We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, what more can I say!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only
Ranked #169 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for four nights from 27th April 2012. Was not too sure about our choice having read some reviews. I need not have worried. We choose not to upgrade our room and paid for a standard room. The room size was ideal for the two or us and a lovely large bathroom as well. We were on the 10th floor and it was lovely and quiet even though the hotel was full. Bar prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was great value for money (for those of you who seem to want an English breakfast, maybe you should holiday in England instead of being critical!!) this was a great continental breakfast with pastries, fresh bread, cereals, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses, certainly set us up for the day. Travel was easy on the metro (10 min walk) and the bus 41which takes you to Catalunya Square at the top of Las Ramblas. Buy a T10 ticket at the metro which gives you 10 journeys for just under 10 euros. This may be a little out of the way but great value for money as you get more for your money. Hotel staff were very helpful and gave us some good tips on methods of travel letting you know whether metro or bus is best for each journey. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 514 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've stayed there between 13 and 18th of April 2012. The hotel location is great, close to the beach.One minor issue is that across the street( at a safe distance) was some municipal utility and also a car park for towed cars. But there was no disturbance from thhose facilities.
The access to the city is simple, one bus passing in front of the hotel and two underground stations at 10-12 minutes walking.
The breakfast was good.
A rather minor issue is that there are small ( I MEAN) small details related to cleanliness, but nothing really serious and annoying for normal people.
Would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winter1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel was in a superb location. We had a lovely view of the sea although I would recommend asking for a floor above the first floor as your view won't be tainted by the car park/sportsground across the road. The 41 and tourist bus stops are less than a two minute walk away. The 41 bus comes every 5-10minutes and bring you right into the city centre.

For a different evening when it's raining outside there is access to a small gym/sauna and steam room. While small it was just a fantastic bonus. There is also a jacuzzi although this was out of service during our stay.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was a great start to the day.

The only downside about the hotel was the sound. The walls appear to be paper thin and everything can be heard but thankfully we weren't disturbed too much!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea higher than the first floor (10 floors in this hotel!!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Used our Tesco rewards to stay here so basically was free. Cashed in £105 which gave us 3 nights B&B and we also had a lovely sea view and a nice bottle of Cava (only available on stays till 30/4/12).
We were on a budget break. Flew with Ryanair to BCN and got train from T2 (look for long covered walkway) Buy a T10 ticket for 10 journeys on all the public transport-airport train included, metro, buses and trams good value at €9.25- can be passed back to others in your party to use. Cheapest airport transfer we have ever used! Machines at the airport train station. Trains leave at 08 and 38. We got off at Paseig de Gracia and then transferred to the L4 metro yellow line direct La Pau. We then tried to avoid changing at Passieg de Gracia as it is a lot of going up and down stairs and a very long walkway! We got off at Selva de Mar (exit Selva de Mar not Prozenca) and followed the road Selva de Mar to the sea then turned right. Hotel was 2 blocks along. took about 10mins.
Room was fine for the 3 of us (2adults &1 child). No tea or coffee facilities in room but you can get a coffee in the bar for less than €2. Beer was also reasonable for a hotel.
Beds were very comfy and bathroom was a good size.
Breakfasts were fine- the cheese with the black rind was gorgeous!
We ate in the hotel one night. Opens at 8.30pm. €15 set meal was good value. 3 courses with glass of wine, bread and olives. We had steak which was nice enough.
Didn't use gym didn't realise there was a jacuzzi as would have brought our cozzies.
Diagonal Mar Shopping centre was 10 min walk away and there was a big supermarket to stock up on water and snacks.
It was nice having the beach across the road and if it was warmer we would have used it. We did walk from la Ramblas and it took about an hour but lovely promenade.
On the whole would return if got a good room rate and would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We didn't mind being at the front overlooking the road not too much road noise the sea view made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luxsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel is a 20 minute bus ride from the centre of Barcelona in the Olympic area close to one of the beaches. Restaurants and supermarkets are thin on the ground in the area. We took a family trip partly over Easter, if you want to shop forget it as they are all closed for the duration, and arrived late afternoon,. As we had a baby with us I had requested three adjoining rooms and a cot which the hotel had confirmed. On checkin there was no notification of the cot and only two rooms were adjoining, not a good start! When we got to the 9th floor we found the rooms were adjoining only by number not physically! THe beds were king size and comfortable but the maid only straigtened the top to make it look good. Being Easter the breakfast was chaotic and it was only on our last day we found the hot food tucked away behind a pillar. If you stay here invest in a Barcelona card as you will be using the transport system a lot.

Room Tip: Only €10 a night extra to get a deluxe room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hilton Diagonal Mar Barcelona
#207 of 515 in Barcelona
3,035 reviews
Hotel Front Maritim
#309 of 515 in Barcelona
995 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#255 of 515 in Barcelona
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#226 of 515 in Barcelona
613 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#114 of 515 in Barcelona
6,413 reviews
Barcelona Princess
#187 of 515 in Barcelona
3,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

Address: Paseo Garcia Faria 37-47, 08019 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Atenea Mar Adults Only)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#99 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#121 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $123 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea, this hotel is ideal for pleasure or business trips The urban hotel Occidental Atenea Mar**** (member of the Barcelo Hotel Group and formerly Barcelo Atenea Mar – Adults Only) is in an excellent location, just 150 m from the Nova Mar Bella beach, and a 15-minute walk from the Barcelona International Convention Centre and the Diagonal Mar shopping centre. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel and there is a metro station a short walk away, connecting the hotel with the city's main points of interest. The hotel has 191 spacious, modern rooms, all of which are outward facing and bright, with views of the sea or the city. Every room has free Wi-Fi and, in addition, guests visiting the city have the chance to stay in a modern room full of luxury features. Among the services offered by the hotel, there is the car park (an additional charge applies), a fitness studio which can be used at no extra charge, a sauna, a hot tub and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. For meetings and events, the hotel features 5 partitionable function rooms equipped with the latest audiovisual technology. In the restaurant you can sample exquisite Mediterranean haute cuisine dishes. Some highlights of the hotel services include a new terrace with a 48 m2 infinity pool with sunbeds and hydromassage chairs, a 100 m2 sun terrace with Balinese beds, hammocks, and pouffes for hire. The terrace has a snack-bar open from June to September (weather-dependent). Your can end your day at the Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults Only hotel with a relaxing walk along the beach, and for the sportier guests, jogging along the seafront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Atenea Mar Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Atenea Mar
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing