We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Magical”
other travellers have booked this property
Tourist License HUTB-005317
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tourist License HUTB-005317
Pool side and living room balcony Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Tourist License HUTB-005317
Pool side and living room balcony
Living room
Living room
Living room
View from the balcony
Bedroom
First quality beds
Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen with first quality appliances
Kitchen with fridge/freezer and washer/dryes
Pool and Barcelona view
Direct lift
Living room with sofa bed
Double sofa bed
Double sofa bed open
View from the terrace
Magic Place night view
pool side at night
Magic Place sunrise
The view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Barcelona, Catalonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LydiaN514
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly Magical”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Believe the best I can add to the reviews of Magic Place is to confirm that each and every one of previous reviews is spot on. Take the time to read them and know that it is exactly what you will find upon arriving at this lovely space. Antonio a gracious host, the apartment, comfortable, clean, well appointed, the patio and pool, relaxing and inviting, and the view is mesmerizing.
It only took one ride to figure out the commute into the city and help us to learn our way around to every location. Meeting people on the trains who appreciated our choice to stay in a community, having them share their stories and suggestions of places to visit was very welcoming.
Antonio shared with us his grapes and apples from the garden, my first taste of grapes warm from the vine, the apples a taste of heaven.
No matter what brings you to this place, you will leave with a piece of paradise in your heart.
Thank you Antonio for sharing this space with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful view
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your kind review. Hope to meet you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brassneck...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent property with a gentleman of a host”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The previous views are all accurate - Magic Place is a lovely apartment that is really well appointed. Very clean and well-furnished, you basically have a bedroom (best wi-fi here) with two double-beds and air-con, a hallway with a variety of books in different languages. A spacious living/dining area, containing a good sofa-bed and well-equipped shower room/loo and kitchen.

You almost overlook these aspects though when you take in the view, which is basically a panorama of the whole city from the gherkin/La Sagrida Familia to the Nou Camp. It was breathtaking and both waking up to and ending the day looking at the city was fantastic. The pool has been mentioned by others and was that good. There's a sitting area around the pool with sun-loungers and a table and chairs, which are great.

The host Antonio was a real gentleman - around if you needed him (he lives in the same building), but very much left you to it. The supplies he left were a much appreciated gesture when we arrived around midnight (yes, beer and cava) and he treated us across the 12 days to some fruit - in all, a new level of hospitality to me. He also arranged the home leg taxi for us and recommended some activities that were ideal and not in the books - a perfect host. The ad makes reference to shared use of the pool. I like my own space and was slightly off-ease about this before arrival, but it was two occasions for very little time across our whole trip. It was my first trip to Spain so I was taken by how polite and gentle everyone was and pretty embarrassed by how well they spoke English - the shared pool thing was not an issue.

The fantastic city was very accessible - half a minute from the flat was a glass elevator that kids will love and took you down the hill to a metro-line, where every 6-10 minutes you can pick up a line to the city centre. We did 18 minutes from the centre to the flat as a norm. You can travel all hours and midnight on the metro felt just as safe as lunchtime at home.

What I didn't appreciate before arrival was that the settlement - Vallvidrera - was towards the top of one of the tall hills that surround Barcelona. Given that this is the case, the metro-link is all the cooler. Also, you can walk the mile to the top of the hill. On the way you'll pass the Torre de Collserola (huge telecoms mast that you'll recognise if been to the city before), then a park called Tibidabo. Strange combination - its a big deal theme-park: a legitimate child-friendly resort that was clean and the staff/visitor ratio was high. Right next to it is a vast church that equally attracted many visitors and again will be familiar skyline landmark if you've visited before.

It gets better.... You'll see lots of cyclists climbing the 1000-odd feet from sea level to the top of Tibidabo (there's another glass elevator down to a different metro line from here if you want to take it easy). There is basically a good hilly road/national park on your doorstep. I run and picked up some of the best trails I've ever been on from pretty much across the road. Check the below web http://www.parcnaturalcollserola.cat/en (there's an English version) and perhaps Strava/Movescount for routes.

There are some quaint shops/stores on your doorstep - do try and use the non-chain supermarket, the family are lovely and a chain called Condis open roughly 9-2/5-9pm Mon-Thurs and 9-9 ish Fri/Sat.

Couple of tips on travelling - we flew Easyjet from Liverpool (2hrs). They were great but when you get off and join a huge queue, don't be British and just wait - on the right hand side of the room are a set of scanners you can swipe yourself through with. Critically though, not if you are under 18, so not one the families can take advantage of but others can shoot through quite quickly. We then used T10 tickets to get around on the metro, three each across 12 days with some journeys spare.

As regards venues, the city is teeming with fabulous locations but do go to El Nacional http://www.elnacionalbcn.com/en/

Have never gone back to a place before, but this place is the real deal and we are checking diaries for a second visit. Many thanks Antonio.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Had to come home
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your exhaustive and kind evaluation. Hope to meet you again in a near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limingm21
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful view of the city...public transportation easy and convenient to use. No need for a vehicle with their excellent public system. Wonderful apartment. Antonio will ensure that you have everything you need. Apt located in nice neighborhood with friendly people. Price is reasonable especially considering all that you get.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the great apt
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
many thaks for your kind evaluation. Hope to meet you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nada R
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“A charming, tranquil and truly magical retreat close to the heart of Barcelona!”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thank you Antonio for making our family holiday so special! This apartment is a gem. Clean, spacious, and beautifully decorated. And the pool and view.......stunning! Antonio, our host, was so very charming and helpful greeting us with a warm welcome and a fridge full of basic essentials and the odd treat. The apartment itself is located in a slightly cooler part of the city which provides a welcome relief after the heat of the city. Very easy access to the centre where one can enjoy the beautiful city delights, cheap food and drink and the infectious Catalan culture. We hope to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
many thanks for your evaluation. It was a pleasure to host so charming guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greyben
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another satisfied customer !”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I will not repeat the other reviews, they are all true.
Some things to ad:
- My wife said the appartment was very clean. I think this was the first time she said so after 25y of travelling. So it's definitively clean.
- The shower is really very good, as Antonio pointed out up-front.
- Very quiet neighbourhood. Since the bedroom is more or less situated in the hill-side, and the matrasses are good, I slept better than at home.

Also 1 less positive remark. Maybe it was because of the rather bad weather-conditions we had, but it was very windy on the terrace. Since we refused to go inside, we sometimes had to put on a fleece (at the end of July) to sit outside in the evening.

Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind evaluation so sharp and full of humor. I enjoyed having so polite and charming guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing