We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,997)
Filter reviews
4,997 results
Traveller rating
3,737
970
168
65
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,737
970
168
65
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool la rambla basement spa tobacco company superior room classic room privilege room sauna and steam room pillow menu tapas perfect location private terrace side street street noise gothic quarter the heart of the city small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
3,564 - 3,569 of 4,997 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Hotel 1898 is right on Las Ramblas, centrally located near two metro stops. When we arrived at our room, we were very happy with its size, cleanliness and layout. We had a peek-a-boo view of Las Ramblas, which worried me a little - it can get loud at night, and we happened to be there at a time when drunken British soccer hooligans were out all night long singing their little soccer songs on Las Ramblas. But the windows are double-paned, and the lager louts did not disturb my sleep. There is a very cool indoor pool, sauna and exercise area in the basement of the hotel. The staff of the hotel were friendly, helpful and knowledgable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ReluctantPeninsulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

We chose the hotel after all the great reviews we read about it but it really did not live to its reputation. For the money we paid for this hotel, staying in the superior room, we were not so pleased. I think it's overrated. The room that we had, had a sink with a very slow drain and we called to have it fixed and nothing was done. There was one employee, though, that was super nice. He moved us and our luggage and belongings when he found out that someone missed our request for a nonsmoking room at the time of reservation. The rooms aren't really sound proofed and being next to La Rambla, it was hard to have a good sleep. The food wasn't great either. We had the New Year's eve party at the Eurostar Grand Marina Hotel and stayed there one night and it was less money and more amenities like 2 toilets, and bigger room and the food for that party was awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank orpicardat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

My wife and I spent 4 days at this great hotel. The rooms were vary spacious (USA Standards) then most European hotels. Flat screens, great baths, and linen.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
the location is great if you are wanting to be right on Las Ramblas and easy access to metro as well.
On the weekend evenings, they have local bands come to play at the bar, great place to start the night at with some drinks and nice music.
We are coming back in 2007 and decided to book this hotel again for all the postivies, and no negatives that we found.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Constant_Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the beautiful elegant decorator haven Hotel 1898. The rooms were well appointed, immaculate, marvelously decorated and absolutely sexy. The marble bathrooms were awesome. Hallways were a work of art. Black, white and grey marble with co-ordinatling stripping on the walls. Amazing! Beds were firm and comfortable. This hotel is centrally located on La Ramblas.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else after discovering this gem.
Breakfast buffet was disappointing and expensive. Laundry service was super. Called for a pressing and someone came within 5 minutes for pick up, shirt was returned within 10 minutes...well pressed and only 4 euros.
Can't wait to return. I understand why this hotel is #1 on Tripadvisor in BCN.

Had dinner at Neichel, a Relais & Chateaux restaurant, excellent food, ambiance, service and experience.....highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Scottflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

We stayed 3 nights and picked this based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed as, whilst it isn't the cheapest hotel, the facilities and the staff are extremely good.

The rooftop pool and comfy seats were a really oasis after a busy day and the views were fantastic. The rooms, and in particular the bathrooms, were of the highest standard but the best of all was down in the basement. The pool may have been small but it was never too busy and, on top of excellent sauna and steam room, the pool had 2 water jets, the jacuzzi jets and jets in metal loungers in the pool to massage yourself with.

You cannot fault the quality of the hotel decor and the location is in the middle of Las Ramblas and so easy to go in either direction. Drinks were a bit expensive and whilst breakfast at 19 euros may be expensive for some, there was a Continental option at 9 euros.

One of the best and easiest hotels we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoesBrigade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews