok within the hotel - i mean its cheap and cheerful, so you get what you pay for! Overall it isnt a bad place as your only sleeping there!

On a night it could be noisy with some of the locals and tourists having fun. This is normal for a Saturday night.

Food is not a problem around here, you have local alleys filled with shops, bars and takeaways. Late night kebab shops open - if you fancy a midnight snack.

Pension Miami resides in the oldest part of this grand city, the Ciutat Vella is made up of atmospheric, narrow streets filled with boutiques, cool bars and hidden squares.

I hope you find this review helpful? If you have any questions, then feel free to contact me. I may have some pics somewhere which i can share.

Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xplor3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#478 of 512 in Barcelona
523 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#474 of 512 in Barcelona
137 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
Hotel Exe AB Viladomat
#298 of 512 in Barcelona
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#412 of 512 in Barcelona
367 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#251 of 512 in Barcelona
561 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#472 of 512 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Miami

Property: Pension Miami
Address: Carrer Verge 16, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $76 - $172
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Miami 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Miami Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing