We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cool experience. Just a few issues.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of chic&basic Born Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
chic&basic Born Hotel
Ranked #110 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cool experience. Just a few issues.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our Spain trip and 1 night one week later prior to our flight back home. Overall it was an interesting, new and exciting experience. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are open to the "chic-ness" and "basic-ness" of the hotel.

Likes:
- Close to Barri Gotic (5-10 min walk) and La Rambla (15 min walk)
- Born area is a youthful area full of life from day to night
- The Large interior room lived up to its name (large)
- Free unlimited cold bottled water! Tea and coffee too in the guest lounge.
- Basic white rooms appeared clean. LED colored lighting of beaded curtains in the room was a cool touch.
- Natural Sky lighting in the ceiling of room.
- Free disposable slippers for two.

Things that we encountered that were issues for us but may not be issues for other guests:
- For our second stay, our room was not ready until 45 minutes after the hotel check-in time.
- No elevator for rooms on floor 1 (the same floor as gym). We had some heavy bags.
- Our room had a sewage smell that was covered by an air freshener. Initial entry into room has the strongest sewage smell, but the continuous air freshener spray blended odor to an okay level. However, we received the same room on our second stay and the air freshener was not spraying. When we requested a different room, we could not switch because they were completely booked.
- No internet in-room. WiFi in the Lounge area and a desktop available to guests in same area.
- No safe in the room and no full closet. The safe is at the front desk and there is a coat hang and a plastic drawer set in the room.

Other things to consider/know:
- Chic style may not be for everyone.
- If you need it, the front desk staff do speak other languages including English.
- Hair Dryer in-room. No Iron in-room.
- You'll need a plastic card (e.g. card key) to turn on the electricity in your room.
- About a 30-35 Euro Taxi ride to or from Barcelona Airport.

I hope you enjoy Barcelona!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaySFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear BaySFtraveler,



First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about chic&basic Born and recommending it to people open to the "chic-ness" and "basic-ness" of the hotel.



We are happy you had an exciting experience after all and liked the location, the free snacks at the common area, slippers and the fact that you received good service from the frond desk team.



We apologize for the sewage smell. We are aware it happens sometimes in the rooms on the first floor (3 rooms), although it is an issue for the whole gothic neighborhood and the fact that the sewage system is very old in this part of town makes it very difficult for business owners to fix this problem. We wish we could have given you another room.



The plastic card (room key) has two utilities, one of them is to open the door, and the other one is to turn on/off electricity, it is just a way to make sure electricity isn’t wasted while guests are outside the room.



Chic&basic has the philosophy of having simple but chic rooms, and that includes a small closet, no safe in the room, etc, we do complement the basic-ness by offering complementary bottled water, coffee, tea and biscuits and good service from our staff.

Best regrads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    286
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
52
421
39
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this hotel for our week-long stay in Barcelona as the last leg in our trip in Spain. From the moment we stepped in we knew it would be a different experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. The amenities like free coffee, tea, water, cookies, internet access, and gym were great. The room was very neat with the multi-coloured lighting, the strings hanging over the door and the middle-of-the-room shower. It was a good size and had a rack for hanging clothes and drawers.

We had a simple breakfast one day at the hotel restaurant, Kharma, and the croissant was very undercooked. The food at dinner was better though. The hotel is in a great location, situated closely to enough restaurants so there is plenty of choice. It is a short walk from the Jaume I subway, La Rambla(don't eat there), close to monuments, and a 15-minute walk from the beaches of Barcelona.

Our only complaint was the lack of ventilation in the room. After taking showers in the morning and leaving for the day, the room would be very musky when we returned and we would have to open the door for a while to clear it.

Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again if we come back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoscU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear BoscUlrich



Thank you for taking the time to write and recommend chic & basic Born.

We are happy to hear you had a good time in our Hotel. For us it is very important to know the opinion of customers and make any changes possible to improve the product and service we provide.



We hope to see you soon in the future if you come back to Barcelona.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

From the moment you check in you are treated as special. This is certainly no ordinary hotel.
Ultra modern styling sits beautifully next to original features. A goodie bag await you in your room and each floor has a Guest lounge with coffee tea soft drinks and a non rip off drinks machine for extra booze. We really felt that an effort had been made not just to be original but also to be better than its contemporaries.
The rooms themselves are beautiful, slightly quirky and very original. They have hidden LED lighting and a remote control which allows you to set the background colour of the room to whatever you please.
All the staff are friendly and very helpful and the location in Barcelona's "artistic quarter" El Born, could not be better. Forget worrying about your handbag and paying 12 euro for a glass of sangria on Las Ramblas. The Tranquility of the Born has to be seen to be believed. The hotel also has fantastic bikes to hire at very reasonable rates and the beach is 10min ride away. There are restaurants and bars to suit every pallete within 5min walk of the hotel yet the street is quiet and peaceful.
Quite simply the best Hotel I have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean, superbly located, very well priced I recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Look for the XL or XXL rooms with terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisonandniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChicandBasic, Gerente at chic&basic Born Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Dear Alisonandniall

Thank you very much for the nice words dedicated to c&b Hotel and all the staff. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards

Stephan Hansmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

I was slightly worried when I booked this hotel that it might turn out to be just a clever name, but thankfully I was wrong. The concept is very smart - a funky contemporary hotel cleverly inserted into a lovely old 17th century building in a lovely, not-too-touristy old part of central Barcelona. It avoids being cold or sterile like so many 'modern' hotels by its huge sense of playfulness, and actually feels quite cosy. Rooms are small but stylish, clean & bright, with a great sense of fun (soaps & shower gels urging you to steal them! Individually-controlled room mood/disco-lighting! Change the furniture to suit your needs!) The central glass shower cubicle and toilet (or the 'throne', as we came to call it) were unique, and a clever use of space. Our room had a balcony with comfy chairs & tables, albeit with a view of the balconies of the building opposite, but then this is central Barcelona - what else do you expect?! We loved the hotel's comfortable central lounge & wifi area, with excellent free coffee & tea choices, huge modern sofas and chaises longues. Staff were low-key but very friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is great: Born is one of the city's oldest central barrios but has a proper residential community, and the hotel is only a short walk from the Picasso Museum, Parc de Cuitadella and Barceloneta & the seafront. Its also only 15 mins walk from Las Ramblas but is nowhere near as touristy and feels very safe. There are lots of great restaurants, bars, cafes, bakeries, etc, serving the locals as well as non-Barcelonins - in fact we're looking forward to going back to try out some more soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcr-traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We had a standard room, which was clean and bright. What will stick the most in my mind about this hotel is the strange decorations in the room. I don't want to be a spoiler in the surprise, let's just call the decor original and leave it at that.

The staff is multilingual and friendly. The location is fabulous, steps from the Barrio Gothic, waterfront and the Rambla. Neighborhood is mostly shops and curios, and very safe. No Wi-Fi in rooms, but active in the common rooms for hotel guest. They also provide free coffee, tea, and little snacks. A gym as well, which we did not use because we know the definition of the word VACATION.

I should mention that the rooms are bright, but the shower and toilet offer very little privacy because they are surrounded by either glass or midly opaque glass. Sexy yes, but not so much if you're travelling with your Uncle Joe.

Windows with french balcony looking onto the street, lovely views for people-watching, but can be a little noisy at night with daily early am garbage collection.

Enjoyed our stay, would recommend it to people as a very suitable home-base for exploring.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30someTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#119 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#154 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#49 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#55 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#107 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to chic&basic Born Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about chic&basic Born Hotel

Property: chic&basic Born Hotel
Address: Calle Princesa 50 | 08003 Barcelona, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price range (per night): $86 - $205
Hotel Class:3 star — chic&basic Born Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel that combines the traditional with the futuristic in a privileged environment: a building that is more than 100 years old with spectacular ceilings over seven metres high and spaces designed to surprise and enjoy. Its rooms, with an original glass shower in the room, are chameleon-like: you can change the colour depending on your mood. The passageways, full of enchantment and mystery, mutate with colour changes from the lights in the rooms. Enjoy our “Beyourself” and “Helpyourself” area in the common area where you can relax listening to music, reading any of our books or having a coffe, tea or water for free. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona. You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your chic&basic Born Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic And Basic Born Hotel
Chic Basic Born Hotel
Hotel Chic Basic Born

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing