We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool place, but missing some of the quality and service that we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #107 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool place, but missing some of the quality and service that we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This place has a very cool atmosphere and very trendy design features... we loved the sleek black & white decor, with LED coloured lights everywhere, the private balcony with modern furniture, the glassed-in shower in the middle of the bedroom. The hotel also has a common area called "Be Yourself" and an adjacent "Help Yourself" area with free coffee, tea, and bottles of water.

However, we did notice that the hotel is showing signs of wear and tear. Walls are quite scuffed and the tile in the bathroom area appeared dirty (I think it was clean, but stained). The phone in our room would not work for incoming or outgoing calls. There was a remote in the room for audio/music, but we couldn't figure out where to point it, or how to make it work. The shower leaked into the room and it was impossible to get out of the shower without tracking water everywhere.

Despite showing signs of aging, the service seemed to be lacking in a just-opened sense. For instance, when we first arrived, the person at the front desk gave us our key to our room, but didn't really tell us anything about the hotel or the vicinity. This was drastically different from our stay at Chic & Basic in Madrid, where we were provided with information on the hotel and the area. Additionally, we were told breakfast was available for 8.50 euros. So one morning, I ventured over to the adjoining restaurant/bar - I expected to see a buffet like we'd witnessed at other Spanish hotels. But nothing was laid out except a menu. So I asked about what was included in the breakfast cost, and the bartender asked me what I was told. When I told him I was told a price of 8.50, he said that he supposed I could just order anything off the menu for 8.50 (incidentally, most items on the menu were less than that). He then told me that the chef hadn't shown up that day, but that he could whip me up some eggs or something like that if it wasn't too busy (there were 4 people in the restaurant). He also told me that all he had to offer were croissants and muffins, but that there was no muffin delivery that day, so they were almost running out. I don't know why they had the menu displayed out front, if no chef showed up to work. And what was *suposed* to be included in the 8.50 cost??

The free wireless internet connection did not work all weekend, which was frustrating, as we were relying heavily on the internet for information about sites and locations. When we asked the front desk about that, they said that since it was the weekend, there would be no chance it would be fixed during our stay.

Our room was a decent size, but it was right next to the "Be Yourself" area, which meant a lot of talking and noise coming through the walls. Luckily we are not bothered by noise too much - but other travelers may be.

The location of the hotel was great - very easy to access almost everything. We were warned to watch out of pickpocketers though, and one girl at the front desk advised us to be careful using bank machines near the hotel.

One nice thing, is that the hotel has bikes available for rent. Very handy! The hotel had lots of "cool" factor though, and we enjoyed staying there. But the service wasn't quite what it should be, especially for 140 euros per night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from common areas, as noise carries quite a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmdeeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    311
    56
    21
    11
See reviews for
56
459
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Booked it based on Fodors review for great hip place to stay. Paid only 130$ a night and the room is pretty cool and clean. Great location too. I really liked the common area with free coffee, water, books, and desktops. People from all over hung out in the evening and it was quiet in am. Desk staff was very helpful and good looking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tochdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a cool, funky and chic hotel in a great location. We found this place after wandering around looking for new accommodations for the remainder of our stay in Barcelona. It's across the street from the Chocolate Museum! Stephan and his staff were attentive and welcoming from the moment we walked through the door. Our room was bright, airy and clean with high ceilings and a lovely little balcony with french doors. The bed was comfy and there were no exterior street noises to be concerned with. The common area was great. It had two oversized sofas and a little nook with tables and chairs. There was complimentary, coffee/espresso, tea and bottled water. There was a also a computer for guest use. The only cons we experienced were (1) noise from the hallways bled into the rooms a little more than we have experienced at other establishments and had a bit of an echo effect given the acoustics of the building but a good pair of earplugs solved that problem. (2) there is no printer attached to the computer in the common room. If you wanted to print something out you had to send it to the front desk via email or download it to a flash drive and take it to the front desk. The staff were very happy to accommodate so it really wasn't that big of a deal. With that said these were minor things that did not reflect negatively on our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel as well as stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear ATLTraveler2

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recommend other chic & basic Born.
For us it is very important to know the views of customers and make any changes to improve the product and service we provide.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and to see that c&b staff helped you in every need.

Best regards from Barcelona
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Booked the XL room for a special occasion for myself and my boyfriend and we were both very excited about staying in the hotel. The website leads you to believe that this is the largest room available and we thought it would be very spacious and the nicest room they had. However, the room was not very big and the quality of everything in the room was poor. It was supposed to have a private balcony, but it had a very small balcony with little stools, not chairs to sit on and it was shared with three other rooms. We noticed that there were some bigger rooms with private balcony's and asked the staff about this, but were told these were XXL rooms and we were not offered these as the booking was made through booking.com and they are only available direct from their website. However, I have since checked the hotels own website and there is no XXL room on there either!!!???? The blind did not work properly on the window – the fabric was torn and the electric mechanism to wind it up and down had broken, so it kept catching in the doors every time you opened and closed them which was annoying. We complained about this, but it wasn’t fixed properly. The LED lights are actually pretty cheap looking and pointless. Our toilet didn't flush properly. The shower leaks water all over the floor. No bathrobes as advertised. We are not fussy travelers at all, as we have backpacked all over the world and stayed in hostels and hotels of all types, and although this hotel was nice, in a lovely building with comfy beds and a great location - I believe if you are charging that amount of money for a room, you need to be able to back it up with quality and fixtures that work and unfortunately this hotel did not (more shabby & basic, than chic & basic). Overall pretty disappointing for the high cost (171 euros per night). Loved Barcelona and would definitely stay in the Born area again, but not in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Mimm11

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write about your stay at chic&basic Born.
We realized part of the chic&basic Born team did not know exactly where we sell our XXL rooms (as we only have two) and we made sure to teach them about it for further occasions. We sell the XXL rooms only directly through e-mail or telephone.

We remember you had problems with the blinds but due to a really busy weekend, we could not take care of it appropriately, we apologize for this mistake. We are aware that the blinds in the rooms sometimes cause trouble to our guests, and we are now working on getting new ones.

We know chic&basic doesn’t match everyone’s taste, anyhow we hope to welcome you back to any other of our chic&basics as every product has it’s one style and maybe we can satisfy you expectation some other way.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for further comments or concerns.

Best regards
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Its nice hotel to stay with your family...clean and the rooms very good..the kids liked it also...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicandNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear chicandNice

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay in c&bHotel. I am happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope we can welcome you again in c&b Born


Best regrads
Stephan Hansmann
Hotel Manager
chic&basic Born
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#55 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#129 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#48 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#179 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#30 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#188 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $165 - $315
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic Basic Born Hotel
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing