We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Rambla del Mar
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
354
490
129
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
354
490
129
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an aquarium maritime museum cable car bridge boats yacht wavy benches sculptures statue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2020

As a resident of a seaside town, I am attracted to the embankment. At the same time, there is no embankment in my city of Murmansk. The entire multi-kilometer coast is occupied by the port. Now it's hard to believe, but some 30 years ago, Barcelona was also cut off from the sea by a railway, mountains of containers with portal cranes and warehouses. There was no question of a promenade. Moving the port further South became an important point of the gentrification policy for the 1992 Olympics. Creating a promenade with palm trees, benches, sculptures, bars and restaurants was the second point of the program. After the end of the games, many restaurants closed, but bright artifacts remained after them. For example, a giant shrimp made by Javier Mariscal remained after the closure of the parent restaurant Gambrinus. The sculpture of the famous pop art artist Roy Lichtenstein La Cara de Barcelona (Barcelona's Head) is located further along the road to the statue of Columbus. The monument to the discoverer of America looks like an alien from the middle ages, although they are separated by only a hundred years. It was installed in 1888 as part of the celebration of the 400th anniversary of the discovery of America.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank VadimM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2020

We easily spent a few hours eating and walking around the Port Vell waterfront. If you only have time for a quick visit, then the Colombus statue and the Rambla De Mar are probably the two main things to do.
The Rambla De Mar is a pedestrian-only walkway and bridge that takes you across the harbour to the Maremagnum shopping and restaurant centre. It is only a very short walk but gives you a good view of the port and boats.

The main features are:
• the wavy wooden edge on the bridge makes it very photogenic. Running across the wavy boards is a bit of fun for kids
• If you get the timing right, the bridge splits and swings open like an enormous door or gateway to let yachts glide through.
• From the bridge, you get a good view over the marina of luxury boats and superyachts. We stood for a while looking at the virtual forest of masts.
• 2 sculptures float beside the bridge and caught our eye. The figures are a stark white and float silently, with their heads tilted upwards, gazing towards the sky. I was intrigued enough to look them up later. They are called The Stargazers or Miraestels and the artist, Robert Llimos, has the the figures gazing heavenward to represent humanity. They were installed in 2010 to commemorate the NY-Barcelona transoceanic sailing record.
• The walk ends at the Maremagnum centre is on the other side of the bridge. It is a big attractive looking centre with an aquarium, an IMAX and shops (mostly fashion). We weren’t interested in spending time at any of these but we thoroughly enjoyed stopping for a drink and lunch at one of the modern restaurants clustered around the water. We chose Tapas Tapas, where we could sit outside in the sun with a great view of the water, the boats, the cable car and Montjuic.

If you want to make more of your time here, continue the walk along the promenade which runs beside the harbour and go onto the historic schooner, St Eulalia (€3). On weekends, there is an antique/flea market between the Rambla De Mar and Colombus and on Sundays, the Maritime Museum is free after 3pm.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Mairwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Excellent place to have a walk, sit for a drink, have a relaxed stroll..seagulls flying, nice breeze.. etc

Date of experience: February 2020
2  Thank rush2vinod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

If it wasn't too busy and wasn't too unsafe this would be an absolutely fantabulous bridge bit I get why since it's a big city.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Bibcay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2019

Great area by the harbour for a walk. The path leads to the shopping centre and starts at Las Ramblas.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Simsim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews