We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Histroy meets La Rambla”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #32 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2007

I just came back from a business meeting held an the Hotel 1898. Overall, a great experience. Hotel rooms are okay size with beautiful wood floors and marble bathrooms. Also, the Etro products were nice. And the rain forest shower a great way to wake up. I stayed at a room on the 6th floor with a private patio. What a great experience! I would recommend this hotel for all travelers. It has a quite and tranquil athmosphere and you are just in front of one of the busiest areas: La Rambla and Barrio Gotic. I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank UschiSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,353 - 3,357 of 4,709 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2007

Hotel 1898 is right on Las Ramblas, centrally located near two metro stops. When we arrived at our room, we were very happy with its size, cleanliness and layout. We had a peek-a-boo view of Las Ramblas, which worried me a little - it can get loud at night, and we happened to be there at a time when drunken British soccer hooligans were out all night long singing their little soccer songs on Las Ramblas. But the windows are double-paned, and the lager louts did not disturb my sleep. There is a very cool indoor pool, sauna and exercise area in the basement of the hotel. The staff of the hotel were friendly, helpful and knowledgable. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ReluctantPeninsulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

We chose the hotel after all the great reviews we read about it but it really did not live to its reputation. For the money we paid for this hotel, staying in the superior room, we were not so pleased. I think it's overrated. The room that we had, had a sink with a very slow drain and we called to have it fixed and nothing was done. There was one employee, though, that was super nice. He moved us and our luggage and belongings when he found out that someone missed our request for a nonsmoking room at the time of reservation. The rooms aren't really sound proofed and being next to La Rambla, it was hard to have a good sleep. The food wasn't great either. We had the New Year's eve party at the Eurostar Grand Marina Hotel and stayed there one night and it was less money and more amenities like 2 toilets, and bigger room and the food for that party was awesome!

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank orpicardat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2007

My wife and I spent 4 days at this great hotel. The rooms were vary spacious (USA Standards) then most European hotels. Flat screens, great baths, and linen.
The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
the location is great if you are wanting to be right on Las Ramblas and easy access to metro as well.
On the weekend evenings, they have local bands come to play at the bar, great place to start the night at with some drinks and nice music.
We are coming back in 2007 and decided to book this hotel again for all the postivies, and no negatives that we found.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Constant_Traveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the beautiful elegant decorator haven Hotel 1898. The rooms were well appointed, immaculate, marvelously decorated and absolutely sexy. The marble bathrooms were awesome. Hallways were a work of art. Black, white and grey marble with co-ordinatling stripping on the walls. Amazing! Beds were firm and comfortable. This hotel is centrally located on La Ramblas.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else after discovering this gem.
Breakfast buffet was disappointing and expensive. Laundry service was super. Called for a pressing and someone came within 5 minutes for pick up, shirt was returned within 10 minutes...well pressed and only 4 euros.
Can't wait to return. I understand why this hotel is #1 on Tripadvisor in BCN.

Had dinner at Neichel, a Relais & Chateaux restaurant, excellent food, ambiance, service and experience.....highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Scottflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 519 in Barcelona
922 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#5 of 519 in Barcelona
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 519 in Barcelona
2,148 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,509 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 519 in Barcelona
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $248 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing