We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t just walk in.....”
Review of Suculent

Suculent
Reserve with
Suculent is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,174 of 11,166 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: USD 47 - USD 67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were told this was a good tapas restaurant so we headed there. Very nice inside especially when you walk through the kitchen to be seated at the back of the restaurant with all herbs growing in boxes on the wall.
Then the menus appear, no description of any food! You are just deciding how much you want to spend which is strange. We went for the classic menu which was 48 euros per head, there were two other options at 68 euros & 80 euros.
The food then starts coming out and it is nothing like the tapas we were expecting but some of the dishes were tasty.
Others like the beef tartar served on a real bone & you dig the bone marrow out were a bit off putting for us.
Other dishes like the mackerel with trout fish eggs in a gazpacho sauce were tasty but as we said not the tapas we were expecting so definitely make sure this is the type of food you like before heading in.
But our little girl had spaghetti Bolognese & it was very tasty so she was very happy.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 446markg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Nice small restaurant in downtown Barcelona with three menus, small, medium and large sizes (small is more than enough!). Let them surprise you with different dishes, vegetables, fish, seafood, meat and poultry. Difficult to say which one is the best!!!
Very good service as well.
Enjoy it!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank xtintore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

In a very informal setting, be prepared to discover a super sophisticated culinary journey.

The creative and inventive chef will surprise you with a fantastic degustation menu. Every dish is done to perfection with a combination of flavors and textures that make the experience unique.

They also adapted preparations for my vegetarian daughter and she was amazed!!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank juansZ4979KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Recommended by a friend from Barcelona, we booked a big family dinner here the other night, had the server choose the menu and it was one of the best meals I've had on this trip.

#1 Steak Tartare on Bone Marrow
#2 Oxtail with wine and chocolate sauce (the cooking on this was spectacularly well done, impressive to say the least)
#3 Skate wing with capers, brown butter - WOW

My personal favorites. Also excellent Ceviche, smoked sardines, trout caviar in ajo blanco.

It is not traditional tapas if you can tell from the above, but it's amazing food using quality products. If you are a true "foodie"(hate the word), you will enjoy this meal so much. We spent around 1000 EURO for 13 people including 3 bottles of wine and dessert and post dinner cocktails. Service was a little slow but it was one guy and we were a big table.

As a chef, would be back here in a second. Prefer this kind of food to any fine dining white table cloth restaurants, any day, period.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kelsinshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Suculent lives up to its name when it comes to the food. I love a restaurant that begins the meal with a cocktail. How cool is that? But it is all about the food, which is exceptional. The fixed menu consists of numerous small dishes served in a brilliant progression, with each new plate seemingly the best on offer. The lobster and cuttlefish croquette, to quote my wife, “puts all other croquettes to shame.” My wife thought she did not like anchovies, until she had Suculent’s version. The shrimp and avocado was delicious, though a bit difficult to eat with the heads still on the former; the warm bone marrow with steak tartare and roe was marvelous excess; even the small potato raised that tuber to a whole new level; though the tender stingray was my favorite. All that said, the service bordered on the invisible. Our server disappeared completely, leaving the building for long periods, perhaps for regular cigarette breaks. The chef would put the food in the window and ring the bell; often pounding away on the bell in frustration—and not just for our table. I wanted to get the dishes before they got cold and serve them, but I’m just visiting Barcelona and don’t want to create an international incident. Expect to love the food and sigh heavily over the poor service.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BartenderMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suculent also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Suculent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing