We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent experience! Highly recommend for business and pleasure.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #40 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent experience! Highly recommend for business and pleasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

I recently planned a business visit to Barcelona for about 22 people. We needed a hotel that would work with a group, had English-speaking staff, was close to public transportation, and in the proximity of good restaurants for dinner. We found all that and much more at Olivia Plaza. Olalla, the Events Manager, and her colleagues made the experience unforgettable. We enjoyed the modern and spacious rooms, but it was the friendly and accommodating staff that made our stay so enjoyable. Olalla, in particular, went above and beyond to accommodate all of our needs and to handle every detail in the most friendly and professional manner. I plan visits like this in different countries every year. This was the best hotel experience we have had on any of our visits. We will be back!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Leandra,

Thank you so much for taking your time sharing your experience. I'm really happy you found the Olivia Plaza hotel was perfect for your group, and specially that we were able to handle everything they needed. I will share your nice comment with Olalla and the rest of our staff. We are willing to see you again soon at the Olivia Plaza Hotel.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    583
    129
    29
    23
See reviews for
343
1,000
63
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We absolutely loved the Olivia Plaza! We had booked with an agent who knew someone who had stayed here. She said it would be nice. Boy, was she right! We arrived early and they had a room available for our reservation. Even so, they upgraded us to a premium room with a balcony overlooking Plaza de Catalunya. The room was SO nice, bed was very comfortable.

We loved how close it was to la Rambla, the hop-on hop-off buses and the subway.

We will definitely be staying here when we go back to Barcelona in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We loved everything about our trip to Barcelona including the hotel.
Olivia Plaza is a reasonably price boutique hotel, with an excellent location.
Our room was funky, large, had a great view over old buildings, and a really big comfortable bed.
There is a courtyard at the back which is perfcet for a glass of wine in the evening.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
It whole experience exceeded expertations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Amanda,

The the fact that your stay at the Olivia Plaza hotel has exceeded all expectations, makes our work meaningful. Thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The rooms were as advertised. The staff was helpful. The location was great and the tourist bureau was across the street. Unfortunately, I travelled with a very large person and child who does not llike light when sleeping. The room divider in the Superior room was glass so when the lights were on so were they. The view from our window was lovely.

I recommend the Olivia for couples, friends, or families with older children.

The wifi is free but very slow if you are on a high floor. The students in the next room often did their homework in the hall for better reception. I would go to the Internet floor because the chairs were comfortable.

Room Tip: Bring a latter if you are not a basketball player because the shelves can be high. If you are travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D.M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear DMD,

Thank you so much for your review. I'm sorry we could not fully meet your needs, especially when traveling with a child. We always try to live up to all customer needs, and your feedback will help us to improve in this area.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I loved this hotel. My room was very large, and very quiet. Not an easy thing to get right in Plaza Catalunya. The location is perfect to drop your bags during the day and to get anywhere on foot is quite easy and safe. They offer free Internet which is a bonus those days, and my rate with breakfast was reasonable for this city. The room was spotless with comfortable crisp linens and a wonderful design element. Mostly it was the location that I loved best. The staff were very pleasant and helped to recommend very good restaurants and shopping areas which I had not been to. All in all I loved this place and would stay here again and again. Food at the hotel is also quite good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloberunnerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#37 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#30 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#10 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#57 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#92 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#35 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $201 - $467
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing